Vital F1 | Disappointing weekend for Red Bull
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's F1, It's Vital'

Disappointing weekend for Red Bull

Red Bull Racing would have arrived in Australia expecting very little.

Their pre-season winter testing programme was a disaster for the four-time Formula One World Champions.

They suffered with both reliability and performance in all three winter test sessions in Spain and Bahrain and arrived for the opening round of the Formula One World Championship season in damage limitation mode.

However, once free practice began on Friday, it was clear that Red Bull had made a huge recovery.

There were still issues, most notably for Sebastian Vettel as the quadruple Formula One World Champion failed to qualify for Q3 and was forced to watch on as his new-team made Daniel Ricciardo qualified on the front row of the grid.

Vettel's problems continued during the race and he retired on lap five, however Ricciardo continued to impress at his home Grand Prix and went on to finish second behind the Mercedes Nico Rosberg.

But, five hours after the chequered flag had flown, Ricciardo was disqualified from the race.

Red Bull Racing were found to be in breach of Article 5.1.4 of the Formula 1 Technical Regulations, which states that, 'Fuel mass flow must not exceed 100kg/h'.

Part of the new generation of Formula One regulations is to push technology in terms of fuel saving measures, so that F1 is still at the forefront of modern day technology.

All these new power-trains with hybrid engines and energy recovery systems, are things that will develop in some form or another into the road cars of the future.

So the new regulations were always going to be stringent and the FIA had warned that there would be no leniency in regards to breaking this rule.

'All cars will be fitted with an FIA homologated fuel flow sensor. That won't limit the flow, it will just monitor the flow. 100 kilos per hour is the maximum and I'm sure at most times they'll be quite close to that whenever they can be,' FIA's Race Director Charlie Whiting said ahead of the Australian Grand Prix.

'The other element is the amount of fuel cars use during the race, which is 100 kilos from when the lights go out at the start of the race to when they cross the finish line at the end of the race.

'The 100 kilos is a maximum, so if they go over they exceed the limit and there is no tolerance.'


The problem for Red Bull however is that they do not think that the FIA homologated fuel flow sensor was giving accurate readings during the race weekend.

Sky Sports reporter Rachel Brookes has revealed that Red Bull were: 'warned during the race that the fuel flow was too high and were given the opportunity to reduce the fuel flow to within the limit. They chose not to.'

She added that this was because Red Bull team boss Christian Horner 'believed their own readings were correct.'

A statement released by Red Bull Racing has announced their decision to appeal the result: 'the Team has notified the FIA of its intention to appeal with immediate effect.

'Inconsistencies with the FIA fuel flow meter have been prevalent all weekend up and down the pit lane. The Team and Renault are confident the fuel supplied to the engine is in full compliance with the regulations.'


As the results currently stand, McLaren's rookie driver Kevin Magnussen has been handed second place, whilst team-mate Jenson Button has been elevated onto the podium for third.








Join Vital F1

It's easy to join up and join in on VitalF1.com, simply click the link and enjoy getting involved!

If you are already a member of Vital Football, your logins will automatically work on VitalF1.com!

The Journalist

Writer: Red5 Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 17 2014

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital F1 Articles

2017 Russia GP - Race (Sunday April 30 2017)

Blog: Sochi Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP3 (Saturday April 29 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP2 (Friday April 28 2017)

2017 Russia GP - FP1 (Friday April 28 2017)

Blog: Sochi Preview (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Who will win in Russia? (Monday April 24 2017)

Grid penalty for Sainz in Russia (Thursday April 20 2017)

Mercedes to implement team orders? (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Blog: Bahrain GP Report (Monday April 17 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Race (Sunday April 16 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP3 (Saturday April 15 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP2 (Friday April 14 2017)

2017 Bahrain GP - FP1 (Friday April 14 2017)

Blog: Sakhir Preview (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Who will win in Bahrain? (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Hamilton loving battle with Vettel (Tuesday April 11 2017)

Blog: Chinese GP Report (Monday April 10 2017)

2017 China GP - Race (Sunday April 9 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - Qualifying (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP3 (Saturday April 8 2017)

2017 China GP - FP2 (Friday April 7 2017)

2017 China GP - FP1 (Friday April 7 2017)

Blog: Shanghai Preview (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Honda to supply Sauber? (Wednesday April 5 2017)

Who will win in China? (Monday April 3 2017)

Mixed feelings for Red Bull (Friday March 31 2017)

Blog: Australian GP Report (Monday March 27 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Race (Sunday March 26 2017)

2017 Australia GP - Qualifying (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP3 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP2 (Saturday March 25 2017)

2017 Australia GP - FP1 (Saturday March 25 2017)

More calls to ban the shark fins (Friday March 24 2017)

Renault call for engine budget cap (Thursday March 23 2017)

Blog: Melbourne Preview (Thursday March 23 2017)

Renault can improve - Hopefully (Friday March 17 2017)

McLaren looking shaky (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Surtees dies aged 83 (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Ferrari end second test on top (Monday March 13 2017)

F1 ratings in UK collapse (Friday March 10 2017)

Brawn pushing for cash race for teams (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Ferrari on top in the wet (Friday March 3 2017)

New deal for Russian Grand Prix (Friday March 3 2017)

Merc and Ferrari pick up the pace (Thursday March 2 2017)

Ferrari faster than Mercedes? (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Bottas sees Hamilton as great challenge (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Horner calls for shark fin ban (Tuesday February 28 2017)

Alonso held talks with Mercedes (Monday February 27 2017)

Bottas targets F1 title (Friday February 24 2017)

Renault take Red Bull aero expert (Thursday February 23 2017)

Pirelli already making excuses? (Thursday February 23 2017)

Williams adds new head of aerodynamics (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Renault engine can beat Mercedes (Wednesday February 22 2017)

Allison announced at Mercedes (Tuesday February 21 2017)

New deals for Wolff and Lauda (Monday February 20 2017)

Wehrlein sidelined due to back injury (Monday February 20 2017)

Williams backs F1 budget cap (Monday February 20 2017)

Sauber launch 2017 car (Monday February 20 2017)

Hamilton sends warning shot to Bottas (Friday February 17 2017)

F1 to break the US market (Thursday February 16 2017)

Rosberg doesn't agree with his replacement (Wednesday February 15 2017)

F1 pecking order unlikely to change (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Important Pirelli tyre test ends early (Monday February 13 2017)

Archived Vital F1 Articles

List All Vital F1 Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. DJ 1133
2. Red5 1112
3. The Fear 773
4. Villaininthemerde 612
5. johnkelv 600
6. Druss_the_Legend 583
7. Push The Button 497
8. col8 334
9. The Intimidator 203
10. VanGisbergen2013 153

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who are looking the best in 2017?
Mercedes 0%
Ferrari 100%
Red Bull Racing 0%
Someone else 0%