Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Williams reveal 2011 race livery

The Williams team unveiled its new colour scheme for the 2011 season this morning.

The press conference was streamed live on their official website and photos from the press conference can be seen on attwilliams.com.

Williams’ technical director Sam Michael hosted the event and spoke enthusiastically about not only his own car (which is a bit of a given) but also the other various different designs in F1 for 2011.

“One thing that’s very interesting about Formula One now is that if you look at the cars there are some very interesting concepts out there,” Michael said during the press conference.

“The reason why is because the rules have been restrained so much on bodywork and you can do very little on the diffuser now. Teams have had to push very hard in other areas and take much bigger risks than they would have done in the past.

“The interesting designs for me are obviously the Williams tight rear end, the double floor on the Toro Rosso and the forward exhaust on the Renault. These are all things that potentially some of them you could have done before. But you didn’t because there was much bigger gains for much lower risk. And I think that it is great for Formula One because the cars don’t look the same, they do look different, and everyone’s trying different concepts.”


If you watched the event earlier and were a little underwhelmed, it's hardly surprising, we've seen the car in testing already, so it was just the colour scheme being unveiled today. Last season the car was blue and white and this season...it is blue and white. So not exactly ground breaking news.

One talking point could be that there are resemblances between this paint job and previous colour schemes used by the team back in the 1990's, when it was sponsored by Rothmans but that's about it.

In fact after Williams’ technical director Sam Michael cracked a joke about how everyone likes a 'tight rear end' and the fairly insightful comments about the different designs by teams on the grid this season as transcribed above, the press conference was concluded with a very long winded chat and presentation with the teams new chef...

To say it was a bit of a non event would be stating the obvious, however the interest levels online were high, so the Williams F1 marketing team did a great job.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday February 24 2011

Time: 4:34PM

Your Comments

It would be nice to see Williams back at the front, picking up podiums again.
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1016
2. DJ 879
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 146
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Hamilton have moved over for Rosberg?
No way! They're fighting for the title 92%
Yes, it was team orders 8%
Tough call, don't know 0%