Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli tyres a success

According to Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso, Pirelli have fulfilled the requirements asked of them, however the Ferrari driver isn't happy about it.

Following Bridgestone’s exit from the sport Pirelli became F1's tyre manufacturer for the 2011 season.

One of the main points for their development was to design tyres that would not last as long as the previous 2010 Bridgestone tyres, with extra pit stops being the thought behind the move.

For some, extra pit stops and making tyre strategy a more crucial part of an F1 Grand Prix will create extra excitement.

The new tyres have so far received a mixed response from drivers, which ultimately is a good sign as it shows the drivers are not in their comfort zone, which can lead to mistakes and once again, extra excitement for spectators.

'From what we have seen so far, degradation is very significant, which means we will have races with lots of pitstops,' Fernando Alonso said at a Santander event in Madrid on Monday according to Autosport Magazine.

Mission accomplished for Pirelli then, oh wait, Alonso isn’t happy: “I'm not keen on that because I think this increased uncertainty does not favour the strongest teams.”

So the sport could be more competitive then? Again, more excitement for spectators, now wouldn’t that be a shame.

Alonso continued: 'However, the situation is the same for everyone: it will be important to be fastest because I don't think we can make one stop less than our main rivals.'

Looking ahead to the new 2011 season which will start at the end of the month in Australia, Red Bull and Ferrari look to be the favourites following winter testing.

The two teams have consistently been at the top of the timing charts and both have completed a huge amount of mileage while testing their new cars.

'We will only really know where we stand compared to the others when we are in Melbourne, at the moment, I am happy because we proved to have a reliable car.

'If all goes to plan, we will be in the group of teams capable of fighting for the title, along with Red Bull the reigning champions, McLaren, Mercedes and also Renault, who had already made a step forward towards the end of last season. Even Toro Rosso has made significant progress.'
Alonso added.

While Toro Rosso have surprised many during winter testing, many suspect that once the season gets under way we will see Red Bull and Ferrari at the front of the grid.

McLaren will need to make big strides in the upcoming Barcelona test to catch the front two, otherwise the early season will see them competing with Mercedes and Renault just ahead of the mid-pack teams.

Torro Rosso and Williams could have the surprise packages in Australia, but it’s still far too early to suggest that they will be regularly competing for points in 2011.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday March 2 2011

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Ferrari remain committed to F1 (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Schumacher 'out of coma' (Monday June 16 2014)

Pirelli boss pleased with racing (Friday June 13 2014)

Chilton takes the penalty (Friday June 13 2014)

Hass all set to name engine supplier (Wednesday June 11 2014)

First win surreal for Ricciardo (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Williams & Force India go public (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 9 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1010
2. DJ 875
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 567
6. Druss_the_Legend 517
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Rosberg 14%
Hamilton 56%
Bottas 18%
Massa 12%
Ricciardo 0%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 0%