Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Sauber in no rush to confirm driver line-up

Sauber insist that they are in no rush to secure either Sergio Perez or Kamui Kobayashi to deals for next season.

Sauber's driver line-up for the 2013 season is completely in the air for two different reasons.

While Sergio Perez has impressed this season, he has become the target of two other teams in the paddock according to various media reports.

While Kobayashi's form in 2012 has been less impressive. The Japanese driver is 30 points behind Perez in the F1 World Championship, despite both drivers finishing in the points on six occasions this season.

But while Kobayashi's best finish this season has been a fourth place in Germany, Perez has stood on the podium three times, with two second place finishes and one third.

That has left Kobayashi's future in limbo.

'In real terms there is no deadline, Naturally there are a few key dates when it would be helpful for the development [of the car] if one knew who the drivers would be. But I believe we are still some way away from that.' Sauber CEO Monisha Kaltenborn told Autosport Magazine.

Sergio Perez has been the subject of intense speculation linking him with a move to Ferrari for 2013.

The Mexican driver is part of Ferrari's young driver programme and was always going to be part of the rumours of who could replace Felipe Massa for next season.

But even after Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo stated that he lacked the experience to drive for Ferrari, the media haven't halted in their speculation. While other media outlets believe McLaren may well have approached Perez in case they lose the battle with Mercedes for Lewis Hamilton's service.

'The speculation is no distraction.' She added. 'It is interesting that when one of our drivers has a good race the speculation starts; when he does not, nobody talks about it. Thus we always know exactly when the speculation will start.'

In regards to Kamui Kobayashi he was giving nothing away regarding his future, telling reporters: 'I have no idea. I don't know, I'm happy with this year's job and with myself. Of course I've had a lot of bad luck, but usually I think this can happen. But we are improving, we are getting strong and we are getting results. But for next [year], I have no idea.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday September 21 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Ferrari remain committed to F1 (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Schumacher 'out of coma' (Monday June 16 2014)

Pirelli boss pleased with racing (Friday June 13 2014)

Chilton takes the penalty (Friday June 13 2014)

Hass all set to name engine supplier (Wednesday June 11 2014)

First win surreal for Ricciardo (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Williams & Force India go public (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 9 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1010
2. DJ 875
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 567
6. Druss_the_Legend 517
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Rosberg 20%
Hamilton 52%
Bottas 17%
Massa 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 0%