Vital F1 | Perez makes move to Force India
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Perez makes move to Force India

Sergio Perez has been announced as Nico Hulkenberg's team-mate at Force India for the 2014 Formula One World Championship.

Force India's new look line-up for next season comes after both drivers found themselves somewhat unexpectantly without the drives they were expecting.

After being so close to joining Ferrari and Lotus during the season Nico Hulkenberg eventually elected to return to Force India.

Hulkenberg had been in line to replace Felipe Massa at Ferrari for next season had Kimi Raikkonen not made the decision to leave Lotus, to return to the team that gave him his only F1 title.

The German driver, who remains highly rated in the paddock, had then been the first choice option for the vacant Lotus seat. But with the Quantum Motorsports deal dragging on Lotus didn't want to give up on the chance of the investment that signing Pastor Maldonado brings to the team. So, Lotus opted to blink first securing Venezuelan Maldonado and the reported 30million-a-season in sponsorship from state oil company PDVSA.

With Maldonado taking the Lotus drive, that left Hulkenberg with an option to stick or twist.

Last season he made the decision to quit Force India and make the move to Sauber to replace Sergio Perez, this season he has chose to quit Sauber for Force India and ironically will now be lining up alongside Perez after he left McLaren after just one season.

Sergio Perez announced in October that he was to leave McLaren at the end of the season.

The young Mexican, who only joined the team less than a year ago had been the subject of much speculation along the Formula One paddock.

The 23-year-old who had impressed during his time with Sauber was quickly snapped up by McLaren following Lewis Hamilton's shock decision to leave McLaren for Mercedes last year.

Sergio Perez had come through the young driver development programme at Ferrari, but had been snubbed by the team with Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo believing it was too early for Perez to make the move into Ferrari. Instead they opted to extend Felipe Massa's contract.

Many in Formula One at the time believed that Ferrari had missed out on one of F1's most promising talents, with his move to McLaren an extra blow to the team.

But following a poor season with McLaren, it would now perhaps seem that Ferrari's decision has been vindicated as after just one season McLaren opted to release Perez and promote 21-year-old Formula Renault 3.5 Championship Kevin Magnussen to the seat instead.

With most seats now taken on the Formula One grid, Perez had the choice of re-joining Sauber or making the move to Force India and whilst many would have thought a move back to his old Sauber team would have been the preferred option, the Mexican revealed a move to Force India was his first choice.

'Coming here was always my first choice and I'm really happy everything has now been confirmed, This is a young team with a lot of determination and they've produced competitive cars for the last few years. It's all change for next season with the new regulations, but I already have a good feeling about 2014. My plan now is to visit the factory and get to know everyone in the team.' Perez told Sky Sports.

Meanwhile the news means that both Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta will be leaving the team at the end of the calendar year.

Sutil is expected to make the move to Sauber to replace Hulkenberg, whilst Di Resta is expected to make the move Indy Cars.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday December 12 2013

Time: 2:53PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

2017 Formula One Calendar (Friday February 3 2017)

Brawn becomes F1 director (Thursday February 2 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 32%
Raikkonen 7%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 14%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 10%