Vital F1 - Ferrari will remain competitive in Germany
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ferrari will remain competitive in Germany

The 2012 Formula One World Championship has been an unpredictable season.

Teams go from dominating a race weekend like Nico Rosberg and Mercedes did in China, or Pastor Maldonado and the Williams team in Spain to then failing to perform the following week at a race track with differing characteristics.

The unpredictability of the Pirelli tyres has also had an affect, with teams having to chase the ever closing and changing tyre window that gives the teams optimum performance during the compounds 'sweet spot'.

That has brought unpredictable racing almost every time the lights go out on the start of a race, but consistency has proven to be key and the most consistent set-up in Formula One thus far this season has proven to be the combination of Ferrari and double world champion Fernando Alonso.

Alonso has finished in the top five in the past five races and leads the drivers world championship and his team believe that he will continue to be competitive at the German Grand Prix this weekend.

'The car was good in Valencia, it was also good in Silverstone. And as Hockenheim is a mix of the slow speed of Valencia and high speed of Silverstone, I would expect Ferrari to be competitive in Germany.' Alonso's race engineer Andrea Stella told the Ferrari official website as quoted by Autosport Magazine.

With the first half of the season almost completed Fernando Alonso currently leads the Formula One World Championship by 13 points to Red Bull's Mark Webber.

Four months ago you wouldn't have found many people in F1 predicting that outcome, with the 2012 Ferrari looking poor during winter testing.

But the team have played catch-up throughout the season, whilst Alonso has driven the car to perfection at times and that has given Ferrari a great basis to build their title challenge.

'At the start of the season it would have required one to be extremely optimistic to imagine such a situation, But in this sport, things can change very quickly and we have always maintained a positive attitude. The current situation is the result of this attitude combined with a lot of hard work.'

The one area that Ferrari are concentrating on to find improvement to their car is its top-speed, this is often highlighted during qualifying, where on a one lap basis, the cost of not having the straightline speed in comparison to other cars has cost them.

'You always want to get more and more top speed as it brings benefits in terms of reducing the lap time and it makes life easier during the race,'

'But of course, top speed is the counterpart to downforce and in a way, if we are limited when it comes to top speed, that is partly because our car is performing well when it comes to downforce. However, it is definitely an area where we are trying to improve for the future.'









Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday July 18 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Mercedes split on Red Bull deal (Friday September 4 2015)

Rosberg targets Monza pole (Thursday September 3 2015)

Formula One is on the edge (Thursday September 3 2015)

Renault to rescue Lotus team? (Thursday September 3 2015)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - FP3 (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP2 (Friday July 24 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP1 (Friday July 24 2015)

Drivers mourn at Bianchi's funeral (Wednesday July 22 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Chilton dedicates win to Bianchi (Monday July 20 2015)

Jules Bianchi dies aged 25 (Saturday July 18 2015)

McLaren trying to unlock potential (Thursday July 16 2015)

Red Bull lack patience (Wednesday July 15 2015)

Button's future up in the air (Friday July 10 2015)

Hamilton wants more control (Thursday July 9 2015)

Mercedes to power Red Bull Racing? (Wednesday July 8 2015)

Blog: British GP Report (Tuesday July 7 2015)

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1058
2. DJ 970
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 541
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 167
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix?
Hamilton 82%
Rosberg 6%
Raikkonen 0%
Vettel 6%
Massa 0%
Bottas 0%
Someone else 6%