Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maldonado penalised again

Pastor Maldonado has received yet another penalty from Formula race stewards.

The latest slap across the knuckles for the haphazard Venezuelan comes following qualifying for this afternoons Belgium Grand Prix.

The race stewards decided to imposed a three-place grid penalty for blocking Nico Hulkenberg in qualifying.

The incident took place during Q1 and was the latest in a number of penalties for a single driver in a Formula One season.

In Monaco he was given a 10-place grid penalty for deliberately crashing into Sauber's Sergio Perez, after the European Grand Prix he was given a post-race time penalty which cost him one world championship point for crashing into McLaren's Lewis Hamilton, following the race at Silverstone, where he again crashed into Perez he was given a 10,000 euro fine and a reprimand, whilst during the Hungarian Grand Prix he was handed a drive-through penalty for his collision with Force India's Paul di Resta.

Once you add in the three penalties he has also received for gear box changes, Maldonado's penalties tally has now reached eight.

When you consider in affect it was a double penalty following the British Grand Prix he has in fact received nine penalties, so far this season.

Nico Rosberg will take a five-place grid penalty after requiring a gearbox change.

Sebastian Vettel has been fined 10,000 for doing a practice start in the pitlane in final practice.

Provisional grid after penalties

1. Jenson Button

2. Kamui Kobayashi

3. Kimi Raikkonen

4. Sergio Perez

5. Fernando Alonso

6. Pastor Maldonado

7. Lewis Hamilton

8. Romain Grosjean

9. Paul di Resta

10. Sebastian Vettel

11. Nico Hulkenberg

12. Mark Webber

13. Michael Schumacher

14. Felipe Massa

15. Jean-Eric Vergne

16. Daniel Ricciardo

17. Bruno Senna

18. Heikki Kovalainen

19. Vitaly Petrov

20. Timo Glock

21. Pedro de la Rosa

22. Charles Pic

23. Nico Rosberg

24. Narain Karthikeyan








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday September 2 2012

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Articles

2014 - China - Qualifying (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - FP3 (Saturday April 19 2014)

2014 - China - FP2 (Friday April 18 2014)

2014 - China - FP1 (Friday April 18 2014)

Hass might join F1 grid in 2016 (Wednesday April 16 2014)

Red Bull lose appeal (Wednesday April 16 2014)

Brawn to return to Ferrari? (Tuesday April 15 2014)

Domenicali quits (Monday April 14 2014)

Red Bull appeal begins (Monday April 14 2014)

Who will win the Chinese GP? (Sunday April 13 2014)

Mercedes hit out at Ferrari (Saturday April 12 2014)

Perez nearly quit F1 (Friday April 11 2014)

Mercedes stay on top in Bahrain (Thursday April 10 2014)

Red Bull & McLaren in legal row (Thursday April 10 2014)

Blog: The Battle of Mercedes (Thursday April 10 2014)

Mercedes on top in first test (Wednesday April 9 2014)

Formula One should celebrate new era (Wednesday April 9 2014)

F1 cost cap plan abandoned (Tuesday April 8 2014)

Two new teams to join Formula One? (Tuesday April 8 2014)

Maldonado punished (Monday April 7 2014)

Formula One puts on a showcase (Monday April 7 2014)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 7 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - Race (Sunday April 6 2014)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - Qualifying (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP3 (Saturday April 5 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP2 (Friday April 4 2014)

2014 - Bahrain - FP1 (Friday April 4 2014)

Cautious optimism for Schumacher (Friday April 4 2014)

Williams resolve team orders row (Friday April 4 2014)

Hamilton & Rosberg on par (Thursday April 3 2014)

Sauber have identified their issues (Thursday April 3 2014)

Sauber & Caterham make driver changes (Wednesday April 2 2014)

Alonso finds the positives (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Fuel-gate rumbles on (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Red Bull are closing the gap (Tuesday April 1 2014)

Who will win the Bahrain GP? (Monday March 31 2014)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Sunday March 30 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - Race (Sunday March 30 2014)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - Qualifying (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP3 (Saturday March 29 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP2 (Friday March 28 2014)

2014 - Malaysia - FP1 (Friday March 28 2014)

Sutil unhappy with weight issues (Thursday March 27 2014)

Video Feature: Malaysia Preview (Wednesday March 26 2014)

McLaren pushing hard (Wednesday March 26 2014)

Red Bull owner slams F1 (Tuesday March 25 2014)

Lotus hoping for improvement (Monday March 24 2014)

Date set for Red Bull's appeal (Monday March 24 2014)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Saturday March 22 2014)

Red Bull looking to improve (Friday March 21 2014)

F1's new sound (Thursday March 20 2014)

Williams delighted with Bottas drive (Wednesday March 19 2014)

Lotus problems down to MGU-K component (Wednesday March 19 2014)

Perfect debut for Magnussen (Tuesday March 18 2014)

Disappointing weekend for Red Bull (Monday March 17 2014)

Bittersweet weekend for Mercedes (Monday March 17 2014)

F1 Blog: Australian GP: New dawn (Sunday March 16 2014)

2014 - Australia - Race (Sunday March 16 2014)

2014 - Australia - Qualifying (Saturday March 15 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP3 (Saturday March 15 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP2 (Friday March 14 2014)

2014 - Australia - FP1 (Friday March 14 2014)

Stewards to be lenient in Australia (Thursday March 13 2014)

Chilton targets maiden point (Thursday March 13 2014)

Video: Ferrari's internal battle (Thursday March 13 2014)

F1 Blog: The Braces Are Off (Wednesday March 12 2014)

Lotus depending on Renault improvements (Wednesday March 12 2014)

Ecclestone targets Azerbaijan (Tuesday March 11 2014)

No change for Schumacher (Tuesday March 11 2014)

Qualifying tweaks confirmed (Monday March 10 2014)

Lotus will recover (Saturday March 8 2014)

Vettel concerned with lack of pace (Thursday March 6 2014)

More to come for Mercedes (Wednesday March 5 2014)

Where do McLaren stand? (Tuesday March 4 2014)

FOTA folds with a whimper (Saturday March 1 2014)

Williams looking solid (Friday February 28 2014)

Archived Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 998
2. DJ 852
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 559
6. Druss_the_Legend 509
7. Push The Button 426
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 138

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Chinese GP?
Nico Rosberg 29%
Lewis Hamilton 48%
Nico Hulkenberg 1%
Fernando Alonso 5%
Jenson Button 1%
Sebastian Vettel 3%
Kevin Magnussen 0%
Valtteri Bottas 0%
Sergio Perez 0%
Daniel Ricciardo 3%
Felipe Massa 1%
Kimi Raikkonen 8%
Someone else 1%