Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

The bad in Barcelona

Testing thus far this year has not brought much optimism to fans of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button.

The new McLaren while looking superb stationery has so far not looked great around the track.

On day one in Barcelona, Button was 1.991 seconds off the pace set by World champion Sebastian Vettel.On day two, there was a slight improvement time wise, but 1.608 seconds slower will be a worry to McLaren.

'I still don't know where we stand. It's unfair to judge us because the amount of laps that we have done has not been massive.' Button said to the BBC after the session on Saturday.

The former World champion will hope that McLaren can close the gap quite quickly with test sessions running out before the season begins.

Another team which isnít a happy camp at the moment is Mercedes.

Unlike McLaren, Mercedes GP have had a lot of track time during the pre season testing sessions.

But despite Nico Rosberg running 131 laps on day two, he set a time 1.415 seconds behind Vettel in seventh.

'Our plan was always just to have a car to do some reliability testing. That's working out, although we still have some issues we need to sort out.

'We're going to look at performance soon, I think at the next test, and in the first race we'll know where we are. Until then it's difficult.'
He told Autosport Magazine.

Both teams will be looking to find more positives over the next couple of days out in Spain.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday February 20 2011

Time: 8:05AM

Your Comments

I'm amazed Schumi is giving it another year after the horrid time he had during his come back season. It's so sad to watch. Like an old has-been fighter returning to the ring.
DeanoVilla
Button will get it right, while all the other drivers burn up their tyres Button's smooth style will see him run well.
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1018
2. DJ 881
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 147
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Rosberg face a penalty for failing to avoid Hamilton collision?
Yes - He has confessed! 84%
No 16%