Vital F1 | 2013 Mal GP - Weekend recap - Webber
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

2013 Mal GP - Weekend recap - Webber

It wasn't the greatest of weekends for Australian driver Mark Webber.

A mistake in qualifying meant that instead of competing for a 12th career pole position the 36-year-old had to settle for fifth place on the grid.

Webber and the Red Bull team had timed it all wrong during the final session of qualifying and a slow out lap prevented him from having a second run at pole position.

It left him adrift of team-mate Sebastian Vettel on the grid and behind both Ferrari's of Massa and Alonso and the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton.

ďItís disappointing to finish fifth. We didnít get the timing quite right in the last part of Q3, I thought I had more laps. We were quick enough, but we went too slow on the lap when we should have been going quick and it meant we didnít get a last timed lap in. The time doesnít represent how comfortable I felt in the car today and itís frustrating when you put so much work in and know you could have done better. Iím looking forward to the race tomorrow Ė it should be interesting with the weather.Ē he told formula1.com.

The Australian was certainly half right, the race did prove to be very interesting, although the weather proved to be just a small factor in the race.

The race did get under way in damp to wet conditions, but a good start from Webber meant that any disadvantage he had from qualifying was soon forgotten. He slipped down the inside of the first turn to get passed both the Mercedes and as the corners snaked around the opening section of the lap, he managed to hold his line to also overtake the Ferrari of Felipe Massa to take third place behind Vettel and Alonso, inside the opening few corners of the lap.

Alonso had suffered damage to his front wing during those corners after he hit the back of Vettel and on the front straight, just after Webber had completed a pass to take second place, his front wing snapped off underneath him forcing him into the gravel and an early retirement from the race.

But whilst the opening laps were full of excitement it was the laps that followed the final rounds of pit-stops that left everyone talking.

Webber had completed his final pit-stop of the day and had come out alongside Vettel, the German did his best to get past his team-mate during the opening sequence of the lap, but he clearly couldn't get passed Webber who controlled the lap.

But just a couple of laps later Vettel made a desperation move down the front stretch forcing the two cars to touch as Vettel fought tooth-and-nail for the race victory, ignoring the team orders to finish the race first and second with Webber leading.

The move prompted some interviewers to question whether or not Vettel held any respect for his team-mate and Webber responded in a very diplomatic manner.

ďI think Sebastian has respect for me and I have respect for him, but the situation today was not handled well. Itís hard to put your finger on it all now after the race; when weíre racing on the limit and pushing as hard as we can, then itís the worst situation for a team. I am sure they are bricking themselves and know that things can go wrong. Thereís a bit of history to this as well; my mind in the last 15 laps was thinking about a lot of things, but I was happy with the way I drove. I tried to isolate what happened at the end and we got something out of it today, but of course Iím not satisfied with the result. This puts heat on a few people and unfortunately thereís no rewind button. I know people want raw emotion from us after these situations and itís there, but we need to remain cool. Thereís three weeks until the next race, so time for us to work on things.Ē








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 26 2013

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1155
2. Red5 1119
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 588
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 210
10. VanGisbergen2013 167

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British Grand Prix?
Bottas 3%
Vettel 35%
Ricciardo 0%
Hamilton 42%
Raikkonen 5%
Verstappen 15%
Someone else 0%