Vital F1 | The idea would have Senna turning in his grave
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

The idea would have Senna turning in his grave

After one of the most exciting conclusions to a Formula One season in the sports history, the naive amongst you might have thought that there wouldn't be much of a need to create any hype going into the 2011 season.

With new tyres from Pirelli replacing Bridgestone, the introduction of a driver enabled moveable rear wing with the idea of helping overtaking and the re-introduction of KERS to add another new dimension, it would have been sensible to think that we had plenty of new discussion points to wet the appetite ahead of the lights going out at the start of the opening race of this seasons calendar.

The unfortunate cancellation of the Bahrain Grand Prix has also put F1 into the headlines much earlier than anticipated and for Formula One we all know that publicity, no matter how bad, is good publicity.

But all that has been put in the shadows by Bernie Ecclestone's plan to Make it rain! with glorified sprinklers around the track to generate 'fake rain'.

Even Pirelli back the idea of artificial wet races, in fact it was their motor sport director Paul Hembery who appears to come up with the idea of making the Wacky Races cartoon of the late 1960's into a reality.

Thankfully though in all the madness, there does appear to be some sensible heads still in the Formula One paddock.

'It wouldn't be the most sophisticated way to make the show more entertaining,' Red Bull driver Mark Webber told the BBC.

The Australian added: 'It can be more exciting when we have some different weather conditions, that does happen. But you just try and think of Jimmy Clark, and Jackie Stewart and [Ayrton] Senna and those guys, masters in the wet.

'Jackie's still here but the other two would be turning in their graves if they thought we'd have sprinklers and hoses lined up around the track.'


Mercedes GP CEO Nick Fry is also against the idea: 'Formula 1 is about contending with the conditions that prevail at the time, I think that fiddling with those conditions artificially is not the nature of Formula 1.'

With any luck Bernie isn't too serious about this plan and it was just a way of getting F1 back in the headlines following the delayed start to the season.

Unfortunately with Bernie though, you can never quite tell.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday March 4 2011

Time: 10:33AM

Your Comments

Part of me really likes the idea but then my brain kicks in and realises it's a fkin stupid plan. If results were changed from the introduction of a bit of rain can you imagine the conspiracy theories?
nakcuh
Conspiracy theories will be rife, Bernie recognises this problem with the new rear wing regulations, yet doesn't see an issue with artificially messing with track conditions??
red5
as before... just NO... no no no! In fact if they did that, I'd switch off.
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1095
2. DJ 1059
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 562
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Hamilton 49%
Rosberg 8%
Verstappen 27%
Ricciardo 4%
Vettel 6%
Raikkonen 3%
Someone else 3%