Vital F1 | Ferrari will remain competitive in Germany
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ferrari will remain competitive in Germany

The 2012 Formula One World Championship has been an unpredictable season.

Teams go from dominating a race weekend like Nico Rosberg and Mercedes did in China, or Pastor Maldonado and the Williams team in Spain to then failing to perform the following week at a race track with differing characteristics.

The unpredictability of the Pirelli tyres has also had an affect, with teams having to chase the ever closing and changing tyre window that gives the teams optimum performance during the compounds 'sweet spot'.

That has brought unpredictable racing almost every time the lights go out on the start of a race, but consistency has proven to be key and the most consistent set-up in Formula One thus far this season has proven to be the combination of Ferrari and double world champion Fernando Alonso.

Alonso has finished in the top five in the past five races and leads the drivers world championship and his team believe that he will continue to be competitive at the German Grand Prix this weekend.

'The car was good in Valencia, it was also good in Silverstone. And as Hockenheim is a mix of the slow speed of Valencia and high speed of Silverstone, I would expect Ferrari to be competitive in Germany.' Alonso's race engineer Andrea Stella told the Ferrari official website as quoted by Autosport Magazine.

With the first half of the season almost completed Fernando Alonso currently leads the Formula One World Championship by 13 points to Red Bull's Mark Webber.

Four months ago you wouldn't have found many people in F1 predicting that outcome, with the 2012 Ferrari looking poor during winter testing.

But the team have played catch-up throughout the season, whilst Alonso has driven the car to perfection at times and that has given Ferrari a great basis to build their title challenge.

'At the start of the season it would have required one to be extremely optimistic to imagine such a situation, But in this sport, things can change very quickly and we have always maintained a positive attitude. The current situation is the result of this attitude combined with a lot of hard work.'

The one area that Ferrari are concentrating on to find improvement to their car is its top-speed, this is often highlighted during qualifying, where on a one lap basis, the cost of not having the straightline speed in comparison to other cars has cost them.

'You always want to get more and more top speed as it brings benefits in terms of reducing the lap time and it makes life easier during the race,'

'But of course, top speed is the counterpart to downforce and in a way, if we are limited when it comes to top speed, that is partly because our car is performing well when it comes to downforce. However, it is definitely an area where we are trying to improve for the future.'

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday July 18 2012

Time: 11:00AM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 the season of the swingers (Thursday September 29 2016)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1103
2. DJ 1081
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 570
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 195
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the USA?
Rosberg 20%
Hamilton 37%
Ricciardo 12%
Verstappen 25%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%