Vital F1 | Maldonado penalised again
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Maldonado penalised again

Pastor Maldonado has received yet another penalty from Formula race stewards.

The latest slap across the knuckles for the haphazard Venezuelan comes following qualifying for this afternoons Belgium Grand Prix.

The race stewards decided to imposed a three-place grid penalty for blocking Nico Hulkenberg in qualifying.

The incident took place during Q1 and was the latest in a number of penalties for a single driver in a Formula One season.

In Monaco he was given a 10-place grid penalty for deliberately crashing into Sauber's Sergio Perez, after the European Grand Prix he was given a post-race time penalty which cost him one world championship point for crashing into McLaren's Lewis Hamilton, following the race at Silverstone, where he again crashed into Perez he was given a 10,000 euro fine and a reprimand, whilst during the Hungarian Grand Prix he was handed a drive-through penalty for his collision with Force India's Paul di Resta.

Once you add in the three penalties he has also received for gear box changes, Maldonado's penalties tally has now reached eight.

When you consider in affect it was a double penalty following the British Grand Prix he has in fact received nine penalties, so far this season.

Nico Rosberg will take a five-place grid penalty after requiring a gearbox change.

Sebastian Vettel has been fined 10,000 for doing a practice start in the pitlane in final practice.

Provisional grid after penalties

1. Jenson Button

2. Kamui Kobayashi

3. Kimi Raikkonen

4. Sergio Perez

5. Fernando Alonso

6. Pastor Maldonado

7. Lewis Hamilton

8. Romain Grosjean

9. Paul di Resta

10. Sebastian Vettel

11. Nico Hulkenberg

12. Mark Webber

13. Michael Schumacher

14. Felipe Massa

15. Jean-Eric Vergne

16. Daniel Ricciardo

17. Bruno Senna

18. Heikki Kovalainen

19. Vitaly Petrov

20. Timo Glock

21. Pedro de la Rosa

22. Charles Pic

23. Nico Rosberg

24. Narain Karthikeyan








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday September 2 2012

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1096
2. DJ 1061
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 563
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Germany?
Hamilton 43%
Rosberg 25%
Raikkonen 8%
Vettel 8%
Ricciardo 8%
Verstappen 8%
Someone else 0%