Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Webber's future remains unclear

Australian Mark Webber is one of a few drivers who come to the end of their current contracts at the end of the 2012 season.

Amongst all four of the so-called top teams, all of them have a possible seat available next season.

At Ferrari, the well publicised contract situation regarding Felipe Massa has remained unresolved, at Mercedes Michael Schumacher's future remains unclear, at McLaren Lewis Hamilton remains in talks regarding a new deal and at Red Bull, Mark Webber still does not know where his future lies.

In the crazy world of Formula One it's often said that anything is possible and that's exactly what the rumours suggest with previous reports linking Lewis Hamilton with Red Bull, Ferrari and Mercedes and Mark Webber has also been linked with a move to Ferrari.

The link between Webber and Ferrari was so strong at one stage that the 35-year-old Australian actually came out and dismissed suggestions he had signed a pre-contract agreement during the in-season testing session at Mugello.

With Webber winning the Monaco Grand Prix, obviously his future will again become a focus amongst the media.

But while he is level on points with team-mate Sebastian Vettel and only three-points behind F1 championship leader Fernando Alonso, Red Bull insist that the situation between Red Bull and Webber remains unchanged.

'Why would he want to leave? He is comfortable in the team. The team know Mark very well and he knows the team very well. Red Bull team principal Christian Horner told Sky Sports.

'We are only at race six and a lot depends on his motivation and desire going forward, which at the moment looks very clear.'

'We're only in May this year, Mark is doing a good job, so let's focus on his latest Monaco win and his future will take care of itself.

'We have a very open and straightforward relationship with Mark and this does not change that situation.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday June 1 2012

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

so what do you think, staying or going?!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Mercedes reaps what it sows (Monday October 20 2014)

Vettel set to pay the penalty (Friday October 17 2014)

Caterham remain bullish (Friday October 17 2014)

Rosberg can swing momentum (Thursday October 16 2014)

Lotus dump Renault for Mercedes (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Button does not need to prove himself (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Hamilton contract talks on hold (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Mercedes win F1 constructors title (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Bianchi will not give up (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Pirelli make final selections (Monday October 13 2014)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday October 13 2014)

2014 - Russia - Race (Sunday October 12 2014)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP3 (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP2 (Friday October 10 2014)

Kvyat excited by home race (Friday October 10 2014)

Marussia to run one car in Russia (Friday October 10 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP1 (Friday October 10 2014)

Who will win in Russia (Thursday October 9 2014)

Bianchi family thankful for support (Wednesday October 8 2014)

Driver reaction from Suzuka (Tuesday October 7 2014)

Results in Japan inconsequential (Tuesday October 7 2014)

McLaren & Mercedes deny Alonso deals (Monday October 6 2014)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 5 2014)

Thoughts with Bianchi (Sunday October 5 2014)

2014 - Japan - Race (Sunday October 5 2014)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Sunday October 5 2014)

2014 - Japan - Qualifying (Saturday October 4 2014)

What next for Alonso? (Saturday October 4 2014)

Vettel to replace Alonso at Ferrari (Saturday October 4 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP3 (Saturday October 4 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP2 (Friday October 3 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP1 (Friday October 3 2014)

Typhoon warning for Suzuka (Thursday October 2 2014)

Stevens to get F1 drive (Thursday October 2 2014)

Bailiffs seize goods at Caterham (Thursday October 2 2014)

Verstappen turns 17 and gets F1 drive (Tuesday September 30 2014)

Mercedes identify Rosberg fault (Tuesday September 30 2014)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 29 2014)

Button hints at new deal (Thursday September 25 2014)

No imminent announcement for McLaren (Wednesday September 24 2014)

Magnussen denies burns (Tuesday September 23 2014)

Red Bull not giving up on long shot (Tuesday September 23 2014)

Singapore swings in Hamilton's favour (Monday September 22 2014)

Will reliability decide the F1 title? (Monday September 22 2014)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 22 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Race (Sunday September 21 2014)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 21 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Qualifying (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP3 (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 19 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP1 (Friday September 19 2014)

Alonso angered by Italian rumour mill (Friday September 19 2014)

Massa & Chilton raise radio ban concerns (Friday September 19 2014)

Renault aiming to optimise performance (Thursday September 18 2014)

Rosberg & Hamilton hope to gain advantage (Thursday September 18 2014)

FIA clarify new radio rules (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Lotus finances improving (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Williams want to become title contenders (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Prodromou completes McLaren switch (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Who will win the Singapore Grand Prix? (Monday September 15 2014)

F1 radio clamp down (Friday September 12 2014)

Massa needed podium finish (Thursday September 11 2014)

Button enjoyed Perez battle (Thursday September 11 2014)

Schumacher returns home (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo steps down (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo criticised by Fiat boss (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Albers quits Caterham (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Williams maximise performance (Monday September 8 2014)

Hamilton deserved victory says Rosberg (Monday September 8 2014)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Monday September 8 2014)

2014 - Italy - Race (Sunday September 7 2014)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP3 (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP2 (Friday September 5 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP1 (Friday September 5 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1024
2. DJ 895
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 571
6. Druss_the_Legend 525
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 151
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Where will Alonso be in 2015?
Ferrari 22%
McLaren 66%
Mercedes 6%
Somewhere else 0%
Not in F1 6%