Vital F1 - F1 teams would've boycotted Bahrain
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

F1 teams would've boycotted Bahrain

The opening race of the 2011 season was postponed on Monday.

The scheduled start to the season has now been put back to the end of March in Australia, following the political unrest in Bahrain causing the postponement/cancellation of the event.

Supporters and teams alike backed the decision unanimously, we might be left twiddling our fingers for a few more weeks while we await our first F1 fix of 2011, but in context with what is happening in Bahrain and in other countries in the region, a Formula One race was not the priority.

That point has been cemented by Williams chairman Adam Parr who has stated that he believes that not only was it the right decision to call off the race, but he also believes that teams would have boycotted the race had it gone ahead anyway.

'The decision was right by His Royal Highness the Crown Prince.'

'Had the Bahrain Grand Prix gone ahead, I don't think we, and in fact I suspect even all the teams, would have gone.'
Parr told Autosport Magazine.

Officially FOTA (Formula One Teams Association) had backed FOM (Formula One Management) during the talks regarding the race, however these comments would suggest that there was perhaps a disagreement between the parties.

However with the decision made, that scenario now becomes irrelevant and the focus moves to trying to reschedule the event into the 2011 season.

The two main areas of the calendar that look like possible options are in between the Hungarian and Belgian Grand Prix’s in the summer break; logistically it would be a nightmare for teams, travelling from Europe to the Middle East and back again and it would also mean a trip to Bahrain in mid August, when the average temperature is around 38c!

The other option would be after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and before the season finale in Brazil, for the teams this would be the best available option due to the proximity of the events, but it could possibly cause Brazil to reschedule by a week.

'I think everyone is going to try really hard to put it back on the schedule, but I am not sure about it with the weather, Obviously that takes out the summer months, then it's a bit hectic with all the flyaways we've got.

'I'm sure everyone is going to try really hard to find a new date, assuming of course that everything has settled down. But I am not sure at the moment.'
Parr concluded.

Neither option is ideal, to discuss what F1 should do join the debate on the VitalF1.com forum.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday February 25 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

A potential farce avoided then with it called off!
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Race (Sunday March 29 2015)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP3 (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP2 (Friday March 27 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP1 (Friday March 27 2015)

Bottas to avoid surgery (Thursday March 26 2015)

Alonso clears up mystery crash (Thursday March 26 2015)

Alonso and Bottas cleared to drive (Thursday March 26 2015)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday March 25 2015)

New Hamilton deal all but agreed (Wednesday March 25 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 952
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 581
6. Druss_the_Legend 536
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 65%
Rosberg 5%
Vettel 5%
Raikkonen 15%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 10%