Vital F1 | Mercedes not panicking over lack of speed
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes not panicking over lack of speed

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn and CEO Nick Fry are comfortable about the development of the new Mercedes GP car ahead of the 2011 season.

Both Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher were well off the pace of the Red Bull and Ferrari during both tests in Jerez and Barcelona last month, but the team expect the upgrades that will be added in time for the Australian Grand Prix should help to close the gap.

'We're about a second off where we want to be, which is at the front, so we've got to find a second in the upgrade which we think we can do,' Brawn said to the BBC.

'But you never know what others will do - we've set out our plan we'll know at Melbourne if it's right.'

Mercedes will hope to take a step forward in 2011 and better their fourth place finish in the 2010 F1 Constructors standings.

The main upgrade for the 2011 car will be based around the cars cooling package following reliability issues during the previous winter testing sessions.

To get around the issue, Mercedes were forced to compromise speed while they made short term alterations to negate the problem.

However with the upgrade package Mercedes will take a step closer to the car that they will start the season with.

'Performance, obviously from what we've seen on the track, at the moment is not as good as we would like,' CEO Nick Fry told reuters.

'the car did have some cooling issues and has been running with a very sub-optimal cooling package and aerodynamic package, and that is a significant amount of time.'

'We are not panicking, we have a plan, we're sticking to it and I think that we will be in a reasonable shape by the time we get to Australia.'

Mercedes will have a much clearer idea regarding the cars speed and performance once the upgrades are ran during the upcoming winter test in Barcelona.

The teams will again return to Spain for the final pre-season test, following the cancellation of the final testing session in Bahrain which had previously been scheduled.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday March 4 2011

Time: 10:06AM

Your Comments

1 second dont sound much but on a 48 lap race thats good half a lap.
col8
It will be interesting to see how accurate that 1 second is considering how impossible it is to tell the true speeds of the cars during winter testing.
red5
seems like they have sped up today in testing anyway!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Alonso not cleared to race in Bahrain (Thursday March 31 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1039
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 181
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Verstappen 43%
Ricciardo 15%
Rosberg 12%
Hamilton 6%
Vettel 3%
Raikkonen 15%
Someone else 6%