Vital F1 | Maldonado is a stupid driver says Perez
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maldonado is a stupid driver says Perez

Venezuelan Pastor Maldonado has been branded as stupid, dangerous and lacking in respect for other drivers by Sauber's Sergio Perez.

The Mexican driver was involved in another incident with the Williams driver on Sunday during the British Grand Prix.

Just a few weeks ago Maldonado caused an accident with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton in Valencia and he has also been involved in incidents at Monaco earlier this season [also with Perez] and in Australia where he made contact with Romain Grosjean, ending the Lotus drivers race.

Three of the above incidents have seen action taken by the race stewards, in Monaco he was given a 10-place grid penalty for deliberately crashing into Perez, after the European Grand Prix he was given a post-race time penalty which cost him one world championship point and following the race at Silverstone, he was given a 10,000 euro fine and a reprimand.

The British Grand Prix stewards adjudged the incident serious enough to hand him a 'double penalty', but curiously it did not involve any penalties for the following race.

It's unlikely that the penalty will have been severe enough to appease Sauber driver Sergio Perez who following his retirement ranted to both Sky Sports and the BBC.

'With this driver you cannot do anything. He is a stupid driver, He deserves a big penalty. We are risking our lives. He is dangerous.' he told Sky Sports.

When speaking to the BBC the Mexican elaborated further: 'Pastor is a driver who doesn't respect other drivers, It's a matter of fact. He should have given me enough space not to crash but he tried to push me all the way to the outside.

'I don't understand the way he is driving. I hope the stewards can do something because the last three or four races he has done something to someone.

'It's not the first time he has damaged my weekend. He did the same with Lewis in Valencia and they just gave him a drive-through which I think is not enough. He will never learn if they don't do something.'


Once you add in the three penalties he has also received for gear box changes, Maldonado's six penalties from the opening nine races of the season equals Lewis Hamilton's record of six penalties for 2011.

When you consider in affect it was a double penalty following the British Grand Prix he has in fact received seven penalties, just how many will he receive by the end of this 20 race season?

Well as Maldonado believes he isn't doing anything wrong, it could well be a few more!

Asked directly by the BBC if he would alter his approach, Maldonado said: 'No, because I think I have been unlucky.'

Meanwhile Sergio Perez's team-mate Kamui Kobayashi also left Silverstone with less change in his pocket, the Japanese driver was given a 25,000 euro fine for running over three members of his pit crew when entering his box during a pit-stop.

The race stewards adjudged the incident as ‘a very dangerous manoeuvre which had potentially serious implications’, but thankfully all members of his crew escaped without serious injury.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 10 2012

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

I was delighted with Perez making a stand and speaking out about Maldonado, he is a complete liability and has caused so many incidents over the past two seasons.
DJ
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1140
2. Red5 1114
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 156

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 40%
Vettel 33%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 16%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%