Vital F1 | Perez joins McLaren - Official
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez joins McLaren - Official

The McLaren Formula One team have announced that Mexican driver Sergio Perez will join them in 2013 on a multi-year-contract.

The young Mexican will leave Sauber, a team which he has been driving for the past two seasons for McLaren at the end of the season.

The 22-year-old has impressed everyone throughout Formula One during the past year, everyone with the exception of Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo, who stated that he lacked the experience to drive for Ferrari in 2013.

Despite the fact that Perez has been part of the young driver programme with Ferrari, the Italian team have now lost one of Formula One's biggest future stars, with Perez signing a multi-year deal with McLaren.

Im thrilled and delighted to have become a Vodafone McLaren Mercedes driver, The McLaren name is one of the greatest in the history of Formula One. For more than 40 years McLaren has been a team that every racing driver has aspired to drive for - I was brought up on the great stories of Ayrton Senna's many world championship triumphs for McLaren - and I'm truly honoured that they've chosen me to partner Jenson [Button] from 2013. Perez told formula1.com.

I've spent the 2012 season working very hard to demonstrate my potential, but I've always remained humble and focused. I am, and always will be, extremely grateful to Peter [Sauber] and everybody at the Sauber Formula One team for their belief in me, and for giving me the chance to race in Formula One.

Whilst Sergio Perez and Jenson Button boast very different driving styles, both drivers are widely known for the way they can both look after their tyres in Formula One.

Button has shown on multiple occasions that he can get more out of the Pirelli tyres than current team-mate Lewis Hamilton, with Button able to get a more laps out of different compounds.

While Perez continues to surprise many in the paddock with just how much he can get out of the Pirelli rubber, picking up great results this season in part due to his and Sauber's tyre strategy.

With these attributes, a Perez/Button partnership could be very complimentary for McLaren.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday September 28 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1064
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 190
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win at Spa?
Hamilton 35%
Rosberg 10%
Ricciardo 20%
Verstappen 35%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%