Vital F1 | Maldonado is a stupid driver says Perez
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maldonado is a stupid driver says Perez

Venezuelan Pastor Maldonado has been branded as stupid, dangerous and lacking in respect for other drivers by Sauber's Sergio Perez.

The Mexican driver was involved in another incident with the Williams driver on Sunday during the British Grand Prix.

Just a few weeks ago Maldonado caused an accident with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton in Valencia and he has also been involved in incidents at Monaco earlier this season [also with Perez] and in Australia where he made contact with Romain Grosjean, ending the Lotus drivers race.

Three of the above incidents have seen action taken by the race stewards, in Monaco he was given a 10-place grid penalty for deliberately crashing into Perez, after the European Grand Prix he was given a post-race time penalty which cost him one world championship point and following the race at Silverstone, he was given a 10,000 euro fine and a reprimand.

The British Grand Prix stewards adjudged the incident serious enough to hand him a 'double penalty', but curiously it did not involve any penalties for the following race.

It's unlikely that the penalty will have been severe enough to appease Sauber driver Sergio Perez who following his retirement ranted to both Sky Sports and the BBC.

'With this driver you cannot do anything. He is a stupid driver, He deserves a big penalty. We are risking our lives. He is dangerous.' he told Sky Sports.

When speaking to the BBC the Mexican elaborated further: 'Pastor is a driver who doesn't respect other drivers, It's a matter of fact. He should have given me enough space not to crash but he tried to push me all the way to the outside.

'I don't understand the way he is driving. I hope the stewards can do something because the last three or four races he has done something to someone.

'It's not the first time he has damaged my weekend. He did the same with Lewis in Valencia and they just gave him a drive-through which I think is not enough. He will never learn if they don't do something.'


Once you add in the three penalties he has also received for gear box changes, Maldonado's six penalties from the opening nine races of the season equals Lewis Hamilton's record of six penalties for 2011.

When you consider in affect it was a double penalty following the British Grand Prix he has in fact received seven penalties, just how many will he receive by the end of this 20 race season?

Well as Maldonado believes he isn't doing anything wrong, it could well be a few more!

Asked directly by the BBC if he would alter his approach, Maldonado said: 'No, because I think I have been unlucky.'

Meanwhile Sergio Perez's team-mate Kamui Kobayashi also left Silverstone with less change in his pocket, the Japanese driver was given a 25,000 euro fine for running over three members of his pit crew when entering his box during a pit-stop.

The race stewards adjudged the incident as Ďa very dangerous manoeuvre which had potentially serious implicationsí, but thankfully all members of his crew escaped without serious injury.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 10 2012

Time: 1:00PM

Your Comments

I was delighted with Perez making a stand and speaking out about Maldonado, he is a complete liability and has caused so many incidents over the past two seasons.
DJ
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1064
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 189
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win at Spa?
Hamilton 39%
Rosberg 10%
Ricciardo 15%
Verstappen 36%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%