Vital F1 | Mercedes not panicking over lack of speed
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes not panicking over lack of speed

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn and CEO Nick Fry are comfortable about the development of the new Mercedes GP car ahead of the 2011 season.

Both Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher were well off the pace of the Red Bull and Ferrari during both tests in Jerez and Barcelona last month, but the team expect the upgrades that will be added in time for the Australian Grand Prix should help to close the gap.

'We're about a second off where we want to be, which is at the front, so we've got to find a second in the upgrade which we think we can do,' Brawn said to the BBC.

'But you never know what others will do - we've set out our plan we'll know at Melbourne if it's right.'

Mercedes will hope to take a step forward in 2011 and better their fourth place finish in the 2010 F1 Constructors standings.

The main upgrade for the 2011 car will be based around the cars cooling package following reliability issues during the previous winter testing sessions.

To get around the issue, Mercedes were forced to compromise speed while they made short term alterations to negate the problem.

However with the upgrade package Mercedes will take a step closer to the car that they will start the season with.

'Performance, obviously from what we've seen on the track, at the moment is not as good as we would like,' CEO Nick Fry told reuters.

'the car did have some cooling issues and has been running with a very sub-optimal cooling package and aerodynamic package, and that is a significant amount of time.'

'We are not panicking, we have a plan, we're sticking to it and I think that we will be in a reasonable shape by the time we get to Australia.'

Mercedes will have a much clearer idea regarding the cars speed and performance once the upgrades are ran during the upcoming winter test in Barcelona.

The teams will again return to Spain for the final pre-season test, following the cancellation of the final testing session in Bahrain which had previously been scheduled.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday March 4 2011

Time: 10:06AM

Your Comments

1 second dont sound much but on a 48 lap race thats good half a lap.
col8
It will be interesting to see how accurate that 1 second is considering how impossible it is to tell the true speeds of the cars during winter testing.
red5
seems like they have sped up today in testing anyway!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Brawn becomes F1 director (Thursday February 2 2017)

Ecclestone still welcome (Wednesday February 1 2017)

F1 shake up (Tuesday January 31 2017)

Manor collapse (Monday January 30 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1111
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 20%
Hamilton 20%
Raikkonen 20%
Bottas 20%
Verstappen 0%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 20%