Vital F1 | Sauber in no rush to confirm driver line-up
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Sauber in no rush to confirm driver line-up

Sauber insist that they are in no rush to secure either Sergio Perez or Kamui Kobayashi to deals for next season.

Sauber's driver line-up for the 2013 season is completely in the air for two different reasons.

While Sergio Perez has impressed this season, he has become the target of two other teams in the paddock according to various media reports.

While Kobayashi's form in 2012 has been less impressive. The Japanese driver is 30 points behind Perez in the F1 World Championship, despite both drivers finishing in the points on six occasions this season.

But while Kobayashi's best finish this season has been a fourth place in Germany, Perez has stood on the podium three times, with two second place finishes and one third.

That has left Kobayashi's future in limbo.

'In real terms there is no deadline, Naturally there are a few key dates when it would be helpful for the development [of the car] if one knew who the drivers would be. But I believe we are still some way away from that.' Sauber CEO Monisha Kaltenborn told Autosport Magazine.

Sergio Perez has been the subject of intense speculation linking him with a move to Ferrari for 2013.

The Mexican driver is part of Ferrari's young driver programme and was always going to be part of the rumours of who could replace Felipe Massa for next season.

But even after Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo stated that he lacked the experience to drive for Ferrari, the media haven't halted in their speculation. While other media outlets believe McLaren may well have approached Perez in case they lose the battle with Mercedes for Lewis Hamilton's service.

'The speculation is no distraction.' She added. 'It is interesting that when one of our drivers has a good race the speculation starts; when he does not, nobody talks about it. Thus we always know exactly when the speculation will start.'

In regards to Kamui Kobayashi he was giving nothing away regarding his future, telling reporters: 'I have no idea. I don't know, I'm happy with this year's job and with myself. Of course I've had a lot of bad luck, but usually I think this can happen. But we are improving, we are getting strong and we are getting results. But for next [year], I have no idea.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday September 21 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1138
2. Red5 1113
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 154

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 43%
Vettel 29%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 17%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%