Vital F1 | Pirelli colour code new tyres
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Pirelli colour code new tyres

Italian tyre manufacturers Pirelli have announced that every new tyre compound will be colour coded for the 2011 season.

Pirelli replace Bridgestone for the new season and have worked to develop new types of tyres that are set to change the style of races in Formula One this season.

Despite regulations stating that two different types of compound had to be used by drivers last season, the Bridgestone tyre simply lasted too long, with no significant drop off in lap time, which led to many drivers sticking to long conservative stints on their tyres and completing a race with just one pit stop.

To combat this, Pirelli were tasked with designing tyres with higher degradation for 2011, forcing teams into pit strategies that could include two, three or even four pit stops during the race.

Using two different compounds of tyre will also remain in the regulations and Pirelli in a move to make a more pronounced difference between the prime and option tyres, will jump at least one step for each race, for example in the opening three races of the season the tyres on offer will be the hard and soft compounds, with Super soft and Medium unavailable.

At other races during the season Pirelli could name the Super soft and Medium as the prime and option tyres for a race weekend or could even take Super soft and Hard tyres, depending on the track.

For the benefit of the spectators at the track and the television audiences each compound will have it's own colour coding on the Pirelli and PZero logos which appear on the sidewalls of the tyre.

The six colours are as follows:

Wet - orange

Intermediate - light blue

Super soft - red

Soft - yellow

Medium - white

Hard - silver

'These will enable both live and television audiences to tell at a glance who is on what compounds, which will be vital knowledge as tyres are set to form a key part of race strategy this year.' Pirelli's motorsport director Paul Hembery said to the BBC.

Describing the benefits of each tyre compound he added: 'The wet tyre is used in case of heavy rain, while the intermediate is for a damp or drying track.

'The super-soft provides plenty of speed at the expense of durability, while the soft tyre lasts a bit longer but is still more biased towards performance.

'The medium tyre is a balanced compromise, while the hard tyre is the most durable of all.'


The new Pirelli tyres have been a big talking point throughout the winter testing amongst the teams and drivers.

Related Articles

Pirelli announce tyre compounds

So what's all the fuss with the tyres?

Pirelli tyres a success

Pirelli to keep a keen eye on Barcelona test

Regulation tweaks for safety car and pit rules

Pirelli predict three stop race

Tyre strategy will be exciting

Battle of the pit stops








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday March 20 2011

Time: 11:00AM

Your Comments

Why is the tv giving different color then listed here ,eg.orange hard ,,,this makes it confusing
Jo Johnson
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2016 Malaysia GP - FP2 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 Malaysia GP - FP1 (Friday September 30 2016)

2016 the season of the swingers (Thursday September 29 2016)

Blog: Sepang Preview (Wednesday September 28 2016)

Ferrari fighting for best of the rest (Tuesday September 27 2016)

Horner hoping for another shot at Mercedes (Thursday September 22 2016)

F1 is boring says Alonso (Wednesday September 21 2016)

Singapore Swing? (Tuesday September 20 2016)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix? (Monday September 19 2016)

Blog: Singapore GP Report (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Race (Sunday September 18 2016)

Blog: Singapore Qualifying (Sunday September 18 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP3 (Saturday September 17 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP2 (Friday September 16 2016)

2016 Singapore GP - FP1 (Friday September 16 2016)

New upgrades for Haas and McLaren (Thursday September 15 2016)

Blog: Singapore Preview (Wednesday September 14 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Singapore (Tuesday September 13 2016)

Who will win in Singapore? (Monday September 12 2016)

Perez to stay with Force India (Friday September 9 2016)

Button to sit out 2017 Formula One season (Thursday September 8 2016)

Formula One sold (Thursday September 8 2016)

Is Kvyat about to lose his drive to Gasly? (Wednesday September 7 2016)

Massa announces retirement (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Blog: Italian GP Report (Tuesday September 6 2016)

Monza Saved (Monday September 5 2016)

Rosberg narrows championship deficit (Monday September 5 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Race (Sunday September 4 2016)

Blog: Monza Qualifying (Sunday September 4 2016)

2016 Italian GP - Qualifying (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP3 (Saturday September 3 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP2 (Friday September 2 2016)

2016 Italian GP - FP1 (Friday September 2 2016)

Blog: Monza Preview (Thursday September 1 2016)

Magnussen set for FIA fitness test (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Drivers make tyre selections for Italy (Wednesday August 31 2016)

Who will win in Italy? (Tuesday August 30 2016)

Blog: Belgian GP Report (Monday August 29 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday August 28 2016)

Blog: Spa Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday August 27 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday August 26 2016)

2016 Belgian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday August 26 2016)

Will Renault take up Magnussen option? (Thursday August 25 2016)

Hamilton set for huge grid penalty (Thursday August 25 2016)

Blog: Spa Preview (Wednesday August 24 2016)

Who will win at Spa? (Monday August 22 2016)

Formula One is a team sport (Friday August 19 2016)

Haas close to confirming new line-up (Wednesday August 17 2016)

All eyes on Ocon (Tuesday August 16 2016)

Toro Rosso expect team-mate rivalry (Friday August 12 2016)

Just let them drive! Says Wolff (Tuesday August 9 2016)

Rosberg will bounce back (Monday August 8 2016)

F1 penalties too inconsistent (Monday August 8 2016)

Ferrari form is painful (Friday August 5 2016)

Alonso unhappy (Friday August 5 2016)

Kvyat a broken man (Thursday August 4 2016)

Pirelli test new wide tyres (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Verstappen earning trust at Red Bull (Wednesday August 3 2016)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday August 2 2016)

New leader after Germany drama (Monday August 1 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 31 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - Qualifying (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 30 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 29 2016)

2016 German Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 29 2016)

Championship will be lost by DNFs (Thursday July 28 2016)

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1101
2. DJ 1075
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 568
7. Push The Button 490
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 193
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the Malaysian Grand Prix?
Rosberg 27%
Hamilton 35%
Ricciardo 17%
Verstappen 5%
Vettel 11%
Raikkonen 5%
Someone else 0%