Vital F1 | lta GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

lta GP - Race weekend recap - Hamilton

McLaren stood on the top step of the podium for the third successive race on Sunday, with Lewis Hamilton driving away from pole position to victory.

With the worlds media attention firmly fixed on the 2008 Formula One World Champion after speculation linked him with a sensation switch from McLaren to Mercedes prior to the team arriving in Italy, Hamilton had the perfect weekend.

After being half a second off the pace in free practice one on Friday morning, Hamilton came back to stand at the top of the timing sheets on Friday afternoon in free practice two and that's where he would stay throughout the entire weekend.

Free practice three on Saturday morning, Hamilton was still top and after qualifying, Hamilton was once again quickest.

With team-mate Jenson Button just a tenth of a second off the pace of Hamilton, it was an all McLaren front row, for Ferrari's home race of the season.

“This is a fabulous day for the whole team - they’ve done a fantastic job to get our car into this position, so I want to say a huge thanks to them. The whole Vodafone McLaren Mercedes team deserves this result. It’s going to be a fast, tough race tomorrow. Jenson and the Ferraris are very quick, but we’ve got a good car and a good set-up, and we’re in the best possible position to score maximum points tomorrow.' Hamilton told formula1.com on Saturday afternoon.

Hamilton got away from the grid well on Sunday morning, whilst team-mate Button was a bit slow to accelerate through the gears, giving Felipe Massa the chance to not only get into second place, but also pull alongside Hamilton going into the first corner.

This was the closest anyone got to Hamilton throughout the rest of the race.

After the first round of pit-stops Saubers Sergio Perez would inherit the lead for a short while from Hamilton, but the McLaren was once again back in front with an easy pass, before the Mexican himself had to make his pit-stop.

With Button having to retire due to a mechanical fault, it was Perez who would drive on to take second place, although he never put Hamilton under any pressure for the race win.

“Winning at Monza is one of the greatest experiences of my Formula One career. I absolutely love this place: I’ve been coming to Italy to race since I was 13 years-old and I just love the culture, the food and the people. Since I started in Formula One, Monza has been one of the races I always wanted to win at - it’s such an incredible, historic circuit and all the great racing drivers have won here. To finally put my name on that list makes me feel extremely proud, but also very humble. Our car has been fantastic all weekend, and it was nice to have a relaxed grand prix with no troubles. I was out on my own for most of the race and just tried to manage the gap behind me. I was cruising at the end, but, once I heard that Sergio Perez had got past Fernando Alonso, I had to push a little to keep the cushion over second place. Hamilton told the press on Sunday evening.

The 25 points for the victory, boosted Hamilton into second place in the championship thanks to both Red Bull's also failing to complete the race.

Hamilton now stands 37 points behind Ferrari's Fernando Alonso in the standings after the Spaniard finished third at Monza.

Hamilton's team-mate Jenson Button remains sixth 41 points behind Hamilton in the F1 Drivers championship.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday September 10 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1096
2. DJ 1061
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 563
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Germany?
Hamilton 51%
Rosberg 25%
Raikkonen 6%
Vettel 6%
Ricciardo 6%
Verstappen 6%
Someone else 0%