Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez still focussed on Sauber

While the media often got side tracked linking Mark Webber and Lewis Hamilton to Ferrari, one man has remained the favourite throughout the 2012 Formula One season.

Mexican driver Sergio Perez.

The Sauber driver already has links to Ferrari after still officially being part of their young driver programme.

He impressed throughout his rookie season in Formula One, but in a more competitive Sauber, he has really shown his potential this season.

He could and probably should have won the Malaysian Grand Prix back in March, but a slight mistake and a radio message from his team to make sure he didn't lose his second place, left him watching on as Fernando Alonso took his first win of the season.

So far this season he has scored 47 points, a tally that places him ninth in the Formula One World Drivers Championship, ahead of team-mate Kamui Kobayashi, seven-time F1 World Champion Michael Schumacher and crucially current Ferrari driver Felipe Massa.

The Brazilian has struggled in Formula One over the past couple of years and his early season form left some in the media questioning whether Ferrari would remain patient enough for him to see out the season.

The rumour mill got so intense that Perez even had to release a statement telling the media that he would not consider a mid-season move to Ferrari.

Massa's form has improved since the Monaco Grand Prix and even with Mark Webber signing a new deal with Red Bull and Lewis Hamilton expected to sign a new deal with McLaren no-one really expects Felipe Massa to remain with Ferrari.

But while Sergio Perez would obviously like to get his chance with Ferrari, he isn't going to get ahead of himself and start thinking about it to soon.

'We are focusing fully on this season. It has been a very busy season so far, so it is too soon for me to think about my future. he told Autosport Magazine.

'It's not [something] that I will push. I have to see what the options are and then I will decide. If there is an opportunity with them [Ferrari] or another team then that is the time to know.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday July 26 2012

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Ferrari remain committed to F1 (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Schumacher 'out of coma' (Monday June 16 2014)

Pirelli boss pleased with racing (Friday June 13 2014)

Chilton takes the penalty (Friday June 13 2014)

Hass all set to name engine supplier (Wednesday June 11 2014)

First win surreal for Ricciardo (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Williams & Force India go public (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 9 2014)

2014 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 8 2014)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Saturday June 7 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1010
2. DJ 875
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 567
6. Druss_the_Legend 517
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Rosberg 19%
Hamilton 45%
Bottas 18%
Massa 18%
Ricciardo 0%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 0%