Vital F1 | Degradation key again in 2013
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Degradation key again in 2013

Pirelli's plans to generate more problems for teams with tyre degradation in 2013 appears set to become a reality.

During the 2012 Formula One World Championship the Pirelli tyres became a big talking point.

During the first half of the season they appeared to have an unpredictable nature about them, they operated under a very small and difficult to find sweet spot. Find it and your weekend would prove to be a success, but if you didn't the weekend would be all about damage limitation and getting the best possible result without ever proving too competitive.

This was evident in the first seven races which was won by seven different drivers, the first time in the sports history that this had happened.

Cars would also suffer from high degradation, something that former seven-time Formula One World Champion Michael Schumacher was highly critical of as he believed it prevented drivers from driving the cars as fast and as aggressive as possible, which was his definition of driving.

But by the end of the season, there were no complaints, the teams didn't find the tyres unpredictable and one stop races proved to be the norm as teams didn't burn their way through sets upon sets of tyres. In fact the tyres went from one extreme to the other and failed to create any real form of tyre strategies for the teams.

The 2013 brief was to create more tyre strategies with high tyre wear, but still providing drivers with a tyre that could be raced hard and from the first winter tests in Jerez and Barcelona they may have achieved their target.

'There is a lot of degradation. It's massive for everybody, I don't know if it's because of the temperature and it being very cold. Hopefully so, because otherwise there are going to be a lot of pitstops in Melbourne.' Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg told Autosport Magazine.

He continued: 'We've seen the Pirellis are great for racing and for excitement, and that's the main priority - to make it exciting for the fans, We just have to handle it. It's important that it's good racing and we know that this sort of degradation profile creates the most exciting races.'

Former two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso was pretty damning in his report of the tyres as he tried to learn more about his new Ferrari.

It was the first time the Spaniard had experienced the tyres and the new 2013 car after leaving the first test in Jerez to team-mate Felipe Massa while he concentrated on his fitness: 'It's maybe not the best option to test in the winter when you have a tyre that does one lap, because we have so much stuff to test and so many new things that we need to have clear and good information on.

'And we only have only one lap to understand the car because then you are four to six seconds off the pace.'


McLaren driver Sergio Perez had similar concerns: "It's extreme. It's very, very difficult the degradation - it's a big surprise, Normally we see in winter testing a lot of degradation, but never this much. We are going to have sometimes cold races like here, so it's a bit of a worry, but we are still learning about the tyres and once we go racing I hope things can change with the tyres."

Reigning Three-time F1 World Champion Sebastian Vettel decided to reserve judgement on the tyres due to the colder conditions: 'We saw [Tuesday] the tyres were going off pretty quickly, they didn't last a few laps, But you have to be careful because it is too cold, as simple as that. We still want to understand the tyres but in these conditions it's tricky, everyone is suffering the same problems.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday February 23 2013

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 29%
Raikkonen 6%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 19%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 9%