Vital F1 - Hamilton set for summer talks
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hamilton set for summer talks

Lewis Hamilton hopes that his future with McLaren can be sorted out during Formula One's summer break.

After the Hungarian Grand Prix at the end of July, Formula One takes a few weeks off to relax before returning to the track for the Belgian Grand Prix in September.

During these weeks off the 2008 Formula One World Champion hopes to sort out his current contract talks with McLaren.

The British driver is out-of-contract at the end of the 2012 season and has previously been linked with moves to Red Bull, Ferrari and Mercedes.

But with Mark Webber committing to Red Bull following his win at the British Grand Prix and a move to either Ferrari or Mercedes unlikely, Hamilton hopes a swift conclusion to his contract negotiations can be found next month.

'We haven't sat down and discussed anything yet but I'm sure over the summer break, when we have the summer break, it would be nice to get something in place, That would be a time when we can be more relaxed and make the most sensible decision for the future.' he told Russian news agency R-Sport as quoted by Autosport Magazine.

'There are lots of things to take into account. These people have supported me; these are the people that got me into Formula 1. But, you know, I want to win.

'I'm not that young any more so I want to make sure that whatever I do I make the right decision so I can maximize my career, you know. I just need to make sure that I'm winning. That's what I exist for, that's what I train and work for every day.'


Both McLaren chairman Ron Dennis and team principal Martin Whitmarsh have remained hopeful that Lewis Hamilton would remain with the team beyond the end of the season.

It had been previously reported that McLaren were set to offer Lewis Hamilton a mega £20million per season contract to remain with the team, which would actually be an improvement on his current five-year £15million per season contract which expires at the end of the 2012 Formula One World Championship.

The Daily Telegraph believed the finer details of that offer were yet to be finalised and could prove to be a sticking point as there will be a lot of negotiations regarding Hamiltonís commercial rights.

Hamiltonís management company XIX Entertainment will argue for more free-time for Hamilton to be able promote his own brands and projects, while McLaren will argue that Hamilton has his own team sponsorship commitments to fulfil.

Another factor for Hamilton would be the emotional link he holds with the McLaren team.

Hamilton has of course grown up around the team since he was a 13-year-old and leaving the team and everything he has ever known would be tough.

He added: I've been with them since I was 13, so it's [been] 14 years, so it's much more than these small details [current form], it's a much, much bigger picture.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 17 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - FP3 (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP2 (Friday July 24 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP1 (Friday July 24 2015)

Drivers mourn at Bianchi's funeral (Wednesday July 22 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Chilton dedicates win to Bianchi (Monday July 20 2015)

Jules Bianchi dies aged 25 (Saturday July 18 2015)

McLaren trying to unlock potential (Thursday July 16 2015)

Red Bull lack patience (Wednesday July 15 2015)

Button's future up in the air (Friday July 10 2015)

Hamilton wants more control (Thursday July 9 2015)

Mercedes to power Red Bull Racing? (Wednesday July 8 2015)

Blog: British GP Report (Tuesday July 7 2015)

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1056
2. DJ 967
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 540
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 166
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary
Hamilton 24%
Rosberg 3%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 67%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 0%