Vital F1 | Kor GP - Race weekend recap - Vettel
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Kor GP - Race weekend recap - Vettel

Following back-to-back race wins, the reigning Formula One double World Champion Sebastian Vettel went into Korea as the hot favourite.

The Red Bull car had shown it was the dominant car in Japan and it was expected to be same in Korea. With the car advantage and only four points behind Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, the target for the German was to beat Alonso and take the lead in the hunt for the 2012 World title and a place in the history books.

The young German, who is already the youngest ever double world champion in the sports history, could become the first driver to win their first three titles in succession and of course become the youngest ever three time world champion.

Everyone knows that Vettel is a fan of the history statistics and the pressure of taking a title, a once in a lifetime chance, will weight on his shoulders at some stage, but not this weekend.

From Free Practice 2 Vettel was the clear star of the weekend, he topped the second practice session, he topped the third practice session and qualified on the front row of the grid behind his Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber.

After locking out the front-row Vettel told the press at the media gathering: “Overall we can be very happy with the result. We were quite quick in the first and second qualifying sessions and had a good start to Q3. On the last run, I had to back off starting the lap as Massa was there, it wasn’t his fault, but I had to back off. Nevertheless, the second lap in Q3 wasn’t good enough. I lost time in the middle sector, which seemed to be okay all weekend, but when the circuit ramped I wasn’t able to go with it, so I lost a bit, but second is a good position so start from. There are long straights near the start, so it could be interesting tomorrow.”

Vettel was right about the long straights at the start, he used the first one to take the lead of the race at the first corner and then had to defend in a drag race against Webber going down the second straight.

If DRS had been enabled, Vettel would have lost the place, but in identical cars with no drag benefits, both drivers out of kers and drs disabled during the opening two laps, Vettel defended the lead and never looked back.

The German's biggest challenge was to look after the Pirelli tyres with his team very concerned during the final stages of the race, not that it appeared to bother Vettel.

“I think it was a perfect day for me and the team. It was important to get a good start. I was able to out-accelerate Mark and get side by side, I had the inside for Turn Three and a good exit, which meant I could stay ahead for Turn Four. I was in the lead, but we have seen before that it doesn’t always stick. My one mistake today was a lock-up going in to Turn Three, but with the tyres it was marginal for everyone. You couldn’t push so much and my front right didn’t look too happy from the inside many times. We were able to pull away in the first and second stint and hold it for the third. We will have to do our best to remain where we are now. We have to just keep it simple and do our job.”

Vettel now leads the championship for the first time since Monaco, holding a 6 point lead over Fernando Alonso.

With Kimi Raikkonen a further 42 points behind the 2012 Formula One World Championship is now between Vettel and Alonso with the winner becoming only the ninth driver to ever win three world championships.

Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday October 16 2012

Time: 1:00PM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

F1 introduces the Verstappen rule (Wednesday October 26 2016)

Red Bull family retains Kvyat (Tuesday October 25 2016)

Hamilton was in fear of engine issues (Monday October 24 2016)

Blog: US GP Report (Monday October 24 2016)

2016 United States GP - Race (Sunday October 23 2016)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 23 2016)

2016 United States GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 22 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP2 (Friday October 21 2016)

2016 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 21 2016)

Life will move on for Hamilton (Friday October 21 2016)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 20 2016)

Musical chairs continues in Austin (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for USA (Wednesday October 19 2016)

Who will win in the US of A? (Tuesday October 18 2016)

Hamilton having a mental meltdown? (Wednesday October 12 2016)

Has Rosberg wrapped up the 2016 title? (Tuesday October 11 2016)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Sunday October 9 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Race (Sunday October 9 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese GP - FP3 (Saturday October 8 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday October 7 2016)

2016 Japanese Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday October 7 2016)

Mercedes regroup following Malaysia (Thursday October 6 2016)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Wednesday October 5 2016)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 4 2016)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday October 3 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 2 2016)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 1 2016)

Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday October 1 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 the season of the swingers (Thursday September 29 2016)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1103
2. DJ 1084
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 571
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 195
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Mexico GP?
Rosberg 0%
Hamilton 60%
Ricciardo 0%
Verstappen 20%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 20%
Someone else 0%