Vital F1 - Hispania unveils new car
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Hispania unveils new car

Hispania unveiled their new car in Barcelona on Friday, but due to parts not arriving in time, they will go into the new 2011 season without any winter testing for their new machine.

The new car has been designed by former Williams, Honda and Red Bull designer Geoff Willis, this is Hispania’s first attempt at designing a car as their 2010 car was designed and built by Dallara.

Tonio Liuzzi and Narain Karthikeyan at least have some experience of the new Pirelli tyres, as they have been testing with their 2010 car during winter testing, but the drivers will be disappointed to have not had any time in their new car, having been scheduled to drive their new machine in Barcelona during the final days of winter testing.

The problem was an issue at customs, team boss Colin Kolles told the press on Friday: 'Unfortunately we could not get the dampers out of customs. The result of this is that we can't run.”

Before those issues, Kolles had remained positive going into the new season. After all, it’s a success that the team even managed to get on the grid at all last season, let alone complete the season and come back for a following season with a brand new car.

'I think that our car is quicker than last year's car. Significantly. We have a Williams rear end, we have a Cosworth engine - this is a package you can get into the top 10 in qualifying, and finish sixth in the championship. There is nothing wrong there.” Kolles told Autosport Magazine.

'We have an improved aero package so everything looks more promising. We have drivers with much more experience so this should all be better. On paper it looks better, I think.'

With no winter testing with new car it is hard to see how Hispania can start the season well, during the course of the season they will be hoping to compete on the same level as the other newbie teams of Lotus and Virgin and if they are able to close the gap to them, then that will be a significant improvement from last season.

If any of the those three teams can close the gap on the more established teams on the grid, then that again will be a tremendous success for the newer teams and something all Formula One fans will be hoping for throughout the upcoming season.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 14 2011

Time: 10:00AM

Your Comments

I like the picture
__villa__
thought they'd made a bit of an arse of it at customs to be honest... (picture related!)
The Fear
Reached the bottom.
col8
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

McLaren to change livery in Spain (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 6 2015)

Who will reign in Spain? (Wednesday May 6 2015)

No retirement for Frank Williams (Wednesday April 29 2015)

Williams hopeful over upgrade (Monday April 27 2015)

Ferrari to take another step forward (Wednesday April 22 2015)

Ferrari to keep Kimi waiting (Tuesday April 21 2015)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 20 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 19 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 18 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 17 2015)

2015 - Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 17 2015)

Rosberg hits reset button (Thursday April 16 2015)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday April 16 2015)

Merc set for team-orders? (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Ferrari can win the title says Kimi (Wednesday April 15 2015)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 14 2015)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 12 2015)

2015 - China GP - Race (Sunday April 12 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 11 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP2 (Friday April 10 2015)

2015 - China GP - FP1 (Friday April 10 2015)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 8 2015)

Points will flow for Lotus? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Who will win in China? (Tuesday April 7 2015)

Manor Marussia on track to recovery (Thursday April 2 2015)

Audio: Post Malaysia (Wednesday April 1 2015)

All options open for Renault (Tuesday March 31 2015)

Blog: Malaysian GP Report (Monday March 30 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Race (Sunday March 29 2015)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP3 (Saturday March 28 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP2 (Friday March 27 2015)

2015 - Mal GP - FP1 (Friday March 27 2015)

Bottas to avoid surgery (Thursday March 26 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1052
2. DJ 954
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 581
6. Druss_the_Legend 537
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 161
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Monaco?
Hamilton 56%
Rosberg 13%
Vettel 4%
Raikkonen 18%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 9%