Vital F1 | Will McLaren be the happiest team after Round 1?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Will McLaren be the happiest team after Round 1?

The combination of Red Bull and 2010 Formula One World champion Sebastian Vettel may well have proved dominant all weekend, but ironically it's probably McLaren that leave Australia the happiest.

The team took gigantic strides forward at Melbourne.

After winter testing in Barcelona McLaren looked unlikely to break into the top six during the first round of the F1 championship, far behind Red Bull, Ferrari and Mercedes on pace and reliability.

In fact Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button both looked set for a race amongst the mid-pack teams of Renault, Williams and Sauber.

But a good qualifying session from Hamilton and Button and a solid race which resulted in a second and sixth place finish will leave the team happy moving ahead to the second round in Malaysia on April 10th.

If it wasn't for a drive thru penalty for Button it could have proved to have been an even better weekend for the team, but Lewis Hamilton was delighted with his second place finish.

I am so happy that I brought the car home with a really great result. The guys back home in the factory can really take a big chunk off those 18 points I’ve achieved today. Hamilton told formula1.com after the race.

'The car felt great, it was really nice to drive and I was able to look after my tyres throughout the whole race. Being able to race with Vettel after only one and a half weeks with this upgrade makes me very proud and I am looking forward to seeing what they can bring in the next couple of weeks. I am sure they’ll keep on pushing and I hope at the next race we will be out there to challenge the Red Bulls even more.'

Vettel's performance looked ominous for every one else on the grid, his Red Bull was on a different level to every one else, including team-mate Mark Webber and this was achieved without a KERS device.

The debate regarding Red Bull's KERS has already started on VitalF1.com, many worry that Red Bull will develop their device and will run with it in future events giving them an even bigger advantage, while Druss_the_Legend believes otherwise: Seen a few comments on here about Redbull and KERS and how that means they could be much quicker with KERS when they get it running.

This is not entirely true. 2 years ago Red bull (Newey) decided against KERS and they wanted to get the balance of the car perfect and the system would disrupt that. It looks like they have chosen the same route. Lets be honest, the car they have this year is almost the same as its been the last 2 years. If not for the DD they would have won the season in 09, kept the same design to win the season last year and kept it pretty much the same for this year. The car is balanced and they don't want to risk that with KERS.

The downside for them is that despite being quicker in qualifying, in the race the KERS gives the likes of McLaren a 'racing' advantage. Its a trade off that the red bulls clearly made but they think they are stronger for not running it.

Also, it should be noted that the red bulls were a lot harder on their tyres than the McLarens. This was unexpected (most pre season reports indicated an advantage to the red bulls) so going into the next race, with more understanding of the tyre compounds, the advantage at the front will not be a big as people are expecting.

Its shaping up nicely!


Hamilton also appears confident that the advantage is McLaren's: "[Red Bull] definitely have a gap at the moment but I am sure that we are able to close that gap and a positive aspect for us is that they have troubles with KERS it seems. And we have no trouble with KERS. So once we close down the downforce deficit then we will have the advantage of the KERS, so my guess is that they are more under pressure than we are."



Do you agree, or do you think Red Bull will develop a KERS system which will boost them even further into the distance?

Why not join us on our forum to give us your view!








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 28 2011

Time: 12:34PM

Your Comments

Give it a few more races it all changes in europe
craigk_uk
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Hamilton and Ricciardo slam Vettel (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Blog: Azerbaijan GP Report (Monday June 26 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Race (Sunday June 25 2017)

Blog: Baku Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP3 (Saturday June 24 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP2 (Friday June 23 2017)

2017 Azerbaijan GP - FP1 (Friday June 23 2017)

Blog: Baku Preview (Thursday June 22 2017)

F1 too boring for Malaysia (Wednesday June 21 2017)

Who will win in Baku? (Monday June 19 2017)

Kvyat rant at 'circus' stewarding (Thursday June 15 2017)

Merc hit Ferrari with heavy blow (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Monday June 12 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Race (Sunday June 11 2017)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 11 2017)

2017 Canada GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP3 (Saturday June 10 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP2 (Friday June 9 2017)

2017 Canada GP - FP1 (Friday June 9 2017)

Formula One season set to expand (Thursday June 8 2017)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Who will win in Canada? (Monday June 5 2017)

Youngster set to return to F1 (Friday June 2 2017)

Mercedes war with Ferrari not over (Wednesday May 31 2017)

All talk on Ferrari (Tuesday May 30 2017)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 29 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 28 2017)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 27 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 25 2017)

2017 Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 25 2017)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 22 2017)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 15 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 14 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 13 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 12 2017)

2017 Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 12 2017)

Blog: Barcelona Preview (Thursday May 11 2017)

Who will win in Spain? (Monday May 8 2017)

Track upgrades for Montreal (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Blog: Russian GP Report (Monday May 1 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1149
2. Red5 1117
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 601
6. Druss_the_Legend 587
7. Push The Button 503
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 207
10. VanGisbergen2013 161

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Was Vettel's penalty
Harsh 16%
Fair 0%
Lenient 84%