Vital F1 - Red Bull or Alonso for the title?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Red Bull or Alonso for the title?

Despite his position as Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone has never shied away from speaking his mind.

On occasions he discusses his daft ideas of fake rain or awarding Gold, Silver and Bronze medals to the racers (got your name down for the Olympic ballot by any chance Bernie?).

On other occasions he discusses who his favourite driver currently is, who he thinks will win the race while walking around on the grid speaking to Martin Brundle and sometimes he predicts who will go on to win the title and this year is no exception.

Bernie has his view and he appears to have come to the same conclusion as every one else!

'Looking at it now you would have to say one of the Red Bull guys will be champion or Alonso but as I said, it won't be easy,' Formula 1 chief Bernie Ecclestone told the BBC.

The winter test sessions seem to suggest that Red Bull and Ferrari will be the early season favourites, but his comments seem to completely discount Fernando Alonso's Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa, who if it wasn't for the dramatics of the last corner at the Brazilian Grand Prix in 2008, would have been a former World champion.

Massa was in the form of his life that year, proving he was a good racer and race winner.

But since that time he has suffered his frightening injury and has had to move aside to play second fiddle to Alonso and perhaps Bernie is expecting to hear a lot more radio communications of 'Fernando is faster than you between the Brazilian and race engineer Rob Smedley this season?

Despite the poor showing by McLaren in winter testing, Bernie wouldn't completely rule out a title run from either Lewis Hamilton or Jenson Button, but did doubt their challenge following their lack of pace and reliability during the test sessions in Barcelona.

'You've got three guys there (Vettel, Webber, Alonso) who could maybe do it. You never know about our English drivers but there's a big question mark over them.'

Do you agree with Bernie? Discuss your predictions for the new season on our VitalF1.com forum.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 22 2011

Time: 2:00PM

Your Comments

Was speaking to a friend yesterday who is very close to thé F1 setup who is of thé oppinion that Schumacher will win the title. I was suprised but hé pointed out that hé didnt come out of retirment for the money, hé doesnt need it, but to win. Hmmmm food for thought. Also Ferrari are at thé heart of F1 sucess
villainInthemerde
Interesting, I would much prefer Schumacher to win the title then Vettel. Although Mercedes don't look like the fastest car to me
__villa__
interesting villaininthemerde... can't see Mercedes being up to speed yet but then again, he's a racer and a scraper for sure. Still fancy Red Bull to dominate.
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1055
2. DJ 961
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 539
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 163
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British GP?
Hamilton 56%
Rosberg 7%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 30%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 7%