Vital F1 | Will KERS & moveable wings have desired affect
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Will KERS & moveable wings have desired affect

F1 Boss Bernie Ecclestone remains unconvinced that the re-introduction of KERS and the introduction of driver enabled moveable rear wings will create more excitement in the 2011 season.

During the build up to the new Formula One World championship we have previously taken a look at the re-introduction of KERS (Kinetic Energy Recovery System) which hasn’t been used in F1 since 2009 (click here) and something that is new for 2011, due to a change in regulations which has legalised the use of driver enabled moveable rear wings (click here).

The changes have been brought in to boost the opportunities drivers have in a race to overtake.

The KERS device recovers the kinetic energy lost through heat when breaking, that energy is then turned into power, which can be used at the touch of a button to boost the car by around 80bhp over a period of just less than seven seconds. This can either be used in one big boost or in small doses around a lap.

When using the system correctly, lap times can be improved from around 0.1 to 0.4 seconds, or of course it could be used as a boost to either defend or attempt to gain track position during the race.

Due to the fact that the adjustable rear wing isn’t designed for different settings; it can merely be used as an overtaking aid. Push the button and it automatically increases the gap between the main plane and the flap of the rear wing from around 10mm to 50mm, with the purpose being to reduce drag down the straights, therefore again increasing the cars speed to hopefully create a successful overtaking move.

In theory at least, the devices sound like they could work to improve the spectacle of F1, however Formula 1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone is unconvinced that the regulations involved in running the adjustable rear wings will work and he told formula1.com: “It is very difficult to control it by the stewards because the window of usage is very small.”

What Bernie is referring to is the regulations behind the use of the driver-adjustable rear wing.

During Friday and Saturday practice and qualifying, the use of the device is unregulated, drivers are allowed to push the button to move the wing as often as they wish to maximise the speed and performance of the car.

During the race however there have been rules implemented so that the device is only used to ease overtaking.

The adjustable wing cannot be used during the opening two laps of the race and after that it can only be used at certain parts of the track and only then when the driver is less than one second behind the car in front.

This is regulated at the track and the button will only be in use once the driver has been informed it’s ok, via a light on the steering wheel.

If the driver is unable to use the wing when required due to an error, that driver could well then be at big disadvantage for the remainder of the race as another chance to overtake may not come again adding controversy to a race rather than excitement.

'The chances for protests are inevitably there.” Bernie continued, but that isn’t his only concern. ”To me this system looks pretty dangerous. What if the wings are not up again before the corner and the driver is lacking downforce? That could easily lead to incidents. We have to observe it carefully.'

So to conclude as well as introducing a Playstation style boost button which feels gimmicky, which may or may not actually work, it could also be a safety issue.

But how do the drivers feel?

Force India’s Adrian Sutil doesn’t appear to agree with Bernie as he told formula1.com: “I don’t see that [moveable rear wings proving controversial]. I believe that these wings will serve the purpose and that there is no more risk involved with it.”

But ultimately will we see more overtaking next season?

'At the moment I guess so. Although I don't believe the KERS will help because almost everybody has it. So it is only the rear wing and I'm not sure if the idea for the races of the one second gap to the car in front will really work.' Sauber's Kamui Kobayashi told Autosport Magazine.

So no real answers, those will have to wait until Australia at the end of the month.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday March 2 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

So if Bernie doesn't even like it, why do we have it??
Push The Button
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1097
2. DJ 1064
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 564
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 189
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win at Spa?
Hamilton 39%
Rosberg 10%
Ricciardo 15%
Verstappen 36%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 0%