Vital F1 | Guessing games to end
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Guessing games to end

The winter testing is now over and the countdown for the start of the Formula One season has begun.

In under two weeks time, the guessing game will have ended over which team will start the season best.

A lot of the teams have shone at different stages during testing, Williams and Renault have both looked to have developed their new cars nicely.

While Sauber and Mercedes late performances have shown that they too will have some pace going into the Australian Grand Prix.

McLaren have consistently struggled to play catch up after their late development of their new car, while Ferrari and Red Bull have looked solid.

From the analysis of winter testing it would appear that Ferrari and Red Bull will be heading for Australia as the favourites to compete for the first pole position of the season and on March 27th the first win of 2011.

'This year I am very happy with the winter, and I am as confident as I was last year. I am realistic, so I know that we are not alone. We are racing very close with Red Bull and with other teams, so it is up to us in Melbourne, Malaysia and China to do a better weekend than them. It will be decided by small details, as I think the performance of the cars at the moment are very close. There is not one that is completely ahead of everyone, so we need to make our best.' Ferrari's Fernando Alonso told Autosport Magazine following the end of the winter testing in Barcelona.

But the Spaniard would not be drawn on who he thought would be tasting the champagne as the winner in Melbourne: 'Favourites? I think it is still the top four teams McLaren, Mercedes, Red Bull Racing and Ferrari, and maybe this year Renault, and Williams also is having a good winter. So it is very open for Australia. Hopefully we can be there and we can be fighting for the podium, and for the victory. In three or four races there will be a much clearer picture and hopefully we will be there.' The former two-time F1 World champion added.

Red Bull Racing Team principal Christian Horner agreed that it was just too difficult to try and analyse who will have the fastest car once the lights go out for the seasons opening race in Australia.

During winter testing teams are making various different runs to analyse the performance of their car, they complete both short and long runs on a variety of different fuel loads to see how the car is likely to perform during different stages of a race.

Teams have also been testing the new Pirelli tyres, calculating the right set-up to maximise the performance of both the car and the tyres.

Because of that, teams struggle to paint an accurate picture of where each car is standing in performance in comparison to other teams.

'We genuinely don't know where we sit in comparison to the others, '

he fuel loads make such a huge difference that it is impossible to predict.'

'We hope to be competitive in Melbourne. I am sure Ferrari will look strong, and obviously teams will be bringing significant upgrades. It will only be in Q1 for Melbourne where the fuel comes out of the cars and we will see where we are.'


Want to be a guest writer on VitalF1.com?

Why not send in an article giving your predictions for how the new 2011 season will pan out?

It couldn't be simpler, just submit an article via this link and we'll publish your views.










Join Vital F1


It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 14 2011

Time: 2:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Booth returns to Formula One (Thursday April 28 2016)

Alonso believes he's still the best (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Hamilton can re-use China engine (Wednesday April 27 2016)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Tuesday April 26 2016)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 25 2016)

Red Bull's wings no longer clipped? (Thursday April 21 2016)

Hamilton is the benchmark says Rosberg (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Grosjean slams 'idiotic' Ericsson (Wednesday April 20 2016)

Ricciardo is all smiles (Tuesday April 19 2016)

Four take maximum points in China (Monday April 18 2016)

Embarrassed Vettel slams Kvyat (Monday April 18 2016)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Sunday April 17 2016)

2016 China GP - Race (Sunday April 17 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 16 2016)

2016 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 15 2016)

2016 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 15 2016)

Kick in the goonies for Hamilton (Thursday April 14 2016)

Good things can happen for Renault (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Has Hamilton lost his spark? (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 13 2016)

Tyre chaos in China? (Tuesday April 12 2016)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 11 2016)

Haas targeting points from every race (Wednesday April 6 2016)

Defending champ scores zero points (Tuesday April 5 2016)

Rosberg equals Sir Stirling Moss (Monday April 4 2016)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 4 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 3 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 2 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 1 2016)

2016 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 1 2016)

Alonso not cleared to race in Bahrain (Thursday March 31 2016)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Thursday March 31 2016)

CVC contemplating selling stake in F1 (Wednesday March 30 2016)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday March 29 2016)

F1 to drop behind paywall in 2019 (Monday March 28 2016)

Force India rues red flag (Friday March 25 2016)

Ferrari play down strategy error (Thursday March 24 2016)

Haas enjoy amazing debut (Wednesday March 23 2016)

Hamilton pleased with damage limitation (Wednesday March 23 2016)

F1 drops new qualifying format (Tuesday March 22 2016)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Sunday March 20 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 20 2016)

Blog: Melbourne Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 19 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP2 (Friday March 18 2016)

2016 Australia GP - FP1 (Friday March 18 2016)

Australian Grand Prix could be messy (Thursday March 17 2016)

Aston Martin enter F1 with Red Bull (Thursday March 17 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1087
2. DJ 1035
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 555
7. Push The Button 472
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 180
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will reign in Spain?
Rosberg 0%
Hamilton 40%
Vettel 20%
Raikkonen 0%
Someone else 40%