Vital F1 - Ger GP - Race weekend recap - Raikkonen
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ger GP - Race weekend recap - Raikkonen

When the chequered flag fell on Sunday evening in Hockenheim, Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen was not stood on the podium celebrating a third place finish.

But two hours after the race had ended Kimi was promoted to third position following a post-race drive through penalty given to Sebastian Vettel for his illegal move on McLaren's Jenson Button during the closing stages of the race.

That penalty equated to a 20 second time penalty which dropped the Red Bull down from second to fifth, elevating the Finn to the delight of his team, although Kimi would probably have been disappointed for missing out on the free champagne.

It capped off another disappointing weekend for Lotus, who have yet to pick up the results that their car appears to deserve.

In Free Practice One, the Lotus cars were well off the pace, Romain Grosjean was tenth 1.535 seconds slower than Button, while Kimi was 2.236 seconds down.

In Free Practice Two, Grosjean was again quicker than his team-mate but still 0.944 seconds slower than Maldonado, Kimi was again around two seconds a lap slower.

In Free Practice Three, in dry condition Kimi was looking a lot more comfortable and was ahead of his team-mate and was only 0.224 behind Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, but unfortunately for Raikkonen it didn't stay dry throughout qualifying and after getting through to Q3, Kimi settled for tenth place in the wet conditions.

We weren’t fast in the wet today for some reason and we need to look at why that was. I wasn’t able to get any grip from the tyres, even when we tried a fresh set of wets half way through the final qualifying session. In the dry the car is very good and in the races our car usually has strong pace. Let’s hope for some dry weather tomorrow and see what happens.” he told after stepping out of the car.

The luck was on Kimi's side on Sunday as the rain did stay away, but the real pace of the Lotus was still failing to shine through, until that clouds cleared and the temperature picked up.

Once again in the hotter temperatures the Lotus begins to really perform and during the latter part of the race the Pirelli tyres and the track came to Kimi and he was able to finish the race in fourth position.

Maybe if we had found a bit more pace in the wet yesterday we could have started higher and pushed the leaders, but it is what it is. For sure we were hoping for a bit better here, but the car worked well all through the race and we still brought home some good points for the team so there are some positives to take to the next race.”

With Lewis Hamilton retiring from the race with damage to his car from an early puncture, Raikkonen is now fourth in the Formula One World Championship on 98 points, just 12 behind reigning title holder Sebastian Vettel who is third.

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 24 2012

Time: 11:00AM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday October 10 2015)

2015 - Russian GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 10 2015)

2015 - Russian GP - FP3 (Saturday October 10 2015)

2015 - Russian GP - FP2 (Friday October 9 2015)

2015 - Russian GP - FP1 (Friday October 9 2015)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Thursday October 8 2015)

Ecclestone expects F1 to be sold (Wednesday October 7 2015)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday October 5 2015)

Manor secure Mercedes power for 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Button to stay at McLaren in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Grosjean to join Haas in 2016 (Thursday October 1 2015)

Letter of intent signed for Lotus buy-out (Tuesday September 29 2015)

Where were Mercedes in Japan? (Monday September 28 2015)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday September 27 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Race (Sunday September 27 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP- FP3 (Saturday September 26 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP2 (Friday September 25 2015)

2015 - Japan GP - FP1 (Friday September 25 2015)

Perez to stay with Force India (Thursday September 24 2015)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday September 24 2015)

McLaren ready for financial shortfall (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Button expected to announce retirement (Wednesday September 23 2015)

It's Ferrari or Bust for Red Bull Racing (Wednesday September 23 2015)

Maldonado to stay, Grosjean to leave? (Tuesday September 22 2015)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 21 2015)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 21 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 20 2015)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - Qualifying (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015- Singapore GP - FP3 (Sunday September 20 2015)

2015 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 18 2015)

2015 - Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 18 2015)

Rosberg will keep believing (Friday September 18 2015)

Merhi & Rossi to share Manor Marussia seat (Thursday September 17 2015)

Another new deal for Melbourne (Thursday September 17 2015)

It's over says Renault (Thursday September 17 2015)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Who will win in Singpore? (Wednesday September 16 2015)

Williams may not take Mercedes upgrade (Tuesday September 15 2015)

Big hopes for Ferrari in 2016 (Friday September 11 2015)

Button's wait nearly over? (Thursday September 10 2015)

Webber slams pay drivers (Wednesday September 9 2015)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 8 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday September 6 2015)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 6 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday September 5 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday September 4 2015)

2015 - Italian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday September 4 2015)

Mercedes split on Red Bull deal (Friday September 4 2015)

Rosberg targets Monza pole (Thursday September 3 2015)

Formula One is on the edge (Thursday September 3 2015)

Renault to rescue Lotus team? (Thursday September 3 2015)

Blog: Monza Preview (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 1 2015)

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1062
2. DJ 981
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 546
7. Push The Button 465
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 171
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Russian GP?
Hamilton 80%
Rosberg 4%
Vettel 16%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Kvyat 0%
Someone else 0%