Vital F1 | Red Bull or Alonso for the title?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Red Bull or Alonso for the title?

Despite his position as Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone has never shied away from speaking his mind.

On occasions he discusses his daft ideas of fake rain or awarding Gold, Silver and Bronze medals to the racers (got your name down for the Olympic ballot by any chance Bernie?).

On other occasions he discusses who his favourite driver currently is, who he thinks will win the race while walking around on the grid speaking to Martin Brundle and sometimes he predicts who will go on to win the title and this year is no exception.

Bernie has his view and he appears to have come to the same conclusion as every one else!

'Looking at it now you would have to say one of the Red Bull guys will be champion or Alonso but as I said, it won't be easy,' Formula 1 chief Bernie Ecclestone told the BBC.

The winter test sessions seem to suggest that Red Bull and Ferrari will be the early season favourites, but his comments seem to completely discount Fernando Alonso's Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa, who if it wasn't for the dramatics of the last corner at the Brazilian Grand Prix in 2008, would have been a former World champion.

Massa was in the form of his life that year, proving he was a good racer and race winner.

But since that time he has suffered his frightening injury and has had to move aside to play second fiddle to Alonso and perhaps Bernie is expecting to hear a lot more radio communications of 'Fernando is faster than you between the Brazilian and race engineer Rob Smedley this season?

Despite the poor showing by McLaren in winter testing, Bernie wouldn't completely rule out a title run from either Lewis Hamilton or Jenson Button, but did doubt their challenge following their lack of pace and reliability during the test sessions in Barcelona.

'You've got three guys there (Vettel, Webber, Alonso) who could maybe do it. You never know about our English drivers but there's a big question mark over them.'

Do you agree with Bernie? Discuss your predictions for the new season on our VitalF1.com forum.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 22 2011

Time: 2:00PM

Your Comments

Was speaking to a friend yesterday who is very close to thé F1 setup who is of thé oppinion that Schumacher will win the title. I was suprised but hé pointed out that hé didnt come out of retirment for the money, hé doesnt need it, but to win. Hmmmm food for thought. Also Ferrari are at thé heart of F1 sucess
villainInthemerde
Interesting, I would much prefer Schumacher to win the title then Vettel. Although Mercedes don't look like the fastest car to me
__villa__
interesting villaininthemerde... can't see Mercedes being up to speed yet but then again, he's a racer and a scraper for sure. Still fancy Red Bull to dominate.
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Hockenheim Preview (Tuesday July 26 2016)

Who will win in Germany? (Monday July 25 2016)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Sunday July 24 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - Race (Sunday July 24 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Qualifying (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 23 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 22 2016)

2016 Hungarian Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 22 2016)

FIA clarify radio communications (Friday July 22 2016)

Peter Sauber retires as team is sold (Thursday July 21 2016)

Blog: Hungaroring Preview (Tuesday July 19 2016)

Who will win in Hungary? (Monday July 18 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Wednesday July 13 2016)

Ferrari keeping an eye on Hamilton (Tuesday July 12 2016)

Blog: British GP Report (Monday July 11 2016)

Hamilton Mania (Monday July 11 2016)

2016 British GP - Race (Sunday July 10 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday July 9 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday July 8 2016)

2016 British Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday July 8 2016)

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Thursday July 7 2016)

Reckless Rosberg (Monday July 4 2016)

Who will win in Britain? (Monday July 4 2016)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday July 3 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday July 3 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday July 2 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday July 1 2016)

2016 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday July 1 2016)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Thursday June 30 2016)

Who will win in Austria? (Monday June 27 2016)

F1 musical chairs begins (Thursday June 23 2016)

Blog: European GP Report (Monday June 20 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - Race (Sunday June 19 2016)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP3 (Saturday June 18 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP2 (Friday June 17 2016)

2016 European Grand Prix - FP1 (Friday June 17 2016)

Pirelli reveal Baku tyre choices (Wednesday June 15 2016)

Rosberg was p***** off (Tuesday June 14 2016)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 13 2016)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 13 2016)

2016 - Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 12 2016)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - Qualifying (Sunday June 12 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP2 (Saturday June 11 2016)

2016 Canada GP - FP1 (Saturday June 11 2016)

Ericsson & Nasr at breaking point? (Thursday June 9 2016)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Red Bull & Renault agree new deal! (Wednesday June 8 2016)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 6 2016)

More criticism for Kvyat (Thursday June 2 2016)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Sunday May 29 2016)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1096
2. DJ 1061
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 585
6. Druss_the_Legend 563
7. Push The Button 483
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 188
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Germany?
Hamilton 51%
Rosberg 25%
Raikkonen 6%
Vettel 6%
Ricciardo 6%
Verstappen 6%
Someone else 0%