Vital F1 | Will KERS & moveable wings have desired affect
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Will KERS & moveable wings have desired affect

F1 Boss Bernie Ecclestone remains unconvinced that the re-introduction of KERS and the introduction of driver enabled moveable rear wings will create more excitement in the 2011 season.

During the build up to the new Formula One World championship we have previously taken a look at the re-introduction of KERS (Kinetic Energy Recovery System) which hasn’t been used in F1 since 2009 (click here) and something that is new for 2011, due to a change in regulations which has legalised the use of driver enabled moveable rear wings (click here).

The changes have been brought in to boost the opportunities drivers have in a race to overtake.

The KERS device recovers the kinetic energy lost through heat when breaking, that energy is then turned into power, which can be used at the touch of a button to boost the car by around 80bhp over a period of just less than seven seconds. This can either be used in one big boost or in small doses around a lap.

When using the system correctly, lap times can be improved from around 0.1 to 0.4 seconds, or of course it could be used as a boost to either defend or attempt to gain track position during the race.

Due to the fact that the adjustable rear wing isn’t designed for different settings; it can merely be used as an overtaking aid. Push the button and it automatically increases the gap between the main plane and the flap of the rear wing from around 10mm to 50mm, with the purpose being to reduce drag down the straights, therefore again increasing the cars speed to hopefully create a successful overtaking move.

In theory at least, the devices sound like they could work to improve the spectacle of F1, however Formula 1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone is unconvinced that the regulations involved in running the adjustable rear wings will work and he told formula1.com: “It is very difficult to control it by the stewards because the window of usage is very small.”

What Bernie is referring to is the regulations behind the use of the driver-adjustable rear wing.

During Friday and Saturday practice and qualifying, the use of the device is unregulated, drivers are allowed to push the button to move the wing as often as they wish to maximise the speed and performance of the car.

During the race however there have been rules implemented so that the device is only used to ease overtaking.

The adjustable wing cannot be used during the opening two laps of the race and after that it can only be used at certain parts of the track and only then when the driver is less than one second behind the car in front.

This is regulated at the track and the button will only be in use once the driver has been informed it’s ok, via a light on the steering wheel.

If the driver is unable to use the wing when required due to an error, that driver could well then be at big disadvantage for the remainder of the race as another chance to overtake may not come again adding controversy to a race rather than excitement.

'The chances for protests are inevitably there.” Bernie continued, but that isn’t his only concern. ”To me this system looks pretty dangerous. What if the wings are not up again before the corner and the driver is lacking downforce? That could easily lead to incidents. We have to observe it carefully.'

So to conclude as well as introducing a Playstation style boost button which feels gimmicky, which may or may not actually work, it could also be a safety issue.

But how do the drivers feel?

Force India’s Adrian Sutil doesn’t appear to agree with Bernie as he told formula1.com: “I don’t see that [moveable rear wings proving controversial]. I believe that these wings will serve the purpose and that there is no more risk involved with it.”

But ultimately will we see more overtaking next season?

'At the moment I guess so. Although I don't believe the KERS will help because almost everybody has it. So it is only the rear wing and I'm not sure if the idea for the races of the one second gap to the car in front will really work.' Sauber's Kamui Kobayashi told Autosport Magazine.

So no real answers, those will have to wait until Australia at the end of the month.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday March 2 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

So if Bernie doesn't even like it, why do we have it??
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1140
2. Red5 1114
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 584
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 205
10. VanGisbergen2013 156

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 40%
Vettel 33%
Bottas 0%
Raikkonen 16%
Verstappen 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 0%