Vital F1 | Maria de Villota loses eye
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maria de Villota loses eye

The Marussia Formula One team have announced devastating news that test driver Maria de Villota has lost her right eye following her crash.

The crash happened on Tuesday morning following the 32-year-old Spaniard completing an installation circuit of the Duxford Airfield.

It was the first time Maria de Villota had driven for Marussia, but just as her initial run came to an end, tragedy struck. For as yet unknown reasons her car suddenly accelerated and crashed into the team truck.

Unfortunately the tailgate had apparently been lowered at the time and early reports suggested that De Villota's helmet took the brunt of the impact at around 30-40mph.

She was unconscious for around 15 to 20 minutes, while she was treated by paramedics and the ambulance service announced that she had suffered life-threatening injuries.

Initial reports that announced that she was conscious and in a stable condition had given hope to well wishers, but yesterday afternoon the team announced that following a lengthy procedure that kept her in theatre from Tuesday afternoon and into Wednesday morning, she had lost her right eye.

“Maria emerged from theatre at Addenbrooke’s Hospital this morning after a lengthy operation to address the serious head and facial injuries she received in the accident at Duxford Airfield yesterday. Marussia F1 Team Principal John Booth said on Wednesday evening.

He continued: “We are grateful for the medical attention that Maria has been receiving and her family would like to thank the Neurological and Plastics surgical teams. However it is with great sadness that I must report that, due to the injuries she sustained, Maria has lost her right eye.

“Maria’s care and the wellbeing of her family remain our priority at this time. Her family are at the hospital and we are doing everything possible to support them.


Booth went on to thank the emergency services who attended the crash and well wishers for the messages of support that the team and Maria's family have received.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday July 5 2012

Time: 9:23AM

Your Comments

Absolutely devastating news. Thoughts go to Maria and her family.
red5
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1101
2. DJ 1074
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 568
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 192
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix?
Rosberg 27%
Hamilton 31%
Ricciardo 18%
Verstappen 6%
Vettel 12%
Raikkonen 6%
Someone else 0%