Vital F1 - Mon GP - Race weekend recap - Alonso
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mon GP - Race weekend recap - Alonso

Fernando Alonso looked strong for Ferrari throughout the whole weekend in Monaco.

He topped the times in Free Practice One, 0.365 seconds ahead of the Lotus of Romain Grosjean who many had predicted would be a contender for the race win on Sunday.

In a damp second session on Thursday, all the quick times were set at the very start of the session, but once again Ferrari looked quick, Felipe Massa, a man under all sorts of pressure coming into the weekend, got ahead of Alonso for third, while the Spaniard was fourth on the timing sheets. He might have been +0.915 down on the McLaren of Jenson Button, but the Brit set his time on the super-soft tyres which at that stage were notably quicker than the yellow striped soft tyres.

The unique set up of Monaco gave us a day off on Friday, with Free practice three on Saturday morning again showing Ferrari's top pace, again though it was Massa who was quicker with the Brazilian taken second place behind Rosberg, Alonso fourth again.

So on to qualifying, always one of the highlight sessions in the Formula One calendar and Ferrari's pace stayed with them with both Alonso and Massa getting through to Q3 for the first time this season.

With tyre strategy for the race being so important though, once again we didn't get a complete top ten shoot-out for pole position, which was taken by Michael Schumacher, but following his crash in Spain with Bruno Senna, he had to take a five-place grid penalty. Which meant that despite Alonso qualifying in sixth, +0.647 behind the Mercedes, Alonso actually started in front of the German.

'I am happy with this qualifying, the best as a team that we have seen this season. I have had a good feeling all weekend long. Maybe in Q3, we could have shaved a few hundredths off here and there, but I donít think Iíd have moved up any places, given that the driver in front of me is three tenths away. Usually here it falls to the top three on the grid to fight for the win, so I think that our realistic goal is a place on the podium, but we also know that surprises are the order of the day. We saw that again today, with Michael on pole: I was very pleased for him, even though he wonít be able to make the most of it because of the penalty. Alonso told formula1.com after qualifying had ended.

So for Alonso aiming for a podium position from fifth on the grid, an important start would prove to be vital for Ferrari.

As ever at Monaco, the first turn was a scene of chaos, all caused by a slow get-a-way by the McLaren of Lewis Hamilton, that caused the cars to bunch up behind the Brit and Alonso collided with Grosjean.

The damage caused to the Lotus forced the Frenchman to retire, but luckily for Alonso his Ferrari was not damaged, immediately Alonso looked quick, putting Lewis Hamilton under all sorts of pressure, but it wasn't until the first round of pit-stops that Alonso got passed the McLaren.

That of course gave Alonso the podium finish he was targeting and enough points to lead the Formula One World Championship going into Canada.

After the race a jubilant Alonso said: 'Iím very happy with the way things have gone this weekend. We leave Monaco heading the Championship: if Iíd been offered that after the Mugello test at the beginning of the month, Iíd have signed for it there and then, but if Iíd been told that after Melbourne, I would never have believed it!

'We knew the start would be crucial. I got away very well and I almost got alongside Grosjean and Hamilton: the Frenchman and I touched and, for a moment, I was scared the car was damaged. On this track overtaking is almost impossible and being in someoneís slipstream causes temperature problems, both for the engine and the tyres. So, you cannot always be on the attack of those ahead, trying instead to manage the situation and push flat out only at the moments that count, such as the pit stops and thatís what I did.

'I dedicate this podium to all the victims and their families of the earthquake that hit the Emilia region last week.Ē








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 29 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - FP3 (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP2 (Friday July 24 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP1 (Friday July 24 2015)

Drivers mourn at Bianchi's funeral (Wednesday July 22 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Chilton dedicates win to Bianchi (Monday July 20 2015)

Jules Bianchi dies aged 25 (Saturday July 18 2015)

McLaren trying to unlock potential (Thursday July 16 2015)

Red Bull lack patience (Wednesday July 15 2015)

Button's future up in the air (Friday July 10 2015)

Hamilton wants more control (Thursday July 9 2015)

Mercedes to power Red Bull Racing? (Wednesday July 8 2015)

Blog: British GP Report (Tuesday July 7 2015)

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1058
2. DJ 970
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 541
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 167
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix?
Hamilton 88%
Rosberg 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Vettel 12%
Massa 0%
Bottas 0%
Someone else 0%