Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Bel GP - Race weekend recap - Vettel

Much like Kimi Raikkonen's weekend Sebastian Vettel really had to work hard to take his second place in Belgium.

The Red Bull car is clearly not the dominating force it had been in previous seasons and the recent alterations to engine mapping regulations has hindered Vettel's battle for a third straight title even further.

The lack of speed was evident in qualifying, when the double world champion missed out on getting through to Q3 despite putting together a faultless lap.

ďI felt pretty good this morning, the laps didnít come together but the car felt good. There was nothing obvious that was wrong this afternoon, I was pretty happy with my lap, it was clean, but it just wasnít quick enough. Itís a shame to miss Q3 by such a small margin, but thatís racing. Weíve seen in the last races that our car is pretty good in the race so we will see what we can do.Ē A surprisingly laid back Vettel told formula1.com on Saturday evening.

The German had every reason to feel good, as his Red Bull was in fine racing form on Sunday.

The first corner chaos of course helped a little bit with five of the drivers who started the race in front of Vettel retiring during the opening five laps.

That gave Vettel much better track position and he was able to battle his way up the grid with a combination of a good race strategy and good on track moves which saw Vettel look very feisty.

ďIím happy with that today. Qualifying wasnít as we planned it to be yesterday, but today the car seemed to be back to as we know it. The start was poor; I think I was the only one not to gain positions through the first corners, so we had to fight our way back, which wasnít easy, but I enjoyed it a lot. The strategy worked perfectly for us and we had the pace, which was the best thing about today. The car worked well and we didnít struggle.

Vettel now moves into second place in the drivers championship, 24 points behind leader Fernando Alonso.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 3 2012

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2014 - United States - FP2 (Friday October 31 2014)

2014 - United States - FP1 (Friday October 31 2014)

FIA question 'economic balance' in F1 (Friday October 31 2014)

Vettel prepared for engine penalty (Thursday October 30 2014)

Gap is too big in F1 says Fernandes (Thursday October 30 2014)

Button would welcome Alonso challenge (Wednesday October 29 2014)

Switch to Mercedes good for Lotus (Wednesday October 29 2014)

Marussia could be saved (Tuesday October 28 2014)

Ferrari and Mercedes at loggerheads (Monday October 27 2014)

Marussia go into administration (Monday October 27 2014)

Who will win the US Grand Prix? (Monday October 27 2014)

Five-year plan for Haas? Survival (Friday October 24 2014)

Caterham saga: Fernandes hits out (Friday October 24 2014)

Caterham on brink of turmoil (Thursday October 23 2014)

Sam Michael to quit F1 (Thursday October 23 2014)

Hulkenberg to stay with Force India (Tuesday October 21 2014)

Pirelli change selection for Brazil (Tuesday October 21 2014)

Blog: Mercedes reaps what it sows (Monday October 20 2014)

Vettel set to pay the penalty (Friday October 17 2014)

Caterham remain bullish (Friday October 17 2014)

Rosberg can swing momentum (Thursday October 16 2014)

Lotus dump Renault for Mercedes (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Button does not need to prove himself (Wednesday October 15 2014)

Hamilton contract talks on hold (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Mercedes win F1 constructors title (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Bianchi will not give up (Tuesday October 14 2014)

Pirelli make final selections (Monday October 13 2014)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday October 13 2014)

2014 - Russia - Race (Sunday October 12 2014)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - Qualifying (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP3 (Saturday October 11 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP2 (Friday October 10 2014)

Kvyat excited by home race (Friday October 10 2014)

Marussia to run one car in Russia (Friday October 10 2014)

2014 - Russia - FP1 (Friday October 10 2014)

Who will win in Russia (Thursday October 9 2014)

Bianchi family thankful for support (Wednesday October 8 2014)

Driver reaction from Suzuka (Tuesday October 7 2014)

Results in Japan inconsequential (Tuesday October 7 2014)

McLaren & Mercedes deny Alonso deals (Monday October 6 2014)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 5 2014)

Thoughts with Bianchi (Sunday October 5 2014)

2014 - Japan - Race (Sunday October 5 2014)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Sunday October 5 2014)

2014 - Japan - Qualifying (Saturday October 4 2014)

What next for Alonso? (Saturday October 4 2014)

Vettel to replace Alonso at Ferrari (Saturday October 4 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP3 (Saturday October 4 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP2 (Friday October 3 2014)

2014 - Japan - FP1 (Friday October 3 2014)

Typhoon warning for Suzuka (Thursday October 2 2014)

Stevens to get F1 drive (Thursday October 2 2014)

Bailiffs seize goods at Caterham (Thursday October 2 2014)

Verstappen turns 17 and gets F1 drive (Tuesday September 30 2014)

Mercedes identify Rosberg fault (Tuesday September 30 2014)

Who will win in Japan? (Monday September 29 2014)

Button hints at new deal (Thursday September 25 2014)

No imminent announcement for McLaren (Wednesday September 24 2014)

Magnussen denies burns (Tuesday September 23 2014)

Red Bull not giving up on long shot (Tuesday September 23 2014)

Singapore swings in Hamilton's favour (Monday September 22 2014)

Will reliability decide the F1 title? (Monday September 22 2014)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 22 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Race (Sunday September 21 2014)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 21 2014)

2014 - Singapore - Qualifying (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP3 (Saturday September 20 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP2 (Friday September 19 2014)

2014 - Singapore - FP1 (Friday September 19 2014)

Alonso angered by Italian rumour mill (Friday September 19 2014)

Massa & Chilton raise radio ban concerns (Friday September 19 2014)

Renault aiming to optimise performance (Thursday September 18 2014)

Rosberg & Hamilton hope to gain advantage (Thursday September 18 2014)

FIA clarify new radio rules (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Lotus finances improving (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Williams want to become title contenders (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Prodromou completes McLaren switch (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Radio ban not clear says Mercedes (Monday September 15 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1025
2. DJ 896
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 571
6. Druss_the_Legend 525
7. Push The Button 440
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 151
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the US Grand Prix?
Hamilton 62%
Rosberg 22%
Ricciardo 11%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 5%