Vital F1 - Ger GP - Race weekend recap - Alonso
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ger GP - Race weekend recap - Alonso

While there might have been plenty of drama up and down the paddock for other teams, Ferrari and Fernando Alonso completed a drama free weekend and extended their lead of the F1 drivers World Championship.

On Friday morning the McLaren's new upgrade package might have been what everyone was talking about and both Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton did appear quick, but Alonso's consistent form for Ferrari remained evident as he posted a time that was quicker than everyone else.

In Free Practice Two, a rain affected session meant that there wasn't a while of meaningful running and Fernando Alonso opted for the comfort of Ferrari's new motoGP style garage seats.

Saturday morning was different, the rain had cleared and Ferrari were back in top of the timing sheets, 0.077 ahead of the improved McLaren driven by Lewis Hamilton.

But while the McLaren's did look like real contenders in the dry, in the wet they struggled and this meant that once the heavens opened during qualifying they were out of contention, leaving the battle between Fernando Alonso and the two Red Bull's of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber.

Alonso managed to time his run perfectly and his time of 1m40.621 was enough to claim his 22 pole position of his career.

ďI am very happy! When qualifying is run in these conditions, itís very difficult to put together a clean lap and itís very easy to end up in the grass, the gravel or in the wall! Itís something of a fight for survival: before anything else, you have to get to the end and then look at where youíve finished. Then, when you hear on the radio that youíve got pole, it is extremely satisfying, because thereís a feeling you really have given your all. The car was going well in all conditions, which is encouraging, as it means that we can be in the fight whatever happens, be it dry or wet. he told formula1.com after qualifying.

Sunday morning all the talk was about the legality of Red Bull following a complaint from the FIA to the race stewards regarding engine mapping.

Again while everyone else squabbled Ferrari went about the business quietly and from the moment the red lights went out Fernando Alonso led from the front.

Vettel, was unable to compete and during the race the only car that looked like it could have been quicker than the Spaniard was a lapped Lewis Hamilton on fresh tyres and even he couldn't overtake the Ferrari.

ďIt was a very close race from start to finish. We did not have the quickest car. McLaren and Red Bull had a little bit extra but not enough to get past. The team took a few strategic decisions that were spot on, at the time of both stops and I knew that I had to concentrate, especially at Turn 6, defending my position by using the KERS. Then, in the third sector, there was no room for overtaking. I tried as much as possible to manage the tyres at all times. Clearly, I didnít have a moment to relax but I think I was calmer than the team in the garage and on the pit wall and our fans sitting in front of their televisions! Alonso said after the race.

His win leaves him 34 points clear of Mark Webber in the drivers standings.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 24 2012

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1055
2. DJ 964
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 540
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 165
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Hamilton's pit-stop at Silverstone
Luck 0%
Judgement 100%