Vital F1 | F1 teams would've boycotted Bahrain
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

F1 teams would've boycotted Bahrain

The opening race of the 2011 season was postponed on Monday.

The scheduled start to the season has now been put back to the end of March in Australia, following the political unrest in Bahrain causing the postponement/cancellation of the event.

Supporters and teams alike backed the decision unanimously, we might be left twiddling our fingers for a few more weeks while we await our first F1 fix of 2011, but in context with what is happening in Bahrain and in other countries in the region, a Formula One race was not the priority.

That point has been cemented by Williams chairman Adam Parr who has stated that he believes that not only was it the right decision to call off the race, but he also believes that teams would have boycotted the race had it gone ahead anyway.

'The decision was right by His Royal Highness the Crown Prince.'

'Had the Bahrain Grand Prix gone ahead, I don't think we, and in fact I suspect even all the teams, would have gone.'
Parr told Autosport Magazine.

Officially FOTA (Formula One Teams Association) had backed FOM (Formula One Management) during the talks regarding the race, however these comments would suggest that there was perhaps a disagreement between the parties.

However with the decision made, that scenario now becomes irrelevant and the focus moves to trying to reschedule the event into the 2011 season.

The two main areas of the calendar that look like possible options are in between the Hungarian and Belgian Grand Prix’s in the summer break; logistically it would be a nightmare for teams, travelling from Europe to the Middle East and back again and it would also mean a trip to Bahrain in mid August, when the average temperature is around 38c!

The other option would be after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and before the season finale in Brazil, for the teams this would be the best available option due to the proximity of the events, but it could possibly cause Brazil to reschedule by a week.

'I think everyone is going to try really hard to put it back on the schedule, but I am not sure about it with the weather, Obviously that takes out the summer months, then it's a bit hectic with all the flyaways we've got.

'I'm sure everyone is going to try really hard to find a new date, assuming of course that everything has settled down. But I am not sure at the moment.'
Parr concluded.

Neither option is ideal, to discuss what F1 should do join the debate on the VitalF1.com forum.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday February 25 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

A potential farce avoided then with it called off!
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1092
2. DJ 1051
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 560
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 185
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Austria?
Rosberg 0%
Hamilton 0%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Verstappen 0%
Someone else 0%