Vital F1 | Bel GP - Race weekend recap - Button
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Bel GP - Race weekend recap - Button

Much like team-mate Lewis Hamilton in Hungary, Jenson Button and McLaren dominated the Belgium Grand Prix race weekend.

It's seems bizarre for a team that can be the class of the field on a regular basis to not be able to hook both cars up to enable them to have solid race weekends, but that is what we had again for this Grand Prix, Button enjoying a well performing car and Hamilton struggling.

There was little to take from the running on Friday, during first practice both Button and Hamilton were five seconds off the pace and in second practice neither set a lap time due to the weather.

On Saturday though it was clear that Button was set for a good weekend.

Button was fifth quickest in FP3, half a second clear of Hamilton and he went on to take pole position later in the day, once again beating his team-mate by 0.821s.

ďItís been so long since my last pole position that it almost feels like a win for me! In fact, itís my first pole since Monaco 2009 - which was a race that I won - and it demonstrates that I can qualify really well. So I want to offer my congratulations to the whole team: itís my 50th grand prix for Vodafone McLaren Mercedes this weekend, so itís a great time to get a pole position for everyone at Woking, at Brixworth and of course here at Spa. Button told formula1.com.

The race was a bit of a non-event for the spectators in regards to Jenson Button, who led away from the grid well, got into the first turn still in the lead, avoided the carnage behind him and simply drove off into the distance.

His lead was so great that even after he had made his one and only pit-stop of the race, he maintained the lead despite other drivers behind him being one-stop into a two-stop strategy.

ďIím sorry to all the fans if it wasnít very exciting at the front! However, winning a grand prix is never easy: youíve always got to look after the tyres and keep an eye on the gap behind. Todayís race was particularly tricky to read, in fact, because lots of cars were on different strategies so you never knew exactly where you stood.

Before the race there had been a lot of talk about what role Jenson Button would play in the final half of the season.

The 2009 Formula One World Champion had a huge deficit to leader Fernando Alonso and was also quite a considerable distance behind team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

Many had wondered if Button would support Hamilton's championship bid, hence the close scrutiny between the two drivers performances during practice and qualifying.

But with Hamilton taken out in the drama at turn one, all the talk was irrelevant and with Button now securing the 25 points for a race win, that distance between Hamilton and Button is now down to 16 points.

He added: 'We need to score big points in both world championships - and today was exactly what we required. Iím a massive team-player, and I fight for the team; I want us to win both world championships and, until I canít mathematically fight for the driversí world championship, I wonít give up on it. I think I showed that today.Ē








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 3 2012

Time: 2:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Brawn becomes F1 director (Thursday February 2 2017)

Ecclestone still welcome (Wednesday February 1 2017)

F1 shake up (Tuesday January 31 2017)

Manor collapse (Monday January 30 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1111
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 20%
Hamilton 20%
Raikkonen 20%
Bottas 20%
Verstappen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 20%