Vital F1 - The bad in Barcelona
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

The bad in Barcelona

Testing thus far this year has not brought much optimism to fans of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button.

The new McLaren while looking superb stationery has so far not looked great around the track.

On day one in Barcelona, Button was 1.991 seconds off the pace set by World champion Sebastian Vettel.On day two, there was a slight improvement time wise, but 1.608 seconds slower will be a worry to McLaren.

'I still don't know where we stand. It's unfair to judge us because the amount of laps that we have done has not been massive.' Button said to the BBC after the session on Saturday.

The former World champion will hope that McLaren can close the gap quite quickly with test sessions running out before the season begins.

Another team which isnít a happy camp at the moment is Mercedes.

Unlike McLaren, Mercedes GP have had a lot of track time during the pre season testing sessions.

But despite Nico Rosberg running 131 laps on day two, he set a time 1.415 seconds behind Vettel in seventh.

'Our plan was always just to have a car to do some reliability testing. That's working out, although we still have some issues we need to sort out.

'We're going to look at performance soon, I think at the next test, and in the first race we'll know where we are. Until then it's difficult.'
He told Autosport Magazine.

Both teams will be looking to find more positives over the next couple of days out in Spain.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday February 20 2011

Time: 8:05AM

Your Comments

I'm amazed Schumi is giving it another year after the horrid time he had during his come back season. It's so sad to watch. Like an old has-been fighter returning to the ring.
DeanoVilla
Button will get it right, while all the other drivers burn up their tyres Button's smooth style will see him run well.
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 954
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Canadian GP?
Hamilton 56%
Rosberg 0%
Vettel 11%
Raikkonen 11%
Bottas 11%
Massa 0%
Someone else 11%