Vital F1 - Perez joins McLaren - Official
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez joins McLaren - Official

The McLaren Formula One team have announced that Mexican driver Sergio Perez will join them in 2013 on a multi-year-contract.

The young Mexican will leave Sauber, a team which he has been driving for the past two seasons for McLaren at the end of the season.

The 22-year-old has impressed everyone throughout Formula One during the past year, everyone with the exception of Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo, who stated that he lacked the experience to drive for Ferrari in 2013.

Despite the fact that Perez has been part of the young driver programme with Ferrari, the Italian team have now lost one of Formula One's biggest future stars, with Perez signing a multi-year deal with McLaren.

“I’m thrilled and delighted to have become a Vodafone McLaren Mercedes driver, The McLaren name is one of the greatest in the history of Formula One. For more than 40 years McLaren has been a team that every racing driver has aspired to drive for - I was brought up on the great stories of Ayrton Senna's many world championship triumphs for McLaren - and I'm truly honoured that they've chosen me to partner Jenson [Button] from 2013. Perez told formula1.com.

“I've spent the 2012 season working very hard to demonstrate my potential, but I've always remained humble and focused. I am, and always will be, extremely grateful to Peter [Sauber] and everybody at the Sauber Formula One team for their belief in me, and for giving me the chance to race in Formula One.

Whilst Sergio Perez and Jenson Button boast very different driving styles, both drivers are widely known for the way they can both look after their tyres in Formula One.

Button has shown on multiple occasions that he can get more out of the Pirelli tyres than current team-mate Lewis Hamilton, with Button able to get a more laps out of different compounds.

While Perez continues to surprise many in the paddock with just how much he can get out of the Pirelli rubber, picking up great results this season in part due to his and Sauber's tyre strategy.

With these attributes, a Perez/Button partnership could be very complimentary for McLaren.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday September 28 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Race (Sunday March 29 2015)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP3 (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP2 (Friday March 27 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP1 (Friday March 27 2015)

Bottas to avoid surgery (Thursday March 26 2015)

Alonso clears up mystery crash (Thursday March 26 2015)

Alonso and Bottas cleared to drive (Thursday March 26 2015)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday March 25 2015)

New Hamilton deal all but agreed (Wednesday March 25 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 952
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 581
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 65%
Rosberg 5%
Vettel 5%
Raikkonen 15%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 10%