Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Vettel dominates to take pole

Ferrari may have threatened to take the battle to Red Bull during winter testing and a late surge from McLaren in Friday's practice sessions may have suggested a mass scramble for pole, but F1 World champion Sebastian Vettel dominated on Saturday.

The signs were there from the third practice session in the early hours of Saturday morning when Red Bull's Mark Webber and McLaren's pairing of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button were all evenly matched, with just 0.203 seconds separating the three drivers.

But then the 2010 F1 World champion stepped up to record a time of 1minute 24.507 seconds to go 0.857 seconds faster than any one else and he took that form into qualifying going on to set a time of 1minute 23.529 seconds to secure pole ahead of McLaren's Lewis Hamilton who joins him on the front row (+0.778), team-mate Mark Webber lines up third (+0.866) alongside McLaren's Jenson Button in fourth (+1.250).

Ferrari slipped away from contention with Fernando Alonso only good enough for fifth with Felipe Massa eighth.

Other surprises were Mercedes, who had hoped to have closed the gap to the front runners and be in competition with McLaren following their final winter testing session in Barcelona.

But neither Michael Schumacher or Nico Rosberg got to grips with the car in qualifying, Rosberg once again going on to out perform the former seven-time World champion to qualify seventh, Schumacher failed to make the pole position shootout finishing eleventh.

It was as you were at the back end of the grid with Lotus, Virgin and Hispania all dropping out in the first qualifying session.

They were joined by Nick Heidfeld's Renault who would have been hugely disappointed to qualify eighteenth.

Hispania's Tonio Liuzzi and Narain Karthikeyan will have to beg and plead their way onto the grid tomorrow as neither driver could qualify within the 107% rule which has been re-introduced for 2011.










Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday March 26 2011

Time: 8:00AM

Your Comments

Well done Seb!
kates dirty sister
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Newey critical of 'GP1' era (Friday August 1 2014)

McLaren made catastrophic error (Friday August 1 2014)

Ericsson and Perez ok after crashes (Wednesday July 30 2014)

Blog: Hungarian GP Report (Tuesday July 29 2014)

Lauda backing for Hamilton (Monday July 28 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Race (Sunday July 27 2014)

Blog: Hungaroing Qualifying (Sunday July 27 2014)

2014 - Hungary - Qualifying (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP3 (Saturday July 26 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP2 (Friday July 25 2014)

2014 - Hungary - FP1 (Friday July 25 2014)

Could F1 pull Russian Grand Prix? (Thursday July 24 2014)

F1 return to Mexico confirmed (Thursday July 24 2014)

McLaren and Mercedes target Vettel (Thursday July 24 2014)

Wolff predicts Abu Dhabi showdown (Wednesday July 23 2014)

Who will win in Hungary? (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Blog: German GP Report (Tuesday July 22 2014)

Alonso loved Ricciardo tussle (Monday July 21 2014)

Button backtracks (Monday July 21 2014)

What a week for Rosberg (Monday July 21 2014)

2014 - Germany - Race (Sunday July 20 2014)

Blog: Hockenheim Qualifying (Sunday July 20 2014)

2014 - Germany - Qualifying (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP3 (Saturday July 19 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP2 (Friday July 18 2014)

2014 - Germany - FP1 (Friday July 18 2014)

Mercedes play down FRIC ban (Friday July 18 2014)

F1 title chase starts now (Wednesday July 16 2014)

McLaren confident in upgrades (Tuesday July 15 2014)

Bianchi impresses for Ferrari (Thursday July 10 2014)

Massa quickest at Silverstone test (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Rosberg plays down Hamilton row (Wednesday July 9 2014)

Bottas finish surprises Williams (Tuesday July 8 2014)

I was lucky says Chilton (Monday July 7 2014)

Raikkonen ok after horror smash (Monday July 7 2014)

Rosberg reflects (Monday July 7 2014)

Perfect day for Hamilton (Monday July 7 2014)

2014 - Britain - Race (Sunday July 6 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Qualifying (Sunday July 6 2014)

2014 - Britain - Qualifying (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP3 (Saturday July 5 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP2 (Friday July 4 2014)

2014 - Britain - FP1 (Friday July 4 2014)

Button hits back at Dennis (Friday July 4 2014)

Pirelli boss defends F1 2014 tyres (Thursday July 3 2014)

Caterham sold (Thursday July 3 2014)

McLaren boss critical of Button (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Bernie wants three car teams (Wednesday July 2 2014)

Blog: Silverstone Memories (Tuesday July 1 2014)

Ugly noses banned from F1 (Friday June 27 2014)

Ecclestone slams poor teams (Thursday June 26 2014)

Standing restarts proposed (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Video: Schumacher medical data stolen (Wednesday June 25 2014)

Red Bull boss slams Renault again (Tuesday June 24 2014)

Damage limitation for Hamilton (Monday June 23 2014)

2014 - Austria - Race (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 22 2014)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - Qualifying (Sunday June 22 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP3 (Saturday June 21 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP2 (Friday June 20 2014)

2014 - Austria - FP1 (Friday June 20 2014)

Red Bull challenge (Thursday June 19 2014)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1016
2. DJ 879
3. The Fear 771
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 569
6. Druss_the_Legend 519
7. Push The Button 432
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 146
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should Hamilton have moved over for Rosberg?
No way! They're fighting for the title 87%
Yes, it was team orders 13%
Tough call, don't know 0%