Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

D'Ambrosio to get Lotus outing

Jerome D'Ambrosio will get to drive for Lotus this weekend with Romain Grosjean absent following his one-race ban from the F1 stewards in Belgium.

In a hectic race start Lotus's Grosjean appeared to lose his head just moments into the race.

Grosjean jerked right alongside McLaren's Lewis Hamilton and with the Brit perilously close to the grass and the wall, Grosjean continued to drift right, hitting the McLaren who had nowhere to go.

With both cars out of control they hurtled towards the cars in front crashing into Ferrari's Fernando Alonso and Sergio Perez's Sauber at La Source.

Due to the severity of the incident, the race stewards handed Grosjean a hefty 50,000 fine and banned him from taking part in the Italian Grand Prix.

The Frenchman will return at the Singapore Grand Prix, but in Italy his car will be driven by Reserve driver D'Ambrosio.

The 26-year-old Belgian drove for Virgin Racing during the 2011 Formula One World Championship.

'My desire for 2012 has always been to get back into the seat of a Formula 1 car so I am grabbing this opportunity with both hands,' said D'Ambrosio to the BBC.

'As third driver, I have worked with the team at every grand prix, attending all the briefings and meetings that the race drivers do, so I am well prepared in this respect.

'I want to reward the faith that the team has in me with a good haul of points from the race.'


Lotus have also confirmed that the team's 'Double DRS' device will not be used throughout September, but could be fitted to the car in time for October's Japanese Grand Prix.

'Although we would like to have it at Monza - because it is the type of circuit that rewards such a thing - we don't have the DRS device configured to cope with the Monza level of downforce,' Lotus Technical Director James Allison told Sky Sports.

'So it is not even on the table. In Singapore you won't see it either, because it's too high a downforce circuit with insufficient straights for it to be worthwhile. The earliest you might see it now is Suzuka.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday September 6 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Ferrari remain committed to F1 (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Schumacher 'out of coma' (Monday June 16 2014)

Pirelli boss pleased with racing (Friday June 13 2014)

Chilton takes the penalty (Friday June 13 2014)

Hass all set to name engine supplier (Wednesday June 11 2014)

First win surreal for Ricciardo (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Williams & Force India go public (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 9 2014)

2014 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 8 2014)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Saturday June 7 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1010
2. DJ 875
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 567
6. Druss_the_Legend 517
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Rosberg 19%
Hamilton 45%
Bottas 18%
Massa 18%
Ricciardo 0%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 0%