Vital F1 | Ind GP - Race weekend recap - Webber
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Ind GP - Race weekend recap - Webber

In the modern day world of Formula One, where team orders are now legal, its clear to everyone the role that Mark Webber will take for the remainder of the season.

Felipe Massa has made a career of supporting his team-mate at Ferrari and Mark Webber finds himself in that position this season for Red Bull.

To maximise the points for Vettel, Webber needs to finish each race ahead of Ferrari's Fernando Alonso. If the Australian does that, then Vettel is most likely set to take his third straight drivers crown.

The first stage of that plan was qualifying and with Red Bull locking out the front row for the third successive race coupled by McLaren taking the second row, Fernando Alonso was lagging behind down in fifth place.

ďIt was great for us today. We put in a lot of effort to make sure we had a great car to get as high up the grid as possible. It was very, very close with Seb and I, both of us only really had one run in Q3, Seb made a mistake on his first lap and I couldnít get the tyre prep right for the second run, but thatís how it was. Tomorrow should be a good race, I think it will be tighter between all of us, but we should have enough. Itís a challenging track with quick chicanes and you need to be very accurate when entering the corners.Ē Webber told formula1.com on Saturday night.

He of course was right, the Red Bull car has looked dominant at recent races and Vettel powered away from the grid and without any problems he went on to take the race win.

For Webber though it wasn't quite as simple, a KERS problem meant that the Australian struggled during the race.

By the time the fault was obvious to all, Webber had already lost second place to Fernando Alonso who had got past the two McLaren's earlier in the race.

Towards the closing stages of the race it looked like Webber would lose the podium spot to Lewis Hamilton, but in the end Webber nursed his car home for third.

Webber said after the race: ďWe had a KERS issue that we had to manage. Itís maybe hard for people watching to know what it affects on the car, its power on the straight obviously, but also managing brake balances and those sort of things. The guys were trying to help me get the KERS to recover and were talking with me on the radio. In addition, when you have a one-stop race, itís always a chance you have a front-right lock up. As the fronts are very important you need to look after them which can affect the rhythm a little bit, but I tried to stay as cool as possible. Overall, I was pretty happy with how I drove; we should have finished further up the road, but itís the way it was today.Ē

The 40-point haul from India leaves Red Bull on top of the drivers championship and the constructors championship. With Red Bull now 91 points clear of Ferrari.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday October 30 2012

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Alonso not cleared to race in Bahrain (Thursday March 31 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday March 31 2016)

CVC contemplating selling stake in F1 (Wednesday March 30 2016)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday March 29 2016)

F1 to drop behind paywall in 2019 (Monday March 28 2016)

Force India rues red flag (Friday March 25 2016)

Ferrari play down strategy error (Thursday March 24 2016)

Haas enjoy amazing debut (Wednesday March 23 2016)

Hamilton pleased with damage limitation (Wednesday March 23 2016)

F1 drops new qualifying format (Tuesday March 22 2016)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Sunday March 20 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 20 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP2 (Friday March 18 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP1 (Friday March 18 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1035
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 472
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 180
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will reign in Spain?
Rosberg 2%
Hamilton 28%
Vettel 28%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 42%