Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Good times for Lotus

Lotus head into their second season in Formula One aiming to improve on the performances which saw them come out on top of the battle of the newbies.

This season the aim is for the development to continue as they establish themselves on the F1 grid.

The 2011 car has performed well in winter testing and it would seem that itís not just Williams who enjoy a good rear end. Lotus too enjoys a nicely performing rear.

'If I have to compare to last year, it's day and night. It's a huge step forward, and everybody has been working really hard.

'Mike [Gascoyne] has been putting things together, and Tony [Fernandes] has managed to give us a really good rear end that will solve our troubles in terms of reliability and performance, everything. The team has to think and concentrate about getting it right on the suspension side, on the stiffness side, and on the aero side. I think they've done great things over the winter time, catching up with all the new rules, and with all the new bits.'
Jarno Trulli told Autosport Magazine.

The target for all the newbie teams is to close the gap towards the more established teams on the Formula One grid.

Last season Lotus may not have scored a point in their maiden season in F1, but they consistently outperformed the other new teams of Hispania and Virgin Racing.

This season with the developments the team has made Trulli is confident of not only remaining ahead of the newbie teams, but to also compete with the mid-pack teams: 'Looking at the lap times it's difficult to get a clear idea, but we can probably chase Force India and maybe Sauber. Obviously we are ahead of Virgin and HRT. This at the moment is the picture that we have.'

Lotus has also announced Davide Valsecchi, Luiz Razia and Ricardo Teixeira as their team of test and reserve drivers for the upcoming season, expect to see glimpses of the trio during Friday practice sessions, while Valsecchi and Razia will be driving for AirAsia in GP2.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 14 2011

Time: 12:00PM

Your Comments

I expect Lotus to be a lot faster this year even possibly picking up a few points. They will be facing competition from not only Hispania, Virgin but also a lot of pressure from Renault
__villa__
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Ferrari remain committed to F1 (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Schumacher 'out of coma' (Monday June 16 2014)

Pirelli boss pleased with racing (Friday June 13 2014)

Chilton takes the penalty (Friday June 13 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1010
2. DJ 875
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 567
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 146
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Rosberg 18%
Hamilton 55%
Bottas 16%
Massa 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 0%