Vital F1 - Mercedes not panicking over lack of speed
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes not panicking over lack of speed

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn and CEO Nick Fry are comfortable about the development of the new Mercedes GP car ahead of the 2011 season.

Both Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher were well off the pace of the Red Bull and Ferrari during both tests in Jerez and Barcelona last month, but the team expect the upgrades that will be added in time for the Australian Grand Prix should help to close the gap.

'We're about a second off where we want to be, which is at the front, so we've got to find a second in the upgrade which we think we can do,' Brawn said to the BBC.

'But you never know what others will do - we've set out our plan we'll know at Melbourne if it's right.'

Mercedes will hope to take a step forward in 2011 and better their fourth place finish in the 2010 F1 Constructors standings.

The main upgrade for the 2011 car will be based around the cars cooling package following reliability issues during the previous winter testing sessions.

To get around the issue, Mercedes were forced to compromise speed while they made short term alterations to negate the problem.

However with the upgrade package Mercedes will take a step closer to the car that they will start the season with.

'Performance, obviously from what we've seen on the track, at the moment is not as good as we would like,' CEO Nick Fry told reuters.

'the car did have some cooling issues and has been running with a very sub-optimal cooling package and aerodynamic package, and that is a significant amount of time.'

'We are not panicking, we have a plan, we're sticking to it and I think that we will be in a reasonable shape by the time we get to Australia.'

Mercedes will have a much clearer idea regarding the cars speed and performance once the upgrades are ran during the upcoming winter test in Barcelona.

The teams will again return to Spain for the final pre-season test, following the cancellation of the final testing session in Bahrain which had previously been scheduled.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday March 4 2011

Time: 10:06AM

Your Comments

1 second dont sound much but on a 48 lap race thats good half a lap.
col8
It will be interesting to see how accurate that 1 second is considering how impossible it is to tell the true speeds of the cars during winter testing.
red5
seems like they have sped up today in testing anyway!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 5 2015)

2015 - British GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP3 (Saturday July 4 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP2 (Friday July 3 2015)

2015 - British GP - FP1 (Friday July 3 2015)

Hamilton calls for better trophies (Thursday July 2 2015)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1055
2. DJ 962
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 540
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 165
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British GP?
Hamilton 51%
Rosberg 6%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 25%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 12%