Vital F1 | Pirelli colour code new tyres
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli colour code new tyres

Italian tyre manufacturers Pirelli have announced that every new tyre compound will be colour coded for the 2011 season.

Pirelli replace Bridgestone for the new season and have worked to develop new types of tyres that are set to change the style of races in Formula One this season.

Despite regulations stating that two different types of compound had to be used by drivers last season, the Bridgestone tyre simply lasted too long, with no significant drop off in lap time, which led to many drivers sticking to long conservative stints on their tyres and completing a race with just one pit stop.

To combat this, Pirelli were tasked with designing tyres with higher degradation for 2011, forcing teams into pit strategies that could include two, three or even four pit stops during the race.

Using two different compounds of tyre will also remain in the regulations and Pirelli in a move to make a more pronounced difference between the prime and option tyres, will jump at least one step for each race, for example in the opening three races of the season the tyres on offer will be the hard and soft compounds, with Super soft and Medium unavailable.

At other races during the season Pirelli could name the Super soft and Medium as the prime and option tyres for a race weekend or could even take Super soft and Hard tyres, depending on the track.

For the benefit of the spectators at the track and the television audiences each compound will have it's own colour coding on the Pirelli and PZero logos which appear on the sidewalls of the tyre.

The six colours are as follows:

Wet - orange

Intermediate - light blue

Super soft - red

Soft - yellow

Medium - white

Hard - silver

'These will enable both live and television audiences to tell at a glance who is on what compounds, which will be vital knowledge as tyres are set to form a key part of race strategy this year.' Pirelli's motorsport director Paul Hembery said to the BBC.

Describing the benefits of each tyre compound he added: 'The wet tyre is used in case of heavy rain, while the intermediate is for a damp or drying track.

'The super-soft provides plenty of speed at the expense of durability, while the soft tyre lasts a bit longer but is still more biased towards performance.

'The medium tyre is a balanced compromise, while the hard tyre is the most durable of all.'


The new Pirelli tyres have been a big talking point throughout the winter testing amongst the teams and drivers.

Related Articles

Pirelli announce tyre compounds

So what's all the fuss with the tyres?

Pirelli tyres a success

Pirelli to keep a keen eye on Barcelona test

Regulation tweaks for safety car and pit rules

Pirelli predict three stop race

Tyre strategy will be exciting

Battle of the pit stops








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday March 20 2011

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 29 2016)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 28 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 26 2016)

2016 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 26 2016)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Thursday May 26 2016)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 23 2016)

Lauda slams Hamilton (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Seven score race wins in Spain (Tuesday May 17 2016)

Mercedes duo crash (Monday May 16 2016)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Sunday May 15 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 15 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 14 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP2 (Friday May 13 2016)

2016 Spanish GP - FP1 (Friday May 13 2016)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Renault have big plans for Spain (Wednesday May 11 2016)

Who will reign in Spain? (Monday May 9 2016)

Bottas content with Russia finish (Thursday May 5 2016)

What was Sebastian to do? Fly? (Wednesday May 4 2016)

Russian roulette (Monday May 2 2016)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 2 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Race (Sunday May 1 2016)

2016 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP2 (Saturday April 30 2016)

2016 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 29 2016)

Hamilton has one eye on retirement (Friday April 29 2016)

Horner praise for Renault (Thursday April 28 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1091
2. DJ 1050
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 584
6. Druss_the_Legend 559
7. Push The Button 477
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 184
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Are radio restrictions to tight?
Yes 67%
No 33%
No idea 0%