Vital F1 | Mercedes under fire following tyre test
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes under fire following tyre test

The Mercedes AMG Formula One test were accused of cheating during the build up to the Monaco Grand Prix.

The news that Mercedes and Pirelli had conducted a three-day test session at Barcelona following the Spanish Grand Prix began to circulate around the paddock on Saturday evening ahead of the race on Sunday.

Both Pirelli and Mercedes were quick to try and play down the test, with Pirelli stating that they had permission from the FIA to run a 1,000km test during the season.

'As per our FIA contract, we can ask teams to do 1,000 kilometres of tyre testing. It's something that's common in all FIA contract including the World Rally Championship,' Pirelli's Paul Hembery said.

The Italian tyre manufacturer went on to add that all teams were invited, with some teams declining while others accepted. Mercedes being one of the teams that accepted looked like the ideal choice for the test.

'We asked the teams if they were interested. Some said yes, some said no.' he clarified.

The German team has probably been the outfit that has struggled the most with Pirelli's 2013 tyre compounds. Both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg had shown the sheer pace the car holds during the one-lap of qualifying, but in the race, tyre degradation and delamination has seen the cars struggle to replicate that performance in the race.

So if Pirelli were hoping to fix this issue for this season and beyond then Mercedes were the ideal team to run with.

Mercedes throughout the build up declared that the test was run solely by Pirelli, they coded the tyres so that Mercedes had no idea what they were actually testing and they were not able to run any upgrade packages, although they did run the 2013 car.

Both Pirelli and Mercedes stated prior to the Grand Prix that they had clearance from the FIA to run the test and were bemused by reports that the test had been done in secret, considering they were setting up for the test in Barcelona whilst all the other teams were still at the track following the Spanish Grand Prix.

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn said: 'We did it at the request of Pirelli. There was a serious issue with the tyres which we've all experienced and that needed fixing as soon as possible.'

However the story took a twist following the Monte Carlo Grand Prix when the race stewards announced they would prepare a report for the FIA to consider regarding the official protests made by both Red Bull and Ferrari over the weekend.

'The stewards summoned representatives of the protesting teams, Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team and Pirelli.

'After hearing and collecting information the Stewards will write a report to the FIA who may bring the matter before the International Tribunal.'
The Monaco Race Stewards' said via a statement.

The interesting point came when the FIA released a statement which appeared to state that Pirelli and Mercedes had not been following the correct guidelines in regards to organising the testing session.

The FIA confirmed that they were aware that Pirelli and Mercedes had intended to run a tyre test using a 2013 car and that this would be legal under the terms of Pirelli's contract if every team was also offered the opportunity to do so.

But while Pirelli insist that they did approach all the teams, the FIA have stated that they received no further communication from either Pirelli or Mercedes after the initial correspondence at the beginning of the month.

'the FIA received no further information about a possible test from Pirelli or from Mercedes-AMG. Furthermore, the FIA received no confirmation that all teams had been given an opportunity to take part in this test.'

The matter now looks set for International Tribunal, especially as two teams have already made it public that they have never been approached by Pirelli to complete a tyre test.

The two teams are Lotus and Force India with Lotus Team Principal Eric Boullier and Force India's Deputy Team Principal Bob Fernley both confirming that no approach was made from Pirelli.












Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday May 28 2013

Time: 10:28AM

Your Comments

yet another storm in a tea cup!
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1133
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 583
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 203
10. VanGisbergen2013 153

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who are looking the best in 2017?
Mercedes 0%
Ferrari 0%
Red Bull Racing 0%
Someone else 0%