Vital F1 | Di Resta wants Force India decision
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Di Resta wants Force India decision

The driver market in Formula One has probably never been so undecided.

Red Bull Racing, Ferrari, Mercedes and Toro Rosso are the only teams in the Formula One paddock to have committed to their driver line-up for 2014 thus far.

It is thought that McLaren are now edging closer to announcing a deal, while the all important seat at Lotus will start off the domino effect once that deal has been concluded.

That decision at Lotus, not only effects their team for next season, but also effects, Williams, Force India and Sauber.

German driver Nico Hulkenberg, after narrowly missing out on the drive at Ferrari, has been offered contracts by both Lotus and Force India.

The details of the offer from Lotus are not known, but it would appear to be his favoured choice, but it all depends on whether or not the investment in Lotus by Quantum Motorsports is successfully concluded.

If that deal isn't done, then Lotus are likely to plump for Pastor Maldonado thanks to his reported 30million-a-year sponsorship from Venezuelan state oil company PDVSA.

If that happens that would leave Felipe Massa to make the move to Williams, while Hulkenberg would leave Sauber for Force India.

That could leave Paul Di Resta out in the cold, as Hulkenberg would take his drive as it is thought that Adrian Sutil's future is safe.

'I've always said I would like to stay with the team - I would like to stay in F1 more importantly - but if they give me the tools I can deliver,' Di Resta told Sky Sports after he finished sixth in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

He continued: 'I will be expecting a decision very soon from the senior management, but I will keep focusing on the races and let the management team do the business in the background.'

The points haul for Force India over the weekend could prove crucial in the Formula One constructors championship.

Force India's had suffered drop in results which had seen McLaren overtake them for fifth and left them looking over their shoulder towards Sauber.

With the team taking just three points from Germany, Hungary, Belgium, Italy, Singapore and Korea, Sauber closed the gap to just 17 points ahead of the Indian Grand Prix.

But with an eighth and ninth place finish in India and a sixth and tenth place finish in Abu Dhabi, with Sauber failing to score at both races, that battle looks a lot more comfortable for Force India.

'Defending our position against Sauber in the Constructors' Championship was the main aim, but we went into the race with a car that was much better than it was in qualy - we did a very good job yesterday - but from the strategy guys to the engineer we put everything in place for a good race,'

'I managed the tyres when I had to, delivered when I had to, but I think more importantly staying ahead of a Mercedes and fighting a Ferrari - what more could you ask for? We finished off the job we should have done in Singapore on tyre wear and hopefully we can take this momentum to Texas.'








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday November 4 2013

Time: 1:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1149
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 161

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Vettel's penalty
Harsh 16%
Fair 0%
Lenient 84%