Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maldonado targets improved second half of season

Williams driver Pastor Maldonado has targeted an improvement for his second half of the 2012 Formula One World Championship.

The Venezuelan won his first Grand Prix of his career earlier this season in Spain, but at other races he has faltered, failing to finish in the points again.

His only other points finish this season was during the third race of the season where he finished eighth.

'There are still nine races to go, which is quite a lot, so we have time to recover, I will do my best in the second half of the season to recover the loss and will never back off. he told Autosport Magazine.

Williams are currently seventh in the Formula 1 constructors' world championship, 27 points behind Sauber in sixth place and only 7 points ahead of Force India.

'We need more points and we need to improve and learn from the mistakes. Every time I go on track, I try to learn and constantly improve. That is my approach.

'For [various] reasons, we didn't get any points after Barcelona. But this is racing.


Those reasons included crashing into Pedro de la Rosa at Monaco, a crash during the Canadian qualifying which left him well down the grid, crashing into Lewis Hamilton in Valencia and receiving a time penalty, crashing into Sauber's Sergio Pérez at Silverstone, finishing outside the points after a strong qualifying in Germany and crashing once more in Hungary with Paul di Resta.

Team-mate Bruno Senna may not have had a big points haul like Maldonado, but the Brazilian has shown consistent race pace finishing the points on six occasions to score 24 points.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday August 14 2012

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

I like the reasons behind the lack of points!
DJ
Come on Pastor, you can do much better in the final 9 races.
johnkelv
Yes! You can crash twice every weekend instead of once!
DJ
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2014 - Singapore - Qualifying (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP3 (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 19 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP1 (Friday September 19 2014)

Alonso angered by Italian rumour mill (Friday September 19 2014)

Massa & Chilton raise radio ban concerns (Friday September 19 2014)

Renault aiming to optimise performance (Thursday September 18 2014)

Rosberg & Hamilton hope to gain advantage (Thursday September 18 2014)

FIA clarify new radio rules (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Lotus finances improving (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Williams want to become title contenders (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Prodromou completes McLaren switch (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Who will win the Singapore Grand Prix? (Monday September 15 2014)

F1 radio clamp down (Friday September 12 2014)

Massa needed podium finish (Thursday September 11 2014)

Button enjoyed Perez battle (Thursday September 11 2014)

Schumacher returns home (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo steps down (Wednesday September 10 2014)

Di Montezemolo criticised by Fiat boss (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Albers quits Caterham (Tuesday September 9 2014)

Williams maximise performance (Monday September 8 2014)

Hamilton deserved victory says Rosberg (Monday September 8 2014)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Monday September 8 2014)

2014 - Italy - Race (Sunday September 7 2014)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - Qualifying (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP3 (Saturday September 6 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP2 (Friday September 5 2014)

2014 - Italy - FP1 (Friday September 5 2014)

Speculation bores Vettel (Friday September 5 2014)

Could Mercedes drop Rosberg or Hamilton (Friday September 5 2014)

Hass seal Ferrari deal (Thursday September 4 2014)

Renault join calls for engine freeze lift (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Ferrari frustration for Fernando (Wednesday September 3 2014)

Hamilton will not give up (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix? (Tuesday September 2 2014)

Rosberg finally takes responsibility (Monday September 1 2014)

Ferrari boss attempts to buy time (Monday September 1 2014)

Williams must improve (Friday August 29 2014)

Ricciardo is a championship contender (Wednesday August 27 2014)

Rosberg refuses to comment (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Tuesday August 26 2014)

Crash was deliberate claims Hamilton (Monday August 25 2014)

Finger of blame pointed at Rosberg (Monday August 25 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Race (Sunday August 24 2014)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Sunday August 24 2014)

2014 - Belgium - Qualifying (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP3 (Saturday August 23 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP2 (Friday August 22 2014)

2014 - Belgium - FP1 (Friday August 22 2014)

Chilton to race in Spa (Friday August 22 2014)

Russia is ready (Thursday August 21 2014)

Kobayashi dropped by Caterham (Thursday August 21 2014)

Ferrari lucky to have 2 great champions (Wednesday August 20 2014)

Introducing Max Verstappen (Tuesday August 19 2014)

2014 Ferrari doesn't suit Kimi (Tuesday August 19 2014)

Who will win the Belgian Grand Prix? (Monday August 18 2014)

New Ground For Mercedes (Monday August 18 2014)

Lowe rejects Newey claim (Friday August 15 2014)

Kimi targets race wins in 2015 (Tuesday August 12 2014)

Grosjean uncertain over future (Monday August 11 2014)

Blog: Time for Bernie to go (Thursday August 7 2014)

Nico didn't get close enough - Wolff (Wednesday August 6 2014)

New deal for Australia (Monday August 4 2014)

Luck will turn for Vettel (Monday August 4 2014)

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1022
2. DJ 885
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 521
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 149
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Singapore?
Rosberg 15%
Hamilton 45%
Ricciardo 20%
Vettel 5%
Bottas 10%
Massa 0%
Someone else 5%