Vital F1 - Pirelli to keep a keen eye on Barcelona test
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli to keep a keen eye on Barcelona test

The Formula One teams return to Catalunya this week for the final winter test session ahead of the new F1 season.

For the teams it's a crucial time to test the final developments that they've been working on since the last test a couple of weeks ago, with the aim of hopefully nailing the perfect set-up for both performance and reliability for the season opener in Australia at the end of the month.

Ferrari and Red Bull will be hoping that their early pre-season test pace ahead of the chasing pack remains unchanged, while teams like McLaren, Mercedes and Renault will be hoping that they will close the gap which has been apparent in the tests thus far.

But it is also an interesting time for new Formula One tyre manufacturers Pirelli, who hope that this test will give a better indication to how their new tyre compounds will perform in the opening three races of the season.

Pirelli's hard and soft tyres have been selected for the opening rounds of the season and teams will be testing these tyres throughout the Barcelona test this week.

'Having announced our compounds for the start of the year, most of the teams will concentrate on testing the hard and soft PZero tyres,' Pirelli's motorsport boss Paul Hembery told Autosport Magazine ahead of the return to Catalunya.

'We're expecting them [the teams] to focus on long runs and race simulations, which should confirm the results we have previously extrapolated from our testing data: two or sometimes three pitstops at every race.'

While the drivers have so far had a mixed response to the new compounds, Pirelli's brief was to develop a tyre which would bring a bigger emphasis to tyre strategy, with more pit stops in a race.

If testing this week shows that to be the case, then Pirelli will have matched the brief given to them when replacing Bridgestone for the 2011 season.

'Our last test in Barcelona was held in temperatures of just six degrees in the mornings, which didn't help to rubber the track in or gather the information necessary to base strategies on over the course of the season,'

'We're hoping for warmer weather this week, although it's unlikely to be as warm as the temperatures we are expecting for the first race in Australia.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 7 2011

Time: 2:45PM

Your Comments

Pireelli tyres should be good, I'm excited about how the tyres will react in the opening race in Australia. I just hope that each time will need to make at least two pit stops which would make races a lot more interesting
__villa__
Completely agree Villa and the more the drivers complain, you know the more entertaining it will be as they are finding it difficult!
red5
Tom cruise wouldn't have lasted 2 laps with these tyres! Hopefully the racing won't slow too much to preserve tyres without pitting?
nakcuh
Must admit, I'd rather less pits and more overtaking!
The Fear
More pit stops is likely to lead to more overtaking as cars with new tyres will be faster than cars on old tyres. Different drivers will take different approaches which will lead to a lot more action...............hopefully.
red5
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Race (Sunday March 29 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 954
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Canadian GP?
Hamilton 52%
Rosberg 0%
Vettel 12%
Raikkonen 12%
Bottas 12%
Massa 0%
Someone else 12%