Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Webber excited over season opener in Australia

“back to the good old days.' The Red Bull driver beamed once an official statement regarding the Bahrain Grand Prix was released.

With the first race called off, the Formula One season will now start in Mark Webber’s home country of Australia on March 27th.

'It would have been nice to go to Bahrain but we have to wait a bit longer to have our first race and that just happens to be my home race so, as always, looking forward to going down there.” Australian Mark Webber told Autosport Magazine.

'It's a sensational event and we're in good shape as a team so I hope to go there and have a very good result of course,'

Red Bull and Ferrari have looked the class of the field during pre-season testing and would have gone into the Bahrain race as heavy favourites for the race win. Both teams have shown good pace over short and long stints during testing in Barcelona and reliability issues have been less of a concern in comparison to their rivals.

Renault has had issues with their KERS, while McLaren are continuing to play catch up after their 2011 car missed the first test and Mercedes have also been off the pace of the front runners.

While it isn’t looking likely that an extra test session will be run in the period open following the Bahrain postponement, the time for developing their cars could still prove useful and by the time qualifying starts around Melbourne’s Albert Park the gap between the chasing pack and Red Bull and Ferrari could have closed.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday February 22 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

I hope that gap closes considerably, cannot have another season of McLaren giving everyone else a head start.
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

Red Bull DQ'd from Abu Dhabi Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - Qualifying (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP3 (Saturday November 22 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP2 (Friday November 21 2014)

2014 - Abu Dhabi - FP1 (Friday November 21 2014)

Audio: Hamilton v Rosberg - The Decider (Friday November 21 2014)

Caterham receive helping hand from Bernie (Thursday November 20 2014)

Grosjean to remain with Lotus (Thursday November 20 2014)

Bianchi 'out of coma' (Wednesday November 19 2014)

McLaren delay line-up announcement (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Ecclestone to hold talks with teams (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Force India hands Palmer chance to impress (Wednesday November 19 2014)

Chilton to join Caterham? (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Carlos Sainz Jr to test for Red Bull (Tuesday November 18 2014)

Kobayashi retains seat for Abu Dhabi (Monday November 17 2014)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 17 2014)

Caterham will return in Abu Dhabi (Friday November 14 2014)

Wolff plays down engine war fears (Friday November 14 2014)

Honda to debut new engine (Friday November 14 2014)

Ericsson terminates Caterham deal (Thursday November 13 2014)

Button not chasing big bucks (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Horner threatens engine war (Wednesday November 12 2014)

Alonso to sign £25million deal (Tuesday November 11 2014)

Record setting day for Mercedes (Monday November 10 2014)

Hamilton reflective (Monday November 10 2014)

Fantastic weekend for Rosberg (Monday November 10 2014)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Monday November 10 2014)

2014 - Brazil - Race (Sunday November 9 2014)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 9 2014)

2014 - Brazil - Qualifying (Saturday November 8 2014)

2014 - Brazil - FP3 (Saturday November 8 2014)

2014 - Brazil - FP2 (Friday November 7 2014)

Marussia cease trading (Friday November 7 2014)

2014 - Brazil - FP1 (Friday November 7 2014)

Button on the brink (Friday November 7 2014)

All change at Sauber as Nasr joins (Thursday November 6 2014)

Caterham aiming for Abu Dhabi return (Thursday November 6 2014)

Formula One's financial crisis (Wednesday November 5 2014)

Blog: The perils of the Party of Five (Tuesday November 4 2014)

Ericsson makes Sauber switch (Tuesday November 4 2014)

Blog: United States GP Report (Tuesday November 4 2014)

Alonso edges closer to McLaren return (Monday November 3 2014)

Hamilton proud to hold British record (Monday November 3 2014)

Perez handed seven-place grid drop (Monday November 3 2014)

Rosberg not giving up on title quest (Monday November 3 2014)

Vergne demoted to tenth (Monday November 3 2014)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 3 2014)

2014 - United States - Race (Sunday November 2 2014)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday November 2 2014)

2014 - United States - Qualifying (Saturday November 1 2014)

2014 - United States - FP3 (Saturday November 1 2014)

2014 - United States - FP2 (Friday October 31 2014)

2014 - United States - FP1 (Friday October 31 2014)

FIA question 'economic balance' in F1 (Friday October 31 2014)

Vettel prepared for engine penalty (Thursday October 30 2014)

Gap is too big in F1 says Fernandes (Thursday October 30 2014)

Button would welcome Alonso challenge (Wednesday October 29 2014)

Switch to Mercedes good for Lotus (Wednesday October 29 2014)

Marussia could be saved (Tuesday October 28 2014)

Ferrari and Mercedes at loggerheads (Monday October 27 2014)

Marussia go into administration (Monday October 27 2014)

Who will win the US Grand Prix? (Monday October 27 2014)

Five-year plan for Haas? Survival (Friday October 24 2014)

Caterham saga: Fernandes hits out (Friday October 24 2014)

Caterham on brink of turmoil (Thursday October 23 2014)

Sam Michael to quit F1 (Thursday October 23 2014)

Hulkenberg to stay with Force India (Tuesday October 21 2014)

Pirelli change selection for Brazil (Tuesday October 21 2014)

Blog: Mercedes reaps what it sows (Monday October 20 2014)

Vettel set to pay the penalty (Friday October 17 2014)

Caterham remain bullish (Friday October 17 2014)

Rosberg can swing momentum (Thursday October 16 2014)

Lotus dump Renault for Mercedes (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Button does not need to prove himself (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Hamilton contract talks on hold (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Mercedes win F1 constructors title (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Bianchi will not give up (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Pirelli make final selections (Monday October 13 2014)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday October 13 2014)

2014 - Russia - Race (Sunday October 12 2014)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP3 (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP2 (Friday October 10 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1028
2. DJ 903
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 571
6. Druss_the_Legend 528
7. Push The Button 441
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 155
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi
Hamilton 86%
Rosberg 7%
Someone else 7%