Vital F1 | Brawn retires from Formula One
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Brawn retires from Formula One

With speculation surrounding his future in Formula One for the past twelve months, Ross Brawn insists he has now walked away from the sport for good.

Brawn left Mercedes at the end of last season claiming he would take a six months sabbatical to contemplate his future.

Speculation has been rife ever since he seemingly became available, with both McLaren and Williams heavily linked with the 59-year-old.

A recent managerial restructure at McLaren hasn't helped the rumour-mill, with a newly created position at the Woking based team appearing to be perfect for Brawn to fill.

But Brawn has now declared he has officially retired from the world of Formula One.

'I'm retiring - it's not tongue in cheek.' he told a fishing event in Scotland, according to Sky Sports.

'I'm going to take a year to enjoy the fishing and then see what life brings. I'm looking forward to it but I've got no other plans.

He went on to add: "Come the summer I may take stock and things may change - never say never - but it's not my plan,"

"This is the busiest time of the year for Formula One and I said I would come along and open the River Dee.

"If they [the media] had put two and two together they would have realised I was definitely retiring."








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday February 3 2014

Time: 11:00AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Todt believes F1 doesn't need changing (Thursday February 9 2017)

Ford not interested in joining F1 (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Wolff backs Bernie's influence (Monday February 6 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1132
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 582
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 202
10. VanGisbergen2013 152

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win in Russia?
Vettel 31%
Hamilton 29%
Raikkonen 6%
Bottas 3%
Verstappen 19%
Ricciardo 3%
Someone else 9%