Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Red Bull or Alonso for the title?

Despite his position as Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone has never shied away from speaking his mind.

On occasions he discusses his daft ideas of fake rain or awarding Gold, Silver and Bronze medals to the racers (got your name down for the Olympic ballot by any chance Bernie?).

On other occasions he discusses who his favourite driver currently is, who he thinks will win the race while walking around on the grid speaking to Martin Brundle and sometimes he predicts who will go on to win the title and this year is no exception.

Bernie has his view and he appears to have come to the same conclusion as every one else!

'Looking at it now you would have to say one of the Red Bull guys will be champion or Alonso but as I said, it won't be easy,' Formula 1 chief Bernie Ecclestone told the BBC.

The winter test sessions seem to suggest that Red Bull and Ferrari will be the early season favourites, but his comments seem to completely discount Fernando Alonso's Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa, who if it wasn't for the dramatics of the last corner at the Brazilian Grand Prix in 2008, would have been a former World champion.

Massa was in the form of his life that year, proving he was a good racer and race winner.

But since that time he has suffered his frightening injury and has had to move aside to play second fiddle to Alonso and perhaps Bernie is expecting to hear a lot more radio communications of 'Fernando is faster than you between the Brazilian and race engineer Rob Smedley this season?

Despite the poor showing by McLaren in winter testing, Bernie wouldn't completely rule out a title run from either Lewis Hamilton or Jenson Button, but did doubt their challenge following their lack of pace and reliability during the test sessions in Barcelona.

'You've got three guys there (Vettel, Webber, Alonso) who could maybe do it. You never know about our English drivers but there's a big question mark over them.'

Do you agree with Bernie? Discuss your predictions for the new season on our VitalF1.com forum.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday March 22 2011

Time: 2:00PM

Your Comments

Was speaking to a friend yesterday who is very close to thé F1 setup who is of thé oppinion that Schumacher will win the title. I was suprised but hé pointed out that hé didnt come out of retirment for the money, hé doesnt need it, but to win. Hmmmm food for thought. Also Ferrari are at thé heart of F1 sucess
villainInthemerde
Interesting, I would much prefer Schumacher to win the title then Vettel. Although Mercedes don't look like the fastest car to me
__villa__
interesting villaininthemerde... can't see Mercedes being up to speed yet but then again, he's a racer and a scraper for sure. Still fancy Red Bull to dominate.
The Fear
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

F1 strategy meeting to be held (Wednesday June 18 2014)

Austria could suit Lotus (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Red Bull are not a one man team (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Ferrari remain committed to F1 (Tuesday June 17 2014)

Schumacher 'out of coma' (Monday June 16 2014)

Pirelli boss pleased with racing (Friday June 13 2014)

Chilton takes the penalty (Friday June 13 2014)

Hass all set to name engine supplier (Wednesday June 11 2014)

First win surreal for Ricciardo (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Williams & Force India go public (Tuesday June 10 2014)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 9 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1010
2. DJ 875
3. The Fear 769
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 567
6. Druss_the_Legend 517
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. __villa__ 145
10. The Intimidator 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Hungary?
Rosberg 20%
Hamilton 52%
Bottas 17%
Massa 11%
Ricciardo 0%
Vettel 0%
Someone else 0%