Vital F1 | Mercedes receive test ban
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Mercedes receive test ban

Following the Spanish Grand Prix, Mercedes and Pirelli participated in a tyre test.

Both Mercedes drivers Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton participated in the 1,000km test, wearing unidentifiable black helmets.

The news broke just prior to the Monaco Grand Prix and from the start it appeared to be a strange scandal that almost caught Mercedes by surprise.

Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn had given the go-ahead for the test, which took place immediately after the Grand Prix in Barcelona. As far as he was concerned Pirelli had following the correct procedures in inviting all the Formula One teams to take part and preparations began before the other teams and staff had even left the Spanish circuit.

But as ever in regards to Formula One when the full politics come out into the open, some teams were not aware that the test had taken place and both Red Bull and Ferrari lodged appeals to the race stewards who subsequently passed the matter on to the FIA.

The FIA following a tribunal last week decided that said test breached the Formula One rules and opted to punish Mercedes by banning them from the young driver test next month at Silverstone.

The young driver test which runs for from 17th to the 19th July at Silverstone allows a young or rookie driver to complete a test, for example last season Mercedes completed 1,354 kilometres in their rookie test.

Now considering the FIA had given 'qualified approval' to the test, some would say that any form of punishment was harsh on the German manufacturer and the fact that the costs of the investigation and international tribunal procedure has been shared equally between Mercedes, Pirelli and the FIA could be an indicated that the FIA also agrees that it was partially to blame for the resulting mess.

But despite this and the mitigation that we'll cover in a moment, the FIA's guidelines did clearly state that Mercedes had gone against the sporting regulations by running a 2013 car during the test.

That aspect of the rules was simple and for this reason alone, the test was illegal as Mercedes received an unfair sporting advantage following an in-season test, something which is banned in Formula One.

However as mentioned above the tribunal was also quick to state a few mitigating points that there had been no intention by either Pirelli or Mercedes to gain 'any unfair sporting advantage' from the test and that both parties had not 'acted in bad faith'.

In regards to Mercedes, the tribunal also found that 'Mercedes had no reason to believe that approval had not been given' for the test.

Seemingly a break down in communication was what has caused Mercedes to come unstuck, they asked permission for the 1,000 km test from the FIA, who indicated that it was theoretically possible assuming that all teams were given the same opportunity.

Whilst Mercedes and Pirelli assumed that a previous request to the F1 teams asking for assistance in tyre testing was sufficient.

Following the announcement Mercedes released a statement:

'The Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team acknowledges and accepts the Decision of the FIA International Tribunal published today,

'The Decision of the International Tribunal confirmed that the team acted in good faith regarding the Pirelli Tests, never intended to obtain any unfair sporting advantage and had no reason to believe that approval for the Pirelli Tests had not been given.

'Mercedes accepts the proportionate penalties of a reprimand and suspension from the forthcoming Young Driver Test that have been decided upon by the Tribunal.


The statement ended by adding:

'In the best interests of the sport, the team does not intend to avail itself of any right to appeal the Decision.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday June 24 2013

Time: 4:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Brawn becomes F1 director (Thursday February 2 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 34%
Hamilton 30%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 15%
Ricciardo 0%
Someone else 11%