Vital F1 | GPDA discuss moveable wing regulations
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

GPDA discuss moveable wing regulations

The Grand Prix Drivers' Association (GPDA) met with F1 race director Charlie Whiting in Barcelona on Wednesday evening.

The two main areas for discussion was the high degradation issues of the new Pirelli tyres and the use of the new for 2011 driver-enabled moveable rear wing.

There had previously been fears that the use of the moveable wing and KERS would produce a safety issue with an immediate acceleration of speed from the car behind chasing a slower car, which could create a scenario similar to the one when Mark Webber's Red Bull caught and crashed into Heikki Kovalainen's Lotus, flipping the Australian. Thankfully following winter testing, those fears appear to be unfounded, however the drivers are seeking a tweak to the regulations as they are not entirely happy with how things are currently set-up.

'The difficulty is, if you have [the moveable wing] in the race and you don't have it in qualifying for example, then you will have different gear ratios and that will potentially destroy the effect of the wing in the race.' F1 World champion Sebastian Vettel told Autosport Magazine.

'On the other hand, if it is free to use whenever you want, where's the upside in practice and qualifying? Last year we had an F-duct that we could use whenever we wanted; this year we have the wing we can use whenever we want in practice and qualifying. The question is whether we can improve that and do something smart in order to be safer.'

To re-cap the moveable rear wing simply has an off switch and an on switch, it isnít designed to be adjustable to different settings, it merely increases the gap between the main plane and the flap of the rear wing from around 10mm to 50mm.

This has been designed with the idea to aid overtaking by significantly reducing drag down the straights, therefore increasing the cars speed.

However the issues in the regulations that Vettel refers too, come in practice and qualifying where itís a free for all and drivers are free to push the button as often as they please, however in the race itself it gets complicated.

It cannot be used during the opening two laps of the race and after that it can only be used at certain parts of the track and only then when the driver is less than one second behind the car in front.

The driver is told when they are able to use the wing by a little light flashes on the dashboard.

When that is on, the driver is free to use the adjustable rear wing and make an overtaking manoeuvre.

The problem with that scenario, is that a driver is likely to already be looking at the information on his steering wheel to use his KERS and change other settings and Lotus driver Jarno Trulli feels there are just too many distractions in the cockpit: 'The way we use the wing together with those guys who use KERS, this might be a concern in the way that the driver is sometimes a bit too busy watching lights, buttons and stuff like that rather than watching ahead. So several drivers expressed their view and we discussed about it Ė and it is now down to the teams to say we can trim this rule and have a better solution and do what we have.'

So what are the chances that the regulations could be altered ahead of the Australian Grand Prix? 'At the moment nothing has been said and nothing has been fixed. Charlie will think about it, the teams will go through it with Charlie and if they can improve it and they think it is not a perfect solution they will change it. Otherwise we stick like this.'

Hopefully any alterations to the rules and regs will not ease overtaking too dramatically, while we all want to watch good racing and we want the races to be more exciting, the fear with KERS and a moveable rear wing acting together as a 'Playstation style push to pass button' feels a little too gimmicky and artificial for many F1 purists.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday March 10 2011

Time: 2:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 the season of the swingers (Thursday September 29 2016)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1101
2. DJ 1075
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 568
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 193
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix?
Rosberg 27%
Hamilton 35%
Ricciardo 17%
Verstappen 5%
Vettel 11%
Raikkonen 5%
Someone else 0%