Vital F1 | Bernie to pay the price
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Bernie to pay the price

Formula One Management (FOM) will take the hit for the cancellation of the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Reports had suggested that in a cunning plan for Bahrain to still pay up the reported £24.7 million staging fee, Bernie Ecclestone had delayed and delayed making a decision, forcing the organisers to make the announcement themselves which would in turn mean that it was they who would have ended up out of pocket.

However it would appear that the conspiracy theorists out there have got it wrong on this occasion.

“The fee that is normally being paid for the event is not being paid, I am not charging them for a race they are not getting. Bernie told the Telegraph newspaper.

That of course means that if the race cannot be slotted back into the 2011 Formula One championship schedule then Bahrain will lose money on loss of revenue from ticket sales and merchandising and FOM will miss out on the £24.7 million that they were due to receive from Bahrain for hosting the opening race of the Formula One season.

Bernie also confirmed that F1 would be looking into the options available to try and reschedule the race for later on in the season and let’s face it, he has 24.7 million reasons why he and other shareholders in FOM would like to see Bahrain added back to the calendar!

“What has happened in Bahrain is desperately sad but one month ago everyone was looking forward to the race, no one had a problem with it then.

“If everything is peaceful, which we hope it will be, then we will try our best to fit it in.”


It’s difficult to see when Bahrain could be added back onto the calendar, yesterday on our VitalF1.com forum we speculated that while not ideal, there was a summer gap in between the Hungarian and Belgian Grand Prix’s.

Logistically it would be a nightmare for teams, but it is a three week window, but it would also mean a trip to Bahrain in mid August, when the average temperature is around 38c.

Another option would be after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and before the season finale in Brazil, for the teams this would be the best available option due to the proximity of the events, but it could possibly cause Brazil to reschedule by a week.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday February 23 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

So Bernie doesn't have water tight contracts and insurance policies? The old guy is slipping.
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamilton’s takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1155
2. Red5 1119
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 588
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 210
10. VanGisbergen2013 167

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British Grand Prix?
Bottas 3%
Vettel 35%
Ricciardo 0%
Hamilton 42%
Raikkonen 5%
Verstappen 15%
Someone else 0%