Vital F1 | Pirelli tyres a success
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli tyres a success

According to Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso, Pirelli have fulfilled the requirements asked of them, however the Ferrari driver isn't happy about it.

Following Bridgestone’s exit from the sport Pirelli became F1's tyre manufacturer for the 2011 season.

One of the main points for their development was to design tyres that would not last as long as the previous 2010 Bridgestone tyres, with extra pit stops being the thought behind the move.

For some, extra pit stops and making tyre strategy a more crucial part of an F1 Grand Prix will create extra excitement.

The new tyres have so far received a mixed response from drivers, which ultimately is a good sign as it shows the drivers are not in their comfort zone, which can lead to mistakes and once again, extra excitement for spectators.

'From what we have seen so far, degradation is very significant, which means we will have races with lots of pitstops,' Fernando Alonso said at a Santander event in Madrid on Monday according to Autosport Magazine.

Mission accomplished for Pirelli then, oh wait, Alonso isn’t happy: “I'm not keen on that because I think this increased uncertainty does not favour the strongest teams.”

So the sport could be more competitive then? Again, more excitement for spectators, now wouldn’t that be a shame.

Alonso continued: 'However, the situation is the same for everyone: it will be important to be fastest because I don't think we can make one stop less than our main rivals.'

Looking ahead to the new 2011 season which will start at the end of the month in Australia, Red Bull and Ferrari look to be the favourites following winter testing.

The two teams have consistently been at the top of the timing charts and both have completed a huge amount of mileage while testing their new cars.

'We will only really know where we stand compared to the others when we are in Melbourne, at the moment, I am happy because we proved to have a reliable car.

'If all goes to plan, we will be in the group of teams capable of fighting for the title, along with Red Bull the reigning champions, McLaren, Mercedes and also Renault, who had already made a step forward towards the end of last season. Even Toro Rosso has made significant progress.'
Alonso added.

While Toro Rosso have surprised many during winter testing, many suspect that once the season gets under way we will see Red Bull and Ferrari at the front of the grid.

McLaren will need to make big strides in the upcoming Barcelona test to catch the front two, otherwise the early season will see them competing with Mercedes and Renault just ahead of the mid-pack teams.

Torro Rosso and Williams could have the surprise packages in Australia, but it’s still far too early to suggest that they will be regularly competing for points in 2011.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday March 2 2011

Time: 10:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1096
2. DJ 1061
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 563
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Germany?
Hamilton 51%
Rosberg 25%
Raikkonen 6%
Vettel 6%
Ricciardo 6%
Verstappen 6%
Someone else 0%