Vital F1 - Step-by-step for Vettel
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Step-by-step for Vettel

Most media pundits have described Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel's performance in Australia as dominant.

Ourselves here at VitalF1.com have been guilty of using that word to describe the defending champions performance.

But it would seem, Vettel doesn't like the description: 'I don't really like the word dominant at this stage,' Vettel told the BBC after Sunday's race.

The 2010 F1 Champion was untouchable throughout qualifying and the race over the weekend, his performance was probably the definition of the word.

'We had a very good race today, won a lot of points, and enjoyed ourselves, which is even more important, and now we have to take it step-by-step.'

His words show the maturity of the 23-year-old after claiming the crown last season, the German is fixated on defending his title and that shone in Australia.

One of the other major talking points has been the lack of a KERS device on the Red Bull's over the weekend in Australia.

For Red Bull to be in the position they are without KERS is quite astonishing. Running KERS gives teams an extra boost around the track of around 80bhp over a period of just less than seven seconds. This can either be used in one big boost for example at the start of the Grand Prix, or in small doses around a lap.

For Vettel to perform the way he did, giving away that much of an advantage to the opposition is all the more impressive.

Red Bull team principal Christian Horner confirmed after the race that they decided to not run with KERS at all on Saturday and Sunday as he thought it was a potential reliability risk and the car didn't need the extra performance that KERS offers and of course, in Vettel's case he was right although Webber might put forward a different argument, with the Austrlian finishing fifth.

The KERS debate has brought a lot of discussion from two separate angles, on the one hand, it's a weakness that could be exploited by teams such as McLaren who have a reliable KERS device, or it can be seen as yet another area for the Red Bull to improve and pull even further ahead development-wise.

Unsurprisingly Vettel agrees with the latter view: 'You want every single bit that you can get to make your car go quicker so Kers is one of the basic things this year and it's worth something between three to five 10ths a lap. I don't need to tell you how much that is over a race distance. So, yes, we are working on that.' Vettel added.

A comment which could send shivers down the spine of the pit crews in the McLaren and Ferrari factories.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 28 2011

Time: 3:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

Blog: Silverstone Preview (Wednesday July 1 2015)

Pirelli to request more F1 tests (Tuesday June 30 2015)

New contract for Horner (Monday June 29 2015)

F1 teams are all talk says Todt (Monday June 29 2015)

Formula 1 v Formula E (Monday June 29 2015)

Positive test for McLaren (Friday June 26 2015)

Mosley praise for Ecclestone (Thursday June 25 2015)

Red Bull to sack Horner? (Wednesday June 24 2015)

Angry Mateschitz (Tuesday June 23 2015)

Blog: Austrian GP Report (Sunday June 21 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Race (Sunday June 21 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

Four drivers hit with penalties (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - Qualifying (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP3 (Saturday June 20 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP2 (Friday June 19 2015)

2015 Austrian GP - FP1 (Friday June 19 2015)

Italian Grand Prix to alternate? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Will Michelin return to Formula One? (Thursday June 18 2015)

Blog: Red Bull Ring Preview (Wednesday June 17 2015)

Who will win in Austria? (Tuesday June 16 2015)

Hulkenberg wins Le Mans (Monday June 15 2015)

Head knighted (Monday June 15 2015)

Grosjean apology for Stevens (Wednesday June 10 2015)

Renault quit threat very real (Tuesday June 9 2015)

Blog: Canadian GP Report (Tuesday June 9 2015)

2015 - Canada - Race (Sunday June 7 2015)

Blog: Montreal Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - Qualifying (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP3 (Sunday June 7 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP2 (Friday June 5 2015)

2015 - Canada - FP1 (Friday June 5 2015)

Verstappen under fire (Friday June 5 2015)

Manor Marussia sign Fabio Leimer (Thursday June 4 2015)

Blog: Montreal Preview (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Manor Marussia make key appointments (Wednesday June 3 2015)

Who will in Canada? (Monday June 1 2015)

Extra homework for Kimi (Friday May 29 2015)

Blog: Monaco GP Report (Monday May 25 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Race (Sunday May 24 2015)

Blog: Monaco Qualifying (Sunday May 24 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP3 (Saturday May 23 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP2 (Thursday May 21 2015)

2015 - Monaco GP - FP1 (Thursday May 21 2015)

Hamilton at home with Mercedes (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Hamilton targets Monaco victory (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Blog: Monaco Preview (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Alonso targets Monaco points (Tuesday May 19 2015)

Who will win in Monaco? (Monday May 18 2015)

Horner spices up his life (Monday May 18 2015)

Button scared of his McLaren Honda (Thursday May 14 2015)

Blog: Spanish GP Report (Monday May 11 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Race (Sunday May 10 2015)

Blog: Barcelona Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - Qualifying (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP3 (Saturday May 9 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP2 (Friday May 8 2015)

2015 - Spain GP - FP1 (Friday May 8 2015)

F1 merry-go-round (Friday May 8 2015)

Mercedes and Ferrari on par (Thursday May 7 2015)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. Red5 1055
2. DJ 961
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 583
6. Druss_the_Legend 539
7. Push The Button 455
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 163
10. __villa__ 145

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will win the British GP?
Hamilton 56%
Rosberg 7%
Vettel 0%
Raikkonen 30%
Bottas 0%
Massa 0%
Someone else 7%