Vital F1 | Mercedes receive test ban
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes receive test ban

Following the Spanish Grand Prix, Mercedes and Pirelli participated in a tyre test.

Both Mercedes drivers Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton participated in the 1,000km test, wearing unidentifiable black helmets.

The news broke just prior to the Monaco Grand Prix and from the start it appeared to be a strange scandal that almost caught Mercedes by surprise.

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn had given the go-ahead for the test, which took place immediately after the Grand Prix in Barcelona. As far as he was concerned Pirelli had following the correct procedures in inviting all the Formula One teams to take part and preparations began before the other teams and staff had even left the Spanish circuit.

But as ever in regards to Formula One when the full politics come out into the open, some teams were not aware that the test had taken place and both Red Bull and Ferrari lodged appeals to the race stewards who subsequently passed the matter on to the FIA.

The FIA following a tribunal last week decided that said test breached the Formula One rules and opted to punish Mercedes by banning them from the young driver test next month at Silverstone.

The young driver test which runs for from 17th to the 19th July at Silverstone allows a young or rookie driver to complete a test, for example last season Mercedes completed 1,354 kilometres in their rookie test.

Now considering the FIA had given 'qualified approval' to the test, some would say that any form of punishment was harsh on the German manufacturer and the fact that the costs of the investigation and international tribunal procedure has been shared equally between Mercedes, Pirelli and the FIA could be an indicated that the FIA also agrees that it was partially to blame for the resulting mess.

But despite this and the mitigation that we'll cover in a moment, the FIA's guidelines did clearly state that Mercedes had gone against the sporting regulations by running a 2013 car during the test.

That aspect of the rules was simple and for this reason alone, the test was illegal as Mercedes received an unfair sporting advantage following an in-season test, something which is banned in Formula One.

However as mentioned above the tribunal was also quick to state a few mitigating points that there had been no intention by either Pirelli or Mercedes to gain 'any unfair sporting advantage' from the test and that both parties had not 'acted in bad faith'.

In regards to Mercedes, the tribunal also found that 'Mercedes had no reason to believe that approval had not been given' for the test.

Seemingly a break down in communication was what has caused Mercedes to come unstuck, they asked permission for the 1,000 km test from the FIA, who indicated that it was theoretically possible assuming that all teams were given the same opportunity.

Whilst Mercedes and Pirelli assumed that a previous request to the F1 teams asking for assistance in tyre testing was sufficient.

Following the announcement Mercedes released a statement:

'The Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team acknowledges and accepts the Decision of the FIA International Tribunal published today,

'The Decision of the International Tribunal confirmed that the team acted in good faith regarding the Pirelli Tests, never intended to obtain any unfair sporting advantage and had no reason to believe that approval for the Pirelli Tests had not been given.

'Mercedes accepts the proportionate penalties of a reprimand and suspension from the forthcoming Young Driver Test that have been decided upon by the Tribunal.


The statement ended by adding:

'In the best interests of the sport, the team does not intend to avail itself of any right to appeal the Decision.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday June 24 2013

Time: 4:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Abu Dhabi? (Monday November 20 2017)

Blog: Brazilian GP Report (Tuesday November 14 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Race (Monday November 13 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Qualifying (Sunday November 12 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - Qualifying (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP3 (Saturday November 11 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP2 (Friday November 10 2017)

2017 Brazil GP - FP1 (Friday November 10 2017)

Blog: Interlagos Preview (Thursday November 9 2017)

Massa announces second retirement (Wednesday November 8 2017)

Hamilton only has eyes for Formula One (Tuesday November 7 2017)

Who will win in Brazil? (Monday November 6 2017)

Hamilton stamping his name into history (Thursday November 2 2017)

Lauda confused by aggressive Vettel (Thursday November 2 2017)

Alonso set for Daytona (Tuesday October 31 2017)

Blog: Mexican GP Report (Monday October 30 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Race (Sunday October 29 2017)

LEWIS HAMILTON 4-TIME WORLD CHAMPION (Sunday October 29 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Qualifying (Sunday October 29 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP3 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP2 (Saturday October 28 2017)

2017 Mexico GP - FP1 (Saturday October 28 2017)

Ricciardo to join Mercedes? (Thursday October 26 2017)

Blog: Mexico City Preview (Thursday October 26 2017)

Shock as Verstappen signs new deal (Wednesday October 25 2017)

Alonso agrees new partnership deal (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Who will win the Mexico Grand Prix? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Blog: US GP Report (Tuesday October 24 2017)

2017 United States GP - Race (Monday October 23 2017)

Blog: Austin Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - Qualifying (Sunday October 22 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP3 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP2 (Saturday October 21 2017)

2017 United States GP - FP1 (Friday October 20 2017)

Who will win in the USA? (Thursday October 19 2017)

Blog: Austin Preview (Thursday October 19 2017)

Sauber to make huge step forward in 2018 (Wednesday October 18 2017)

Formula One wants race in Netherlands (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Toro Rosso name fourth driver of 2017 (Monday October 16 2017)

Palmer F1 career ends? (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Blog: Japanese GP Report (Monday October 9 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Race (Sunday October 8 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - Qualifying (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP3 (Saturday October 7 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP2 (Friday October 6 2017)

2017 Japan GP - FP1 (Friday October 6 2017)

Blog: Suzuka Preview (Thursday October 5 2017)

Who will win in Japan? (Tuesday October 3 2017)

More woe for Ferrari (Monday October 2 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Race (Sunday October 1 2017)

Blog: Sepang Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP3 (Saturday September 30 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 29 2017)

2017 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 29 2017)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Thursday September 28 2017)

New deals for Mercedes and Force India (Wednesday September 27 2017)

Leclerc lands F1 seat (Tuesday September 26 2017)

Who will win in Malaysia? (Monday September 25 2017)

A messy McLaren Honda divorce (Thursday September 21 2017)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Monday September 18 2017)

2017 Singapore GP Race (Sunday September 17 2017)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 16 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 15 2017)

2017 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 15 2017)

Red Bull duo looking forward to Singapore (Thursday September 14 2017)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 13 2017)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 11 2017)

Ferrari embarrassed by home soil defeat (Thursday September 7 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Race (Sunday September 3 2017)

Hamilton breaks all-time record (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP3 (Saturday September 2 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP2 (Friday September 1 2017)

2017 Italy GP - FP1 (Friday September 1 2017)

F1 Musical chairs starts and ends early (Friday September 1 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1184
2. Red5 1128
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 596
7. Push The Button 512
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 220
10. VanGisbergen2013 181

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Abu Dhabi?
Vettel 20%
Hamilton 50%
Verstappen 20%
Raikkonen 0%
Bottas 0%
Ricciardo 10%
Someone else 0%