Vital F1 | Mercedes under fire following tyre test
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes under fire following tyre test

The Mercedes AMG Formula One test were accused of cheating during the build up to the Monaco Grand Prix.

The news that Mercedes and Pirelli had conducted a three-day test session at Barcelona following the Spanish Grand Prix began to circulate around the paddock on Saturday evening ahead of the race on Sunday.

Both Pirelli and Mercedes were quick to try and play down the test, with Pirelli stating that they had permission from the FIA to run a 1,000km test during the season.

'As per our FIA contract, we can ask teams to do 1,000 kilometres of tyre testing. It's something that's common in all FIA contract including the World Rally Championship,' Pirelli's Paul Hembery said.

The Italian tyre manufacturer went on to add that all teams were invited, with some teams declining while others accepted. Mercedes being one of the teams that accepted looked like the ideal choice for the test.

'We asked the teams if they were interested. Some said yes, some said no.' he clarified.

The German team has probably been the outfit that has struggled the most with Pirelli's 2013 tyre compounds. Both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg had shown the sheer pace the car holds during the one-lap of qualifying, but in the race, tyre degradation and delamination has seen the cars struggle to replicate that performance in the race.

So if Pirelli were hoping to fix this issue for this season and beyond then Mercedes were the ideal team to run with.

Mercedes throughout the build up declared that the test was run solely by Pirelli, they coded the tyres so that Mercedes had no idea what they were actually testing and they were not able to run any upgrade packages, although they did run the 2013 car.

Both Pirelli and Mercedes stated prior to the Grand Prix that they had clearance from the FIA to run the test and were bemused by reports that the test had been done in secret, considering they were setting up for the test in Barcelona whilst all the other teams were still at the track following the Spanish Grand Prix.

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn said: 'We did it at the request of Pirelli. There was a serious issue with the tyres which we've all experienced and that needed fixing as soon as possible.'

However the story took a twist following the Monte Carlo Grand Prix when the race stewards announced they would prepare a report for the FIA to consider regarding the official protests made by both Red Bull and Ferrari over the weekend.

'The stewards summoned representatives of the protesting teams, Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team and Pirelli.

'After hearing and collecting information the Stewards will write a report to the FIA who may bring the matter before the International Tribunal.'
The Monaco Race Stewards' said via a statement.

The interesting point came when the FIA released a statement which appeared to state that Pirelli and Mercedes had not been following the correct guidelines in regards to organising the testing session.

The FIA confirmed that they were aware that Pirelli and Mercedes had intended to run a tyre test using a 2013 car and that this would be legal under the terms of Pirelli's contract if every team was also offered the opportunity to do so.

But while Pirelli insist that they did approach all the teams, the FIA have stated that they received no further communication from either Pirelli or Mercedes after the initial correspondence at the beginning of the month.

'the FIA received no further information about a possible test from Pirelli or from Mercedes-AMG. Furthermore, the FIA received no confirmation that all teams had been given an opportunity to take part in this test.'

The matter now looks set for International Tribunal, especially as two teams have already made it public that they have never been approached by Pirelli to complete a tyre test.

The two teams are Lotus and Force India with Lotus Team Principal Eric Boullier and Force India's Deputy Team Principal Bob Fernley both confirming that no approach was made from Pirelli.












Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 28 2013

Time: 10:28AM

Your Comments

yet another storm in a tea cup!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Is Formula E a threat to Formula One? (Wednesday August 16 2017)

F1 to introduce standardised parts? (Monday August 14 2017)

Sainz fake news (Saturday August 12 2017)

Hungaroring set for revamp (Wednesday August 9 2017)

Drivers mixed on Halo introduction (Monday August 7 2017)

Sauber ditch Honda for Ferrari (Thursday August 3 2017)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Wednesday August 2 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Race (Sunday July 30 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 29 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP2 (Friday July 28 2017)

2017 Hungarian GP - FP1 (Friday July 28 2017)

Halo will debut in F1 in 2018 (Friday July 28 2017)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Thursday July 27 2017)

Cosworth to return to Formula One? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Who will win in Hungary (Monday July 24 2017)

Sympathy for Kvyat? (Thursday July 20 2017)

Vettel plays down Silverstone swing (Wednesday July 19 2017)

Hamiltonís takeover (Tuesday July 18 2017)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 17 2017)

2017 British GP - Race (Sunday July 16 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - Qualifying (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP3 (Sunday July 16 2017)

2017 British GP - FP2 (Friday July 14 2017)

2017 British GP - FP1 (Friday July 14 2017)

Who will win the British Grand Prix? (Thursday July 13 2017)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 12 2017)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Monday July 10 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Race (Sunday July 9 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP3 (Saturday July 8 2017)

2017 Austria GP - FP2 (Friday July 7 2017)

2017 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 7 2017)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday July 6 2017)

Hulkenberg sets sights on 2018 (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday July 3 2017)

The Force is not with India (Thursday June 29 2017)

Lauda and Wolff on Vettel (Wednesday June 28 2017)

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1160
2. Red5 1120
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 590
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 211
10. VanGisbergen2013 168

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Hamilton right to move over for Bottas?
No 9%
Yes - It was a team order 30%
Yes - But naive team order 61%