Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Button bemoans unpredictability

While the paying public and many around the paddock believe the new unpredictability of the new season is a breath of fresh air to Formula One, one man isn't happy.

McLaren's Jenson Button is one of six drivers who have won a race during the opening six rounds of this seasons 2012 Formula One World Championship.

No other season has ever started with six different winners from six races and the fact that those drivers have come from five different teams has really spiced things up.

But while the teams have closed the gap on each other in terms of performance the real equaliser has come from Pirelli's latest tyres, with teams being forced to continually hunt for the sweet spot of optimum performance of the tyre and their car.

Everything from a couple of degrees drop in track temperature, to cloud cover appears to alter the set-up of the car and while that unpredictability has proved exciting over the start of the season, Jenson Button is hopeful that a pattern will begin to emerge over the remainder of the season.

'Clearly everyone is excited about so many different winners, which initially was great for the fans and great for the sport. he told Sky Sports.

'But there will come a time when the fans will say, 'So anyone can win a grand prix, everyone can lose a grand prix like that?' [snaps his fingers].

'I think they're finding it a little bit strange now. I don't know, but hopefully a pattern will emerge after the next couple of races and we'll understand the teams and drivers we need to beat to win the championship.'


It certainly isn't the view of most involved in Formula One and perhaps it is more of an indication of where Jenson Button is in himself at the moment.

After winning the first race of the season, Button's optimism must have been high, however he has struggled to consistently score points and has fallen behind in the chase for the championship.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday June 5 2012

Time: 12:00PM

Club Execution error : spV3GetArticleFeedback 1041,0,0 [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Could not find stored procedure 'spV3GetArticleFeedback'.

Your Comments (oldest first)

Change to most recent first
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Could F1 lose German Grand Prix? (Tuesday January 27 2015)

New engines attract new fans (Friday January 23 2015)

Vettel's big gamble at Ferrari (Wednesday January 21 2015)

Honda allowed to make in-season changes (Tuesday January 20 2015)

Qatar bid for F1 scuppered? (Monday January 19 2015)

More aggressive tyre strategy in 2015 (Wednesday January 14 2015)

Robson swaps McLaren for Williams (Friday January 9 2015)

2015 Formula One Calendar (Thursday January 8 2015)

All change at Sauber (Thursday January 8 2015)

F1 teams to exploit engine rule loophole (Wednesday January 7 2015)

Korea dropped for 2015 (Wednesday January 7 2015)

Podromou is McLaren's master (Friday January 2 2015)

Long recovery for Ferrari (Thursday January 1 2015)

Red Bull Racing retain Buemi (Wednesday December 31 2014)

Talks to save Caterham continue (Tuesday December 30 2014)

Vettel had a great run at Red Bull (Friday December 26 2014)

Hamilton reflects on Rosberg rivalry (Wednesday December 24 2014)

Vergne joins Ferrari (Tuesday December 23 2014)

Trio depart Ferrari (Friday December 19 2014)

Ecclestone to propose v8 return (Thursday December 18 2014)

20 stolen Red Bull trophies recovered (Wednesday December 17 2014)

Gutierrez joins Ferrari (Tuesday December 16 2014)

Hamilton wins SPOTY (Monday December 15 2014)

McLaren confirm Alonso return (Thursday December 11 2014)

McLaren confirm Button on multi-year deal (Thursday December 11 2014)

Button stays at McLaren (Thursday December 11 2014)

Ricciardo surprised himself (Wednesday December 10 2014)

Red Bull factory ram-raided (Monday December 8 2014)

McLaren board meeting fails to decide (Friday December 5 2014)

2015 - Formula One's biggest season yet (Thursday December 4 2014)

FIA file report on Bianchi crash (Thursday December 4 2014)

Virtual Safety Car to get debut in 2015 (Wednesday December 3 2014)

Vettel completes first day at Ferrari (Tuesday December 2 2014)

Caterham could run old cars in 2015 (Tuesday December 2 2014)

Toro Rosso announce Sainz Jr for 2015 (Monday December 1 2014)

Formula One scrap double points round (Friday November 28 2014)

Problems for McLaren Honda continue (Thursday November 27 2014)

Successful season for Williams (Wednesday November 26 2014)

McLaren Honda manage 3 laps (Wednesday November 26 2014)

Caterham takeover complete 'in weeks' (Wednesday November 26 2014)

Audio: Abu Dhabi Recap (Tuesday November 25 2014)

Force India confirm Perez place (Tuesday November 25 2014)

Wolff praises Mercedes team-mates (Monday November 24 2014)

Greatest day for Hamilton (Monday November 24 2014)

Rosberg wins friends in defeat (Monday November 24 2014)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Sunday November 23 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Race (Sunday November 23 2014)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

Red Bull DQ'd from Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP3 (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP2 (Friday November 21 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP1 (Friday November 21 2014)

Audio: Hamilton v Rosberg - The Decider (Friday November 21 2014)

Caterham receive helping hand from Bernie (Thursday November 20 2014)

Grosjean to remain with Lotus (Thursday November 20 2014)

Bianchi 'out of coma' (Wednesday November 19 2014)

McLaren delay line-up announcement (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Ecclestone to hold talks with teams (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Force India hands Palmer chance to impress (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Chilton to join Caterham? (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Carlos Sainz Jr to test for Red Bull (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Kobayashi retains seat for Abu Dhabi (Monday November 17 2014)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 17 2014)

Caterham will return in Abu Dhabi (Friday November 14 2014)

Wolff plays down engine war fears (Friday November 14 2014)

Honda to debut new engine (Friday November 14 2014)

Ericsson terminates Caterham deal (Thursday November 13 2014)

Button not chasing big bucks (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Horner threatens engine war (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Alonso to sign 25million deal (Tuesday November 11 2014)

Record setting day for Mercedes (Monday November 10 2014)

Hamilton reflective (Monday November 10 2014)

Fantastic weekend for Rosberg (Monday November 10 2014)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 10 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1029
2. DJ 907
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 573
6. Druss_the_Legend 528
7. Push The Button 441
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 155
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who holds the best driver pairing in 2015?
Mercedes: Hamilton & Rosberg 48%
Red Bull: Ricciardo & Kvyat 4%
Ferrari: Vettel & Raikkonen 14%
McLaren: Alonso & Button 30%
Williams: Massa & Bottas 4%