Vital F1 - Bra GP - Race weekend recap - Button
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Bra GP - Race weekend recap - Button

Jenson Button arrived in Brazil with the focus firmly set elsewhere.

Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso were fighting it out for the Formula One World Championship, with full support from the Red Bull and Ferrari teams, whilst at McLaren the focus was on Lewis Hamilton who was about to have his final race weekend with the McLaren team.

Button appeared happy in the shadows and after an FP1 and FP2 that had Hamilton topping the timing sheets, Button topped the final practice session on Saturday morning.

McLaren were on form that form continued into qualifying with Lewis Hamilton taking pole position and Jenson Button taking second.

If the team could pull off a one-two finish they could still leapfrog Ferrari in the Formula One constructors championship.

“It’s great for us to both be on the front row, especially as it’s Lewis’s last grand prix for the Vodafone McLaren Mercedes team. Our car is working very well. I was just half-a-tenth away from pole, and I reckon we both drove very good laps. So, yes, I’m happy with qualifying. From the front row, you always hope you’re going to drive a calm and orderly race - but it looks like it’s going to rain tomorrow, so that may make things rather less predictable. This race is important for us. Obviously, we’re out of contention for the world championships, but this weekend’s and last weekend’s performances are very encouraging for next year, which will become our focus immediately after tomorrow’s race.” Button told formula1.com after qualifying.

Considering how much action was happening up and down the field Jenson Button had a pretty uneventful race.

The first corner after the start saw a bit of a threat from the Ferrari of Felipe Massa, but Button held him off and settled into a solid second place behind team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

On lap 8 Jenson Button overtook Lewis Hamilton for the lead of the race, as the rain began to have its first affects on the afternoon.

Hamilton made his move to change tyres, but Button opted to stay out on track, but by lap 18, the Force India of Nico Hulkenburg, who had already climbed through the race order used his kers on the final corner and swung past Button with no resistance coming from the Brit.

On lap 23 the safety car came out for the next 6 laps to clear away all the debris for a frantic first third of the race. Amazingly Vettel had managed to recover from his first lap incident and was fifth on the re-start directly behind Fernando Alonso, with Lewis Hamilton third, Jenson Button second and Nico Hulkenburg leading.

With the pack tightened following the safety car Lewis Hamilton re-took Button on lap 31, pushing Button down into third place.

Hamilton went on to catch and pass Hulkenburg for the lead, but when an over excited Hulkenburg attempted to re-pass Hamilton for the lead he lost the back end a little and hit Hamilton.

The damage would end Lewis Hamilton's McLaren career prematurely, whilst a drive through penalty for Hulkenburg meant that Button inherited the lead of the race with 15 laps remaining and with no one else capable of competing with McLaren, Button drove the car to victory.

After the race Button said: “Everyone who took part in today’s race deserves respect - it was crazy out there! The conditions were always going to trigger plenty of action, because some cars could generate the required tyre temperatures and others couldn’t. So, for most of the race, you were on a tyre that didn’t feel quite right for the conditions, but for which the lap-times looked okay compared with those of the cars on the other tyre. I spent so much time speaking on the radio to my engineer, Dave [Robson], trying to understand what was going to work and what wasn’t. I had a lot of fun racing with Lewis, especially for the first 10 laps. We had a really good, clean fight. It’s a pity he wasn’t still there at the end - but it was nice to have such a great dice with him in our last race as Vodafone McLaren Mercedes team-mates. And I really want to say this: ‘It’s been so good working with you, Lewis. Over the past few years, we’ve driven a lot of great races together. It’s been fab. Going back to the subject of today’s race, the safety car made life more difficult for us - we lost the 40-second buffer we’d built up - but then the rain really came down, and the race became all about choosing the best time to switch to the Inters. Then the challenge altered, and it became all about nursing the car to the end. There was a lot of standing water about, especially where Paul (di Resta) had his accident. I’d been through there on the previous lap and had a big snap too, which was a pretty scary moment. Last but not least, congratulations to Sebastian (Vettel). To win three world championships in a row is a great achievement.”














Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday December 1 2012

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

McLaren drivers getting frustrated? (Friday August 28 2015)

Ferrari do not want fight with Pirelli (Thursday August 27 2015)

Hamilton delight at qualifying form (Wednesday August 26 2015)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 24 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP- Race (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - Qualifying (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP3 (Sunday August 23 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP2 (Friday August 21 2015)

2015 - Belgian GP - FP1 (Friday August 21 2015)

Raikkonen retains seat at Ferrari (Thursday August 20 2015)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 19 2015)

Who will win the Belgium Grand Prix? (Tuesday August 18 2015)

Stevens pleased with Manor season (Friday August 14 2015)

Toro Rosso takeover talks over (Thursday August 13 2015)

Toro Rosso should push on (Monday August 10 2015)

Money means nothing to Ricciardo (Friday August 7 2015)

Honda to spend tokens (Thursday August 6 2015)

Force India investigate failures (Wednesday August 5 2015)

McLaren oppose testing plans (Tuesday August 4 2015)

Double podium for Red Bull Racing (Thursday July 30 2015)

Vettel dedicates victory to Bianchi (Wednesday July 29 2015)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Monday July 27 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Race (Sunday July 26 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 Hungary GP - FP3 (Saturday July 25 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP2 (Friday July 24 2015)

2015 - Hungary GP - FP1 (Friday July 24 2015)

Drivers mourn at Bianchi's funeral (Wednesday July 22 2015)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 21 2015)

Chilton dedicates win to Bianchi (Monday July 20 2015)

Jules Bianchi dies aged 25 (Saturday July 18 2015)

McLaren trying to unlock potential (Thursday July 16 2015)

Red Bull lack patience (Wednesday July 15 2015)

Button's future up in the air (Friday July 10 2015)

Hamilton wants more control (Thursday July 9 2015)

Mercedes to power Red Bull Racing? (Wednesday July 8 2015)

Blog: British GP Report (Tuesday July 7 2015)

Records fall for Hamilton (Monday July 6 2015)

2015 - British GP - Race result (Sunday July 5 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1058
2. DJ 970
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 541
7. Push The Button 461
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 167
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Italian Grand Prix?
Hamilton 100%
Rosberg 0%
Raikkonen 0%
Vettel 0%
Massa 0%
Bottas 0%
Someone else 0%