Vital F1 | F1 teams would've boycotted Bahrain
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

F1 teams would've boycotted Bahrain

The opening race of the 2011 season was postponed on Monday.

The scheduled start to the season has now been put back to the end of March in Australia, following the political unrest in Bahrain causing the postponement/cancellation of the event.

Supporters and teams alike backed the decision unanimously, we might be left twiddling our fingers for a few more weeks while we await our first F1 fix of 2011, but in context with what is happening in Bahrain and in other countries in the region, a Formula One race was not the priority.

That point has been cemented by Williams chairman Adam Parr who has stated that he believes that not only was it the right decision to call off the race, but he also believes that teams would have boycotted the race had it gone ahead anyway.

'The decision was right by His Royal Highness the Crown Prince.'

'Had the Bahrain Grand Prix gone ahead, I don't think we, and in fact I suspect even all the teams, would have gone.'
Parr told Autosport Magazine.

Officially FOTA (Formula One Teams Association) had backed FOM (Formula One Management) during the talks regarding the race, however these comments would suggest that there was perhaps a disagreement between the parties.

However with the decision made, that scenario now becomes irrelevant and the focus moves to trying to reschedule the event into the 2011 season.

The two main areas of the calendar that look like possible options are in between the Hungarian and Belgian Grand Prix’s in the summer break; logistically it would be a nightmare for teams, travelling from Europe to the Middle East and back again and it would also mean a trip to Bahrain in mid August, when the average temperature is around 38c!

The other option would be after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and before the season finale in Brazil, for the teams this would be the best available option due to the proximity of the events, but it could possibly cause Brazil to reschedule by a week.

'I think everyone is going to try really hard to put it back on the schedule, but I am not sure about it with the weather, Obviously that takes out the summer months, then it's a bit hectic with all the flyaways we've got.

'I'm sure everyone is going to try really hard to find a new date, assuming of course that everything has settled down. But I am not sure at the moment.'
Parr concluded.

Neither option is ideal, to discuss what F1 should do join the debate on the VitalF1.com forum.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday February 25 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

A potential farce avoided then with it called off!
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1064
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 189
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win at Spa?
Hamilton 35%
Rosberg 11%
Ricciardo 16%
Verstappen 38%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%