Vital F1 | Maldonado is a stupid driver says Perez
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maldonado is a stupid driver says Perez

Venezuelan Pastor Maldonado has been branded as stupid, dangerous and lacking in respect for other drivers by Sauber's Sergio Perez.

The Mexican driver was involved in another incident with the Williams driver on Sunday during the British Grand Prix.

Just a few weeks ago Maldonado caused an accident with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton in Valencia and he has also been involved in incidents at Monaco earlier this season [also with Perez] and in Australia where he made contact with Romain Grosjean, ending the Lotus drivers race.

Three of the above incidents have seen action taken by the race stewards, in Monaco he was given a 10-place grid penalty for deliberately crashing into Perez, after the European Grand Prix he was given a post-race time penalty which cost him one world championship point and following the race at Silverstone, he was given a 10,000 euro fine and a reprimand.

The British Grand Prix stewards adjudged the incident serious enough to hand him a 'double penalty', but curiously it did not involve any penalties for the following race.

It's unlikely that the penalty will have been severe enough to appease Sauber driver Sergio Perez who following his retirement ranted to both Sky Sports and the BBC.

'With this driver you cannot do anything. He is a stupid driver, He deserves a big penalty. We are risking our lives. He is dangerous.' he told Sky Sports.

When speaking to the BBC the Mexican elaborated further: 'Pastor is a driver who doesn't respect other drivers, It's a matter of fact. He should have given me enough space not to crash but he tried to push me all the way to the outside.

'I don't understand the way he is driving. I hope the stewards can do something because the last three or four races he has done something to someone.

'It's not the first time he has damaged my weekend. He did the same with Lewis in Valencia and they just gave him a drive-through which I think is not enough. He will never learn if they don't do something.'


Once you add in the three penalties he has also received for gear box changes, Maldonado's six penalties from the opening nine races of the season equals Lewis Hamilton's record of six penalties for 2011.

When you consider in affect it was a double penalty following the British Grand Prix he has in fact received seven penalties, just how many will he receive by the end of this 20 race season?

Well as Maldonado believes he isn't doing anything wrong, it could well be a few more!

Asked directly by the BBC if he would alter his approach, Maldonado said: 'No, because I think I have been unlucky.'

Meanwhile Sergio Perez's team-mate Kamui Kobayashi also left Silverstone with less change in his pocket, the Japanese driver was given a 25,000 euro fine for running over three members of his pit crew when entering his box during a pit-stop.

The race stewards adjudged the incident as Ďa very dangerous manoeuvre which had potentially serious implicationsí, but thankfully all members of his crew escaped without serious injury.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 10 2012

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

I was delighted with Perez making a stand and speaking out about Maldonado, he is a complete liability and has caused so many incidents over the past two seasons.
DJ
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Vettel's future is clear (Wednesday December 7 2016)

Lauda annoyed by Rosberg retirement (Tuesday December 6 2016)

What next for Mercedes? (Friday December 2 2016)

Rosberg retires from F1 (Friday December 2 2016)

New contract for Italian Grand Prix (Friday December 2 2016)

Hamilton blames Mercedes for lost title (Thursday December 1 2016)

Hamilton receives team boss backing (Wednesday November 30 2016)

Hamilton's dirty tactics? (Tuesday November 29 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi GP Report (Monday November 28 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Race (Sunday November 27 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP3 (Saturday November 26 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP2 (Friday November 25 2016)

2016 Abu Dhabi GP - FP1 (Friday November 25 2016)

Blog: Abu Dhabi Preview (Friday November 25 2016)

Vettel needs to learn (Thursday November 24 2016)

Hamilton plays down title chances (Wednesday November 23 2016)

Dennis betrayed by McLaren (Monday November 21 2016)

Max's memorable Motor race (Friday November 18 2016)

An extraordinary motor racing day (Thursday November 17 2016)

Who will win the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? (Wednesday November 16 2016)

All working out fine for Rosberg (Tuesday November 15 2016)

Hamilton living in the moment (Monday November 14 2016)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 14 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Race (Sunday November 13 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 12 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 11 2016)

2016 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 11 2016)

Renault stick with Palmer (Friday November 11 2016)

Haas make driver change (Friday November 11 2016)

How can Rosberg win the title? (Thursday November 10 2016)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Wednesday November 9 2016)

Kvyat happy to survive 2016 (Friday November 4 2016)

18 year old to replace Massa at Williams (Thursday November 3 2016)

Ross Brawn to return to Formula One (Thursday November 3 2016)

Vettel avoids FIA action (Wednesday November 2 2016)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Tuesday November 1 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 30 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 30 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 29 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP2 (Friday October 28 2016)

2016 Mexico GP - FP1 (Friday October 28 2016)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 27 2016)

Who will win in Mexico? (Thursday October 27 2016)

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1106
2. DJ 1096
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 592
6. Druss_the_Legend 574
7. Push The Button 491
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 199
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Nico Rosberg a deserving champion?
Yes - The points say so 45%
No - He only won due to Hamilton's reliabilty issu 55%