Vital F1 | Lotus & McLaren continue Double-DRS developmen
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Lotus & McLaren continue Double-DRS developmen

From the 2013 Formula One season, the concept of the 'double-DRS' has been banned.

This means that the Mercedes system, which caused so much controversy at the start of this seasons championship will be outlawed.

The Mercedes Double-DRS system takes airflow from the back of the car to the front, to stall the front wing down the straights during practice and qualifying and in the DRS Zone during a race.

This gives Mercedes a straight line speed advantage with both the front wing and the rear wing reacting to the driver enabling the DRS system.

The early races of the season were dominated by teams arguing the legality of the system with Lotus one of the teams in the paddock that was most strongly against Mercedes interpretation of the FIA's regulations in regards to what is allowed in the DRS system and they made a complaint to the FIA ahead of the Chinese GP.

But the FIA opted to once again back the Mercedes Double-DRS system as legal.

With an official stance from the FIA Lotus immediately revealed they were developing plans of their own, having vowed not to take the issue to the FIA's Court of Appeal.

'We are at the point of making estimates of how big the gain might be and assessing the difficulty in actually realising that gain,' Lotus Technical Director James Allison told Lotus's official website in April, while other teams also looked into this potential development area.

But because the Mercedes DRS system had to be so heavily integrated into the the design of the car, other teams couldn't replicate it without wholesale changes and spending a lot of money developing it.

So with double-DRS banned for 2013, it would be a safe assumption that teams would end spending money on developing their own version?

Wrong.

With nine races to go both Lotus and McLaren are still looking into the advantages of having their own system, even if it just for a handful of races.

'There are changes to the rules to outlaw the double DRS things, yes, But there is benefit to he had.' Allison told Autosport Magazine.

'We are only halfway through a 20-race season, just over halfway through. It's not like we are near the end, so there is plenty of merit to having something like this.'

It has been reported that the Lotus system is completely different to the Mercedes version, with Lotus actually gaining a benefit when the rear wing is closed rather than open. Which could prove to give a big performance gain at the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa.

Lotus team principal Eric Boullier added: 'If there is a gain to find, we need to bring it to the car. I think there is still some work to be done on it but, in one of the next races, it will be on both cars.'

McLaren are not as far down the development track as Lotus, but McLaren Sporting director Sam Michael has also revealed that they also have something in the pipeline.

'It's not like the Lotus one, but we have got a system like that, As for the chances of us bringing it, I don't know yet.

'We will look at all the programmes and see if it is feasible, because it requires work and it detracts from normal upgrades as well. So it is quite difficult to make the system work, as Lotus are discovering.

'But like anything in the pit lane, if we see a new idea then the guys jump on it, they analyse it and, if we decide that it will be a benefit to the team, then we will bring it.'


The development race continues.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday August 7 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1149
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 161

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Vettel's penalty
Harsh 17%
Fair 15%
Lenient 68%