Vital F1 - Tracks at fault for lack of over taking
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Tracks at fault for lack of over taking

One of the issues in modern day Formula One is the lack of over taking.

In a sport loved for its passion and excitement, with elements of glamour and danger thrown in, modern day F1 has something lacking.

In recent years, the worlds best drivers have found it harder and harder to over take the car in front of them.

The aerodynamics of the cars make it difficult for drivers to follow closely behind another car for sustained periods of time, the cars themselves are designed to perform in 'clean air', whilst the 'dirty air' that comes from the rear wing of an F1 car hampers performance.

Developments in breaking make over taking harder, the best time to over take is in the breaking zone of a corner, but with the developments of breaks these zones become smaller and smaller, lowering the risk of a driver making a mistake.

For this season Formula One is introducing moveable rear wings and KERS are making a comeback, both with an idea of improving the spectacle of F1 with more overtaking.

Formula One legend Sir Jackie Stewart however thinks the issue is a fault with new batch of Formula One tracks.

'My belief is that the major reason for the lack of overtaking in modern grand prix racing is down to the modern tracks, nearly all of which have been designed by the same man, the German architect Hermann Tilke.' Stewart wrote in an article for the Telegraph newspaper.

Stewart believes that drivers are simply not punished for their mistakes in F1 any more, while he praised the sport for it's leaps forward in driver and spectator safety, he believes a modification at the tracks would help to penalise drivers for their mistakes without compromising safety.

'What if Tilke simply modified the corners around his circuits in such a way that if a driver runs wide he is penalised?

'What if the surface of the run-off areas was changed so that a car’s traction is reduced and a driver going wide loses ground either to the car he is following or allows the car chasing him to pass?'

'Making mistakes is something we all do. In most cases we have to pay for those mistakes. We shouldn’t die for them but we surely should be penalised.'


It's a good point well made by the former three times World champion and a discussion which we have been having recently on our VitalF1.com Forum following discussions regarding the new regulations with KERS and moveable wings.

No doubt that if the new regulations improve the racing then the new devices will remain in F1 for the foreseeable future, but a change in track design such as the one suggested by Sir Jackie would certainly better suit the purists.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday February 28 2011

Time: 10:38AM

Your Comments

some great points as usual by Sir JS... it is a shame when a race is all about a) qualifying and b) engine/car reliability as opposed to out and out racing/overtaking etc. It is that I believe that fans want to see and why some turn off the sport.
The Fear
Why has just one man been used to design all the latest tracks?
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Race (Sunday March 29 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 954
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Canadian GP?
Hamilton 52%
Rosberg 0%
Vettel 12%
Raikkonen 12%
Bottas 12%
Massa 0%
Someone else 12%